We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't get better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rhoda's Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rhoda's Guest House
Save
You added Rhoda's Guest House to your Saves list
4126 Anna's Retreat | Tillett Gardens, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You can't get better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I usually don't write reviews on hostels or guest houses but Rhoda's is amazing as you can see by all the other comments. After emailing Abby about staying, she gave me great directions and her personal cell phone to call for any questions. Upon arrival, I found all my questions about the islands were answered in a home made book that Abby put together. The kitchen has free food and coffee that people have donated as well as cooking supplies. The common area has a TV, cards, tons of books, and great info about activities. Since I was traveling alone, it was a great place to meet up with other travels and explore the island together. Abigail is what really brings the hostel together. She has suggestions about everything island related and is simply an awesome person. When my flights were cancelled, Abby told me to come back to Rhoda's and they would make a spot for me to stay a few extra nights. You can tell that Abigail and Eric just want everyone to love the island as much as they do. Tillett Gardens is such a cool place with tiny shops, a bar right outside, and interesting history. If you are looking for an awesome hostel and to hang out with interesting people... this is your place! I will definitely be coming back next month to stay or even just hang out for a few days.

Room Tip: Get to know the other travelers by hanging out in the common areas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
5
23
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

You walk into Rhoda's guest house and immediately feel at home in a tropical paradise. 'It's not just a vacation, it's a way of life' is their motto and it is spot on to their character and charm. Amazing travelers come and go here but Eric and Abigail are the true staples. It is rare to meet people with such sincere hospitality but these two genuinely welcome you into their home as if you are their family. I mean they actually cooked us a Christmas dinner! I spent about a month in the Caribbean, and I can say my stay would not have even been close to what I experienced if it wasn't for Rhoda's. From their never ending honor bar to the occasional visit in the shower by an iguana, it will be a hostel that I will never forget. Do yourself a favor and quit reading this review and go book yourselves a night at Rhoda's. I guarantee you won't regret it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Rhoda's was great. Abby and Eric are really friendly and make the guest house comfortable for everyone. I liked it so much I stayed two separate times on St. Thomas. Abby was always reachable by cell phone for any problems, but luckily I never needed to call her because there were none. Everyone on the whole property at Tillet Gardens was welcoming. I will be back my next time to St. Thomas.

Room Tip: Ask for the double room at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

A lovely place that has everything you could possibly need: bed, pillow, sheets, blankets, towel, washcloth, full working kitchen, shower, piano, tv w/ netflix, books, dvds, monopoly, convenient and cheap snack bar (w/ chips, oreos, beverages), plenty of random nooks/porches to gather and hang out, maps, magazines, guide books, free wifi, air-conditioning, filtered drinking water, ice machine, art work everywhere, and cool people all around.

The whole thing is part of Tillett Gardens, which is a little arts community with all kinds of different shops and restaurants. The guesthouse is named after the owner's mother (Rhoda) and a lot of the artwork displayed is that of his father (Jim). You can find a bunch of photos and information on their websites: (www.tillettgardens.com) and (www.tillettfoundation.org)

The surrounding neighborhood has everything else you could need: local foods, grocery store, laundromat, and safari taxi are all just across the street. Within easy walking distance you will find a bunch of mainland stores if you are not feeling adventurous and instead desire the comforts of familiarity (Kmart, Walgreens, Subway, Little Caesers, Dominos Pizza, McDonalds, KFC, PayLess, Nike Shoes, etc.) as well as a U.S. Post Office.

Eric & Abigail are very likable, entertaining, and accessible; they also both have strangely comforting and distinct voices, but that's sort of weird to mention, right? Anyways, I like that this place exists and I feel good giving them my money to support its continued existence!

Room Tip: bunk beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This quaint community of artist and guests was a delight. Having camped for days on St John, we arrived at Rhoda's Guest House, tanned, tired and early. Chelsea, the staff welcomed us anyway. We stayed in a dorm style room, good bed, clean sheets and towel, and a lock box for our valuables( didn't feel the need to use it, but good it was there). Everywhere you look on the grounds you find some piece of eye candy. Tillett gardens is centrally located to services, on the Safari taxi route, and left us with a true sense of the island lifestyle, low key. If a Hostel experience and price is what you are looking for, Rhoda's might the place for you. We are sure happy to have found it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in late Oct and were treated to a great place Great rooms, beautiful area with art shops and central area bar. The hosts we very caring suggesting places to go and lots of care, highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I recently relocated to the Virgin Islands. I looked all over online for "backpacker hostels" to stay before finding my own place. The only thing I could find close, was Rhoda's Guest House. Little did I know what a fantastic situation I was in for.
The guest house is set in a garden of artists,craftsmen and interesting characters. The owners; Eric and Abigail, are so warm and hospitable. I walked in off the street with no reservation and they welcomed me in to there little utopia!
Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rhoda's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhoda's Guest House

Address: 4126 Anna's Retreat | Tillett Gardens, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"It's not just a vacation, it's a lifestyle." Rhoda's Guest House invites you to life a little differently...Rhoda's Guest House offers a unique opportunity to experience the culture of the Caribbean! We are located in the heart of Tillett Gardens, a community of independent artists and businesses, formed on an old Danish farm almost 50 years ago. Jim and Rhoda Tillett provided a space for local artists to gather and learn from one another, and the community naturally grew into its own eclectic neighborhood. Tillett Gardens features a restaurant, salon, theater, glass art, pottery, leather shop, beads and jewelry, drum museum, a medium, bakery, accounting office, chiropractor, candle maker, vintage shop, and a beagle that hunts iguanas, to name a few.Our guest house was the Tillett Family's home for almost 40 years, where Jim and Rhoda hosted many vistors and friends coming and going on the island. We are happy to have the door open again for our guests to enjoy. On one side of the house are two private rooms, each with two double beds and their own restroom. If needed, the two private rooms can connect to accommodate larger families or groups. On the other side of the house is a room with 6 bunk beds, that share our "submarine" restroom. Adjacent to the main house, is a studio space with 8 more bunks sharing a bathroom. This space is one of the oldest in the garden, and used to be the storm shelter, with 3 foot thick walls.​Our kitchen has all new appliances, a full refrigerator, dishwasher, oven and microwave, and we also have a new gas grill on one of our decks (we have two). The kitchen, living room and two decks are common areas for guests to relax and socialize and make some new friends!​We are on the East End of the island (30-45 minutes from the airport) in the center of the town of Tutu, within walking distance of Tutu Park Mall, Kmart, a grocery, and several convenient stores and local restaurants. ​The safari taxis stop directly in front of the garden and provide easy transportation to explore St. Thomas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rhoda's Guest House St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhoda's Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.