We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable and excellent food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greengos Caribbean Cantina

Greengos Caribbean Cantina
5185 Dronningens Gade, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
340-714-8282
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
Description: Greengo's Caribbean Cantina serves Authentic Sonoran Style Mexican Cuisine featuring Beef, Pork, Chicken, Shrimp and Fish in Tacos, Burritos, Quesadillas, Cantina Bowls and Salads, or over Nachos. In the bar is our Famous Tequila Wall and Rum Wall, as well as our Oak Barrel aged House Blend of each. Our Full bar also serves up all of your frozen favorites. Open 7 days.
St. Thomas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Adorable and excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The atmosphere feels like you are sitting in a cantina in Mexico. The decor is absolutely charming. The spicy margaritas are amazing, chips and salsa fresh. I had the veggie burrito, it was amazing. Who would have thought tofu and Mexican...but let me tell you it was delicious!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    81
    28
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Thomas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“We will go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I love Mexican food so we thought we would check out Greengo's. everything was really good !! The menu is very basic but the food was good. The only thing I think they can work on is their salsa. I would enjoy a more pico de gallo style. We will go back again it's the best Mexican on st Thomas. Noelle was a great server.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Go for Tequilla - Not for Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The theme of our entire trip this year should be "nice try - bad service". Went to Greengos and my wife said "my fish tacos are huge portions but taste too fishy". I thought this bar was reasonably priced but I think it is more bar than restaurant. We had an average bar experience. I drink tequilla. Service seems to be an afterthought on this trip from hotel to restaurants.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“BEST TACO JOINT IN ST. THOMAS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Smack dab in the heart of downtown Charlotte Amalie, this new restaurant delivers great Mexican food at great prices. The Beef tacos are the best I've had in well over a decade on the island.

The staff was very responsive and courteous.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
1 review
“maybe an off day”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were stoked for some mexican food and tried this place. Our server was obviously having a bad day as we didn't get so much as a smile. From the very beginning it seemed as if she had something else on her mind.
The fish tacos were very fishy. I know that sounds funny, but they were overly fishy. The portion size was great, and so was the price, but that didn't cominsate for the service or taste.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greengos Caribbean Cantina also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to Greengos Caribbean Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greengos Caribbean Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.