We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had an amazing view and room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Frenchman's Cove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7338 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Virginia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“We had an amazing view and room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

As always, we slept really good and loved our upgraded room.
We had a fourth floor room overlooking the harbor, these rooms have no elevators but are quiet and large.
We were going to stay at the Morningstar but glad we stayed here instead, there are alot of stairs to walk everywhere, but we do not care it was a good way to walk off all the delicious food we ate...the only thing I wish that they would have given us an itinerary as to what they offered for activities at the hotel, such as aerobic classes etc. we rented a car and we were glad we did. There are so many great places to visit...

Room Tip: Get one on the harbor side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    359
    229
    63
    25
    19
See reviews for
319
192
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife & I had very enjoyable winter birthday get away. We participated in numerous on & off site activities. The facilities at Marriott Frenchmen's Cove are well kept and ample enough to find a place of your own.

My only complaint, the Vacation Club sales staff can be everywhere and many times annoying.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I had a horrible experience. The accommodations and location was very nice but the service was AWFUL. I walked in on my room being robbed which resulted in almost $1000 worth of my group's property being stolen. The staff was demeaning towards me when I immediately let them know of what happened, they even refused to call the police and were reluctant to change our room. I have never been treated so poorly and I will never return to Frenchman's Cove.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience at Marriott's Frenchamn's Cove. Please contact us at customer.care@vacationclub.com or at 800 860 9384. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a fabulous week at Frenchman's Cove- Stayed in the Tortola building, 5th floor on the end so our views were magnificent, service was great, properties were managed impeccably, and we met Gary Combs the 2nd day we were there, and he so impressed us that we had him drive us everyday to our dive locaitons, to restaurants, island tours etc. If you are going to St Thomas, make sure you have his phone number as he will make all of your transportatiion needs (he has a brand new van that is spotless), a breeze! (340)244-6796. Don't miss the Banana Room at Bluebeard's Castle, which was probably our favorite restaurant. We went to great restaurants all over the island and didn't have a bad experience. Take time to get a massage at Frenchmans Reef in the Lazule Sea Spa. Patty was amazing- a Colorado girl too!
We used Grocery Goddesses, (Julie Marshall) to stock our refridgerator, and that was amazing- everything put away and she did a fabulous job with the list provided. The entire week was amazing and would highly recommend the Cove for relaxation and great beach, pool and overall lovely destination,

Room Tip: Definitely the Tortola Building and ask for a room on the 5th or 6th floor at the end (our rum was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Of all the Marriott Vacation Club resorts we have stayed at this is the best. Very nice location and beautiful views from most villas. Plus, there are many things to do that are not far away. We would gladly return on another vacation.

Like others have said, there are very nice restaurants, pools and other services easily available at Frenchman's Cove and also at Frenchman's Reef (the nearby Marriott hotel). All restaurants are easy to walk to (or if you prefer not walking the short but hilly path, there is a free shuttle bus). Rooms are in very nice condition and it is fun to watch cruise ships coming in and leaving each day. The pools were not overly crowded even though it was school vacation week. Although the beach in front of the resort is small, it was big enough. Also, there are other beaches within walking distance at the Frenchman's Reef and Morningstar resorts.

The staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Because it was so convenient, we ate several meals at the Sunset Cove Grille. Once, when we had to wait a long time, the server reduced our bill. Marika, the food and beverage manager, was wonderful. She went out of her way to make vegetarian dinner options available.

The little store near the Grille (the marketplace) really does not have much available. If you are planning on cooking anything in your villa and you don't rent a car, you might want to bring easily transported items with you in your luggage. We chose to not cook much ourselves, however, since there are so many good restaurants nearby. The restaurants at the Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star resort are close and it was pleasant to walk to them along the beach and through the Frenchman's Reef hotel. We particularly enjoyed the Havana Blue restaurant. It is expensive, but well worth it. The buffet breakfast at Aqua Terra in the Frenchman's Reef hotel was very convenient and provided a nice view of the harbor.

Before our trip, we went back and forth about whether we would need to rent a car. We decided to take taxis and this turned out to be a good choice. Since there were only two of us, we saved a lot of money. They are always waiting at the main entrance, and are plentiful at the beaches and other locations you might want to go to. Sometimes you might have to wait while the taxi picks up other persons or stops to drop other persons off at their destinations, but you are on "island time," and it did not seem like a big deal. Also, I was glad to not have to drive on the left side, particularly when arriving tired and at night...

If you want to go into Charlotte Amalie, it is best to take the shuttle boat. There is a charge for the boat but it is no more than a taxi and drops you off right at the downtown area after a scenic and enjoyable 20 minute ride. You will also get some narration about the sights on the way. There are two shuttle boats, which run every half hour.

The Adventure Cove Shop does a good job of helping you find excursions. We booked ours, however, before we visited St. Thomas, largely based on tripadvisor reviews. We went to St. John and did a reef hike with the National Park Service. We also went on a snorkeling trip on the Fury. Marriott used to have a relationship with the Fury, but replaced the Fury with a much larger Catamaran excursion. If you want a more intimate experience on a sail/snorkel excursion, choose the Fury.

We had booked using Marriott Vacation Club points about a year before our visit, and based on tripadvisor reviews, we asked for a higher floor. When we arrived, however, we found that we had been given a villa on the first floor of the St. John building (which is behind another building), so our views were restricted. When I said I was not happy about the location, Andrew, a manager on duty, did a good job for us finding a better room, moving us to the first floor of the Virgin Gorda building. He explained that owners of dedicated weeks at the Cove are able to block their stays before points owners' requests are considered. If you are considering buying MVC points, keep this in mind. Since we visited during a peak time of year, we had to take what was left after owners' preferences were satisfied. This means that if you invest in MVC points you are at a disadvantage compared to persons who joined MVC prior to the institution of the points system.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are best but you may not be able to get them if you are not an owner of a week at the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We are Marriott Timeshare owners at the Cove and have been going here for the past several years and enjoy it very much. The location is great, we love watching the cruise ships arriving and departing daily, there have been improvements to the grounds and the rooms are going to be renovated this July, with new furnishings, carpeting and bedding.
The Sunset Grille serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with 2 happy hour(2 for 1 drinks). The food is above average for a timeshare.
The only complaints that we have are that the elevators seem to break down frequently and can not accomodate more than 6 people. My husband uses the fitness center each morning and it was always crowded and very over heated and uncomfortable.
We are looking forward to returning next year to the newly renovated rooms and fantastic views.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I've been going to 'the Cove' for several years now, and am a timeshare owner there. They've done a great job over the past couple years maintaining and improving the grounds. Rooms are kept in good condition, although some of the carpeting shows wear. The complex is set to begin soft renovations this year, so that will be all new as well as bedding and upholstery.

Great job managing the sunset cove grill, which is open every day for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. It also has a nice small brunch buffet Fri-Sun with (yum) mimosas. Some food items are regulars to the menu, like the delicious fish tacos and shrimp wrap. Salads are very nicely done as well. One of my favorites is the sweet and spicy shrimp app. Only thing missing would be some local fish, like a grouper sandwich or grouper for the fish tacos.

Plenty of daily fun activities for kids and adults poolside. Can't beat rum bingo, the welcome party with rum punch, vendors, and prizes, and karaoke on thurs evening. And don't forget the happy hours (yes, hours, not hour)! Be sure to get some Mai Tais and Bushwhackers.

Only complaints:
The elevators have 'issues'. They were intermittently broken or being serviced throughout my two week stay. The busiest one doesn't seem to be able to handle more than 6 people if its going up. The gym is also *very* busy in the morning, and there were problems with the AC in there and it was like a sauna for several days. I like the sauna and steam room in the locker rooms, but not in the workout area.

Tips:
Don't go to town when there are a lot of cruise ships in. Too busy then. 2 or 3 ships is fine, but beware if there are 6-7. Be sure to take advantage of the amenities at the Frenchman's Reef resort next door. They have a nice large beach and good places for lunch too.
Taxis are expensive. Rent a car if you have 4 people so you can go check out the island and get to the store.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's Frenchman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Also Known As:
Marriott`s Frenchman`s Cove Hotel
Marriott`s Frenchman`s Cove Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Hotel Frenchmans Cove
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriotts Frenchmans Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Address: 7338 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charlotte Amalie
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Charlotte Amalie
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Frenchman's Cove 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Marriott, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Marriott's Frenchman's Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.