We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loving the "cove"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Frenchman's Cove to your Saves list
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7338 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
brooklyn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“loving the "cove"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

I just reurned from the Marriott Cove in St. Thomas, V.I. and I was thoroughly impressed with the place. I went with my husband on a timeshare promotion and had convinced myself to reject all info given during the presentation. After spending 3 days of total relaxtion, we weresold! Check-in was a breeze. The villa was spacious and very comfortable to stay in. The restaurant on the premises had delicious entrees not to mention the drink of the day! The pool was wonderful. It did not have a splendid beach, but a day trip to St. John cured that! A shuttle service ran between the Cove and the hotel-The Reef, 24/7. The only gripe I had, was the rollercoaster rides I encounterd riding in taxicabs. But it is part of the terraine of this beautiful island. So I just got used to it.

I highly recommend this island and this villa!

  • Liked — very relaxing and very comfortable
  • Disliked — taxi rides
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    295
    71
    27
    21
See reviews for
422
261
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Short Hills, New Jersey
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

We enjoyed our week's stay at the Marriott Frenchman's cove. Our villa, # 226, was a corner unit located on the second floor of building 2. The beach and pool were within easy access of our unit; this was important to us since we were travelling with an infant and a 4 year old. Being on a lower floor is helpful during a power outage when the elevators are not working. Check-in was very smooth, our room was ready when we arrived at 4 PM. We had requested a feather free room, a crib, and a high chair -these were all made available to us immediately upon arrival. We had mailed some boxes (baby's bathtub, inflatables, etc) 3 days prior to our arrival via USPS priority mail, all items were delivered to our room along with our luggage. Everything in the villa worked fine. The view was amazing from both the living room as well as the 2 bedrooms. Our 4 year old was more interested in seeing the construction cranes on the far corner of the property though, he was a little disappointed that he had to try so hard to see them :-). He also enjoyed seeing the cruise ships every morning and evening. The furnishings are comfortable but not luxurious which is typical of most places that allow kids. Wireless internet service worked fine.
The property as a whole felt very manageable. We could take the elevator all the way to the pool, restaurant, and kids center. The slide at the pool was a great hit with all the kids. There were enough pool and beach chairs all the time. The small but adequate fitness center is well air-conditioned and overlooks the water. Landscaping around the property is OK. The property does not have a luxurious feel to it, if you are looking for something very upscale this is not it.
Food at the on-site restaurant ranged from terrible to average. Drinks were OK. The little store next to the restaurant sells some food stuff at typical hotel gift shop prices. A 1.5 l bottle of water costs $6. We hate having to run to the grocery store multiple times during our vacation, so we were glad that we stopped at Pueblo's on the way to the hotel from the airport and stocked up on plenty of water. There is no room service at this resort.
Housekeeping was the worst part of our stay. We rented the villa through Marriott, we are not timeshare owners. So we were entitled to daily housekeeping unlike the time share owners who get the free cleaning only once a week. I later found out by reading the services and amenities guide that we actually got what Marriott calls a 'tidy-up' service. Our sheets were not changed for our entire stay of 8 days, to get your sheets changed you have to pay extra even as a 'hotel' guest. Floors were ocasionally vacuumed, that too only because the housekeepers went above and beyond. They even loaded the dishwasher for us - this was part of the full cleaning that regular timeshare owners have to pay for. I had to start telling them not to because they would just dump all the pots and pans and cups randomly. We were certainly glad that we were not paying extra for this. I guess the point I'm trying to make is that the problem is most likely not with the housekeeping staff - they seemed nice enough and willing to do the work - the problem is with Marriott policies and training.
Staff at the resort in general were very nice and did whatever they could. If they seemed inflexible - for instance they would not allow us late checkout - it was because they were fully booked and had to get the rooms ready, not because they did not care.

  • Liked — Convenience, views
  • Disliked — housekeeping
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

The location is the best thing about this timeshare. Not that there is anything wrong with the facility, but the location can’t be beat. Right at the mouth of the bay, you get a view of the bay, the smaller islands, Charlotte Amalie, and the cruise ships. The beach and the pool at the Cove are certainly nice but if you walk over to Morningstar Beach you will find the best beach on the island. We spent a day at Magen’s Bay and also Trunk Bay on St. John’s but enjoyed Morningstar more. The water temperature, breeze and gentle waves can’t be beat. Plus as Marriott guests your get free umbrella and chairs.
The timeshare itself is a work in progress. Construction is evident and check-in is painful. We had to stand outside in the hot sun for way too long while they searched which rooms were cleaned. Wouldn't you think they would have the information ready when that is their whole job?? The first room overlooked a big hole in the ground and construction. That wouldn’t do as we had traded another Marriott timeshare and asked for a better room. The second one was great.-- Building 5 --high on the hill.
Another head’s up is that they have a “personal concierge” for you, but really it seems their only purpose is to make sure you are signed up for a timeshare presentation. Once that is set up, they drop you like a hot potato. Ours made 2 dinner reservations for us.
We did do the presentation as we received $100 to spend on site. Went to Havana Blue with the credit and had a great dinner despite very poor service by our waiter. (saw him about once every half hour--I swear he left the restaurant in between as he was no where to be seen)
The timeshare presentation were some of the most painful 150 minutes I have every spent. By the time our salesperson got to the sales information we had lost interest and said we had to leave. He spent 2 hours trying to sell us on Marriott (we are already owners) then made us travel over to see the resort where we had already spent a day and a half. What a waste of our vacation time. We were actually interested before the presentation but now we may buy in the secondary market as Marriott is completely inflexible with their incentives. Buy that day or nothing worthwhile in points. Also if you do buy, don’t ever trade for points, as 90K points for Gold weeks is sad. You are better off trading with II to get another great timeshare.
But we did love the resort and St Thomas is a beautiful island. We would definitely want to return, especially after construction is done in 2012.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Timeshare presentation and personal concierge
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

Brought the kids this time(4, 6, and 8 yrs old). Stayed in the "villa," really a condo, but it was wonderful. Everything we could need as a family abroad. Two suites. Kids on one side of the great room/dining room/kitchen parents on the other. Beautiful view. Securely nestled against the island. No interbeach traffic. We could keep an eye on the kids from the pool or the beach or the gym. Nicely placed kids' club next to the pool.

The beach has a band of coral a few feet out from the sand which took some management. About a ten foot section of the coral about midway on the beach had been cleared of urchins to allow access to the clear sand beyond and provide a path to the excellent snokeling around the rocks that define the edges of the beach. The other side of this is that my 4 year old was able to enjoy the plentiful sea life on the beach side of the coral. Calm water, view of the sunsets, and proximity to the city define this location as a sure bet.

  • Liked — It had just what we needed.
  • Disliked — The newness created some confusion in the administration
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

Frenchman's Cove is truly an outstanding resort. Great location, well run, friendly people, and with an abundance of amenities that one would expect from Marriott. We had a wonderful week with no problems. Resort is still under developement but this is not a problem for guests. St. Thomas is such a beautiful place as is the entire area. Rent a car and roam the island to have the best experience possible. Shopping, beaches, and tours (snorkling, etc.) are a must do and this resort is the place to be.

  • Liked — The beauty of the resort and the view.
  • Disliked — Loved it all.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

overall i agree it is a work in progress, great timeshare the cove is kid friendly with the pool and nite time movies in the pool ,the buffet on the weekend should be avoided but the cove meals are ok for pool food the beach is small but great when you get in but be careful some people fell down going in, the marriott next door is good but the restaurant on the beach coco joes after 6pm could be two hours wait for food or maybe we were there on a bad nite we found off the hook at red hook very good but after 6 it gets very busy we didnt rent a car but next time we will , it a great property and the noise level is not bad also the kids had a great time on the fury half day sail to snorkle with the sea turtles this was booked out of the marriott , i had my laptop and picked up a virus with the free internet if i can answer any questions will be happy to do so thats it more good than bad

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — check in
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

Booked our stay through exchange with Interval International. This resort is still under construction but we did not find this to be any inconvenience (noise, dirt/dust, etc.) The resort is beautiful and will be even more beautiful when fully completed. The buildings "climb" the hillside and all units face the bay with a beautiful view of Charlotte Amalie bay and the town itself. We were located in the building highest up the hill on the sixth floor. Every morning we had our coffee on the porch where we watched the island awaken to the arrival of the cruise ships, the pontoon planes bringing and taking passengers to and from the island and all the water craft moving about. And at night we watched again as the sun set on the ocean and the city on the hillside began to twinkle with the night lights. Downtown is just a short drive away and easy to get to though parking is limited and streets busy with traffic in the daytime and early evening. The beautiful Frenchman's Reef hotel is seconds away by car or the free shuttle and soon a walkway will be in place making it an easy walk between the two locations and the expanded amentities available at the Reef. And, contrary to what you may see otherwise, and unless you plan on hibernating at the resort, a car is a must on this island. The concierge recommended a small island car rental company, ZIP Rental, to us and it was great advise. They picked us up at the airport , met us there to accept the car's return and were $75 - $100 less expensive than the national brands. The car was a little older and had a few nicks and bruises but was clean and in good operating condition. It worked for us and the operators were a genuinely nice young, entrepreneurial couple transplanted fron New York which in the end we felt good about supporting. There are food stores nearby and one can save a good deal of money by eating some meals taking advantage of the full equipped kitchen and eating area in the room. Eating out is about a third more costly than would be the case at similar eating establishments in the states and their are lots of choices, at all price ranges, to pick from.

We have stayed many times in the Carribean (Aruba, St. Maartens, St. Kitts) and found St. Thomas to be the equal of or better than all in every respect and clearly the best for beach beauty. We will definitely return and would definitely like to stay at Frenchman's Cove again!

  • Liked — The overall Marriott quality and style.
  • Disliked — The lack of games/activities on site.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Frenchman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Address: 7338 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Frenchman's Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Marriott's Frenchman's Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Frenchman`s Cove Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Hotel Frenchmans Cove
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Frenchmans Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.