We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous family vacation in paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Frenchman's Cove to your Saves list
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7338 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Deptford
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous family vacation in paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We just returned from a fabulous family vacation to this property! We can't say enough good things about this place! From our initial check in to the amazing service we experienced! Our concierge Matt was a huge help! Jessica in the activities center for the kids was wonderful and remembered my kids each day! She even took special care during the ice cream sundae making because of my son's nut allergy! Benedicta at the Sunset cove grill was super too!! The staff at the front desk and the shuttle drivers were all wonderful! They made vacationing with 2 small children enjoyable and easy! Everything you need is available in your villa! I recommend going grocery shopping when you arrive so it makes breakfast and lunch easy! The refillable cups available for purchase were great and worth the $$, although wish you didn't have to pay extra for the coffee. Thanks Cove for a great vacation! We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    295
    71
    27
    21
See reviews for
422
261
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed in St Thomas at Frenchman's Cove for the first time in June. The room was great and the beach and pool were wonderful. We arrived after check in time and our room was not ready. I would expect it to be ready by the check in time. I was disappointed in the kitchen appliances...especially for a Marriott timeshare....the knobs on the stove top were all rubbed off. The dishwasher was very old and ended up backing up and flooding the carpet in the bedroom. The maintenance person didn't show up until 9 pm and it took him an hour to clear it....not acceptable service. Other than those items, our stay was great...very relaxing with lots to do! It was great to use the facilities at the Marriott hotel next door and their private beach too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, tx
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We had a great time on the Cat Sail half day trip. It was a fairly smooth ride and the snorkeling was so fun! Joe and Callie were so helpful and positive through the whole experience. They made me feel comfortable and the snorkeling was great for beginners. We saw lots of fish and several turtles. Great trip!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Let me start by saying overall the resort is very nice. We plan to go back in 2015. However, there are a few things i would change.
Check in time is 4:00. We arrived around 3:00 and were told they would send us a text message when our room is ready. At 5:00 ish, i called the front desk and was told our room was ready. After we checked in a text message came through. They need a better system.
The air conditioning unit never cooled the unit to our satisfaction. It was warm and humid during our stay and beiing able to go into a nice cool room would have been nice. They checked the AC unit and said it easier working properly.
Check out time is 10:00. We asked for a late check out. They said our unit was scheduled for an early check in and we had to be out by 10:00. Since we were delayed getting into our unit, it would have been nice to have checked out a little later. The houskeeping staff was waiting outside our unit at 10:00.
Several guests smoked on the beach. No one seemed to police the "no smoking" policy.

On the positive side, the units are very spacious and comfortable. Great fitness center and locker rooms. Food was very good, especially the chicken pineapple quesadillas. Our concierge (Stephanie) was excellent.

Room Tip: Be close to the pool/ beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Wow! What a beautiful property with great rooms, pools, beach and other but the service at the restaurant (Sunset Cove) is just poor. I get "Island Time" and things on the island are slow all over but the servers here forget just about everything and don't seem to care much. It would be easy for a manger to come in here and turn this around overnight. Frustrating... Marriott Vacation Club is very expensive so you would expect to get what you pay for.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stopped here for the night coming back from sailing in the BVI. The location is a short taxi ride from the ferry and the room view was fantastic. It was an easy and relaxing place to stop on a long trip home… On the downside the wifi didn't work well at all…

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersville
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I have been to many marriot hotels and vacation clubs and this one is by far my favorite. The Frenchman's cove is clean, the costumer service is fast and on par and the view is excellent from mostly all rooms. The rooms are spacious as with all vacation clubs and it is a family atmosphere. I've been here 5 times and it only gets better. Btw it is close to all the good beaches and tourist spots.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Frenchman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Address: 7338 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Frenchman's Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Marriott's Frenchman's Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Frenchman`s Cove Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Hotel Frenchmans Cove
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Frenchmans Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.