We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great aquarium for small children” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coral World Ocean Park

Coral World Ocean Park
6450 Coki Point, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
800 222 1234
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$19*
and up
Coral World Ocean Park General Admission Ticket
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Aquariums, Zoos, Tours, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Scuba diving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted top attraction in the V.I. Get up close and personal with the beauty and magic of Caribbean marine life in a stunning setting. View life on a coral reef from the unique Undersea Observatory. Pet a shark, hand feed a stingray or a rainbow lorikeet! Add-ons Sea Lion Swim or Encounter, Snuba Dive, Sea Trek Helmet Dive, Shark and Turtle Encounters, Nautilus Semi-Sub, Open daily in season 9 am - 4 pm. Off season hours (May to October) vary.
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great aquarium for small children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

coral world with the perfect size aquarium for small children. They have plenty to do and a lot to interact with. It wasn't so big as to be overwhelming. We got to pet a shark, touch a starfish, and see a sea lion show. Reasonably priced but bring your own food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    234
    133
    43
    34
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“So many fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is a great place to visit. So many fish to see and lots of things to look at. They have an under water area you and walk into and watch the fish go past the glass.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Expected more but a good experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We bought and excursion package on the Disney Fantasy. It was an Coral World by land and sea package which included a semi submarine tour and entrance to the park. Pick up was smooth and fast and our driver was very nice and drove safely thru the winding roads. We went to the semi sub, which was a really cool experience. I want to say the whole tour of the reef was 30-45 minutes. I don't know if it was the time of year or what but I was expecting to see the reefs like on "Finding Nemo". Unrealistic expectations? maybe, but that was what I was looking forward to seeing. Unfortunately it wasn't anything like "Finding Nemo". We saw a lot of fishes only when a diver went in and feed the fishes. Very nice people that work on the sub. As far as the park goes, it's very minimal. A couple of tortoise, giant turtles, sting rays etc. nothing comparable to the aquariums in the states. The park was disappointing but the views were breathtaking.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Closed early”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This park was included in a day tour we had. Unfortunately, our tour guide gave us only the last 45 minutes of the day to see it. The place was pretty dead so the owners closed most of it as we started walking around. All attractions were closed. We did see alot of iguanas absolutely everywhere and some fish behind dirty observation windows. That was pretty much it. I was super unimpressed! I don't recommend it at all.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Most incredible experience with the Sea Lions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Swimming with the Sea Lions at Coral World was the coolest experience I have ever had. If you visit St.Thomas, I recommend you do the Sea Lion Swim. I'd request Sarah to be your trainer. She was fantastic. The Lions are so smart. They dance with you, kiss you, hug you, high five you, the list goes on. I swam with Dolphins before in Hawaii and this was so much better!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coral World Ocean Park also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to Coral World Ocean Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral World Ocean Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.