We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Property and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Frenchman's Cove to your Saves list
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7338 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fabulous Property and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We recently returned from this resort after spending the week of 7/13 - 7/2014. Upon arrival we did request a building close to the pool but were informed that they were booked. We ended up on the 4th floor of the St. John building and had a spectacular view! It never got old. The villas are as you would expect at the Marriott ... well-appointed and clean. The trip to the pool/beach area was a three elevator ride, and once you got used to it, it was no big deal. I would have taken the stairs more often, but they were not conveniently located. We rented a car and never had a problem finding a parking spot. The pool is exactly as pictured on the web site ... large and inviting and right up against the beach. There is a volleyball net and slide at one end, and steps and the restaurant/bar area at the other. We did not experience any issues getting a place to sit at the pool or the beach, which is often a problem at other Marriott Resort locations.

The beach is small but refreshing. There is coral and rock getting into the ocean, but as long as you are careful where you step it is not a problem. I spent many hours floating on an inner tube enjoying the scenery and water. You can snorkel right off the beach and I highly recommend it as there is lots of coral, rocks, plants and sealife right in front of you! I did not see anything of interest over by the dock, but there was a lot to see right off the beach and around the rocks on the right side. Oh, and there are lots of iguanas all over the property ... completely harmless. There is a hammock tucked away behind the chairs and trees on the right side of the beach if you are looking for a place to retreat and read your book.

We did take a walk over to the Reef next door just to be nosy and there are some spectacular views there as well ... lots more iguanas too and bigger! We walked to the end to the Morningstar resort to check out Havana. The beach there was not calm and serene but rough with waves. So, if you are looking for some body surfing, head over to that beach!

We shopped for groceries at Pueblo, Kmart, Fruit Bowl, Food Center and Cost U Less ... depending on where we were. I think Cost U Less had the best selection and prices on booze. This is like a cost club though, which I didn’t realize, so everything is in bulk. All of the other grocery stores are the same with respect to pricing, but I liked Food Center the best, and Fruit Bowl. Oh, and there is a bakery right next to the Fruit Bowl where we got some rolls and bread. Food Center is in Red Hook, a little bit further away.

We rented a car so had no problem getting around the island and exploring. We did a day cruise to the BVIs with New Horizons II, spent a day on St. John, and went to Magens Bay and Lindquist Beach on St. Thomas.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    295
    71
    27
    21
See reviews for
422
261
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandy Springs, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We had a beautiful 2 bedroom unit in the St. John building with an amazing view. Had no issues at all during the stay and we encountered countless friendly employees during the entire stay. The employees

My only complaint, and it was a small complaint, was that the pool water seemed quite warm but that was fine with me as I'm more of a beach person and so was the entire family. Loved hanging out on the beach and enjoying the nice cool water and beautiful beach area in front of the resort. Never had an issue finding a few chairs each day. And if we wanted a better pool experience, we simply took the short walk to the full service Marriott and utilized their pools with cooler water.

We will be back again!!!

Sincerely, a Platinum member.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have been an owner at The Cove for several years. Last October my fiancee and I stayed in the Tortola building. The night we arrived, we checked into our villa, deposited our valuables into the villa safe and headed right downstairs for dinner and to watch the sunset. We were in the villa less than 30 minutes total. When we returned to the villa a few hours later, we were locked out of the villa for some reason. When the security came to open our door, it was discovered that we had been robbed. Apparently, someone from the staff had left the side balcony door unlocked allowing a thief to enter the villa from the balcony, use a crowbar-like object to jack open the safe and steal all of our belongings (cash and gift cards to buy our wedding rings). When we alerted management and the police, the manager told us not to worry about a thing, that is why they have insurance". So all week, we tried to enjoy ourselves with the knowledge that once we got home it would all be handled with their insurance company. Well, we couldn't have been more wrong. They only reimbursed us $200.00 of the $2500.00 that we lost stating that $200.00 is the limit. Imagine our surprise at getting that news. We love St Thomas, and we have so many fond memories of The Cove. We were just left with a sour taste in our mouths by the lies that were told to us all week. They even asked us not to say anything about what happened to us when we attended the Owners Meeting. We just can't believe how we were treated. Certainly not what we expected from the Marriott! Especially as an owner that spent more than 30K to purchase our villa!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The dinner sail was a breathtaking experience. Captain Joe, Sophie, Lindsay and Mike took care of us the whole time. The food and drinks on board were great and we had amazing view and the sail was perfect. This is a great experience and one I would highly recommend for couples or families.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schertz, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

2nd visit at our home resort-last was in 2009. Same group-my wife and I and our 2 boys, and my wife's mother. Not too much had changed-they built another block of condos at top of hill. Overall resort was still in good shape. We had requested (twice) to get into an upper floor in the same building as our first visit (Jost Van Dyke) but they put us at the very top of the resort in the St. John building. It was a long way down to the pool/beach/facilities and we called the front desk several times and politely requested a room change to Jost Van Dyke. On our third day, the front desk manager Diane was able to move us to the other building and it was perfect. Much appreciated. Had a great week. Bought groceries the first night at the food mart next to the KMart on way to Red Hook. Chartered a day-long boat trip with St Thomas Boat Rental thru John Bodnar. Great guy and very reasonable and friendly. Captain Jason wasn't the most talkative dude, but he knew what he was doing and did a great job getting us to our spots quickly and comfortably. Went to the Baths at Virgin Gorda, snorkeled at Monkey Point on Guana Island, and finished up with a 2 hour stop to explore Sandy Cay again. I was against going to the Baths but my wife really wanted to go. I'm glad we did-it was very unique crawling up and through all the rocks and I recommend it.
We also spent a day exploring Water Island off St. Thomas. Really cool way to spend the day. You take a ferry across the bay and rent a golf cart to get around (there are very few vehicles on the island). We had a great time exploring the abandoned WW2 bunker complex -this is a must see, but bring a flashlight-it's dark and spooky. We spent the rest of the day at Honeymoon Beach. We used the free chairs and umbrellas by Dinghys bar. They had good food and drink and will give you a free drink if you post them on Trip Advisor. Spent a day at Magen's Bay and a day at Trunk Bay. When you factor in the travel time, cost, ferry trip, we preferred Magen's Bay. It was close, easy parking, cheap, and the beach, water, and amenities were as good or better.
We booked the night kayak excursion through the resort. It was fun, didn't see too many fish-not sure it was worth the cost. Probably wouldn't do it again.
Recommended dining venues-Mims Seaside Bistro was right on the water and featured great seafood, and Mofolies Restaurant up on the hill overlooking downtown Charlotte Amelie was really nice. Great views, great food, and great service. Ask for Kyle-he did a great job serving us.
All in all a great trip.

Room Tip: Pick an upper floor in one of the lower buildings. You want to be close to the amenities. Otherwis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Deptford
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We just returned from a fabulous family vacation to this property! We can't say enough good things about this place! From our initial check in to the amazing service we experienced! Our concierge Matt was a huge help! Jessica in the activities center for the kids was wonderful and remembered my kids each day! She even took special care during the ice cream sundae making because of my son's nut allergy! Benedicta at the Sunset cove grill was super too!! The staff at the front desk and the shuttle drivers were all wonderful! They made vacationing with 2 small children enjoyable and easy! Everything you need is available in your villa! I recommend going grocery shopping when you arrive so it makes breakfast and lunch easy! The refillable cups available for purchase were great and worth the $$, although wish you didn't have to pay extra for the coffee. Thanks Cove for a great vacation! We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed in St Thomas at Frenchman's Cove for the first time in June. The room was great and the beach and pool were wonderful. We arrived after check in time and our room was not ready. I would expect it to be ready by the check in time. I was disappointed in the kitchen appliances...especially for a Marriott timeshare....the knobs on the stove top were all rubbed off. The dishwasher was very old and ended up backing up and flooding the carpet in the bedroom. The maintenance person didn't show up until 9 pm and it took him an hour to clear it....not acceptable service. Other than those items, our stay was great...very relaxing with lots to do! It was great to use the facilities at the Marriott hotel next door and their private beach too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Frenchman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Address: 7338 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Frenchman's Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Marriott's Frenchman's Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Frenchman`s Cove Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Hotel Frenchmans Cove
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Frenchmans Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.