We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but don't go out of your way.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Ice

Magic Ice
21 Dronningens Gade | On the Waterfront, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
340-422-6000
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Other
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We welcome you to the biggest permanent ice gallery in the world! Magic Ice`s entire exhibition is constructed of crystal clear ice consisting of beautiful sculptures, a kids slide, wedding chapel and a pirate ship bar, all made of ICE!Large parts of the exhibition will emphasize the rich history of the Caribbean. You will get a glimpse into the 18th century lifestyle. Here you will find sculptures from the “Golden Age of Piracy” and at the pirate ship ice bar were you will receive your drinks. Photos and videos are welcomed and our staff look forward to taking you on a tour!
Hamilton, NJ
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“OK, but don't go out of your way.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

It was OK, not worth 20 bucks per person even with a free shot and glass. Don't bother taking kids, you're in and out in like 20 minutes max.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    133
    55
    15
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pemberville, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very COOL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

What a great idea! My husband and I got right in and the staff was very helpful. We were able to take as much time as we wanted in the exhibit. The artists are so talented! We would definitely recommend this as a must do on a trip to the island.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Icy fun in the Caribbean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our cruise ship offerred this trip. It seemed like a fun different thing to do. We were met by the owner, Kirsten. She is an extremely nice and welcoming woman. On the short ride from the cruise ship port she learned all 17 people's names on board.
The Magic Ice attraction is something to see. After donning parkas and leggings you are escorted into a wonderland of ice sculptures, am ice bar and ice slide. It is something to see and experience.
Kirsten and her staff are very welcoming. They take pictures for you, explain about the ice sculptures and make you feel like your enjoyment is their only concern.
I would definitely make sure you see this if you are in St Thomas or in Norway.

Kirsten and team, thank you for a most enjoyable time
Jim DiNoto

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Magic Ice #1”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great Art Period, Love The Small Chapel They Had In There. I Went In Sandals But The Coat And Leg Warmers Helped A Lot. Tried Some Flavored Rum And Bought Myself A Bottle Right After The Tour. Must Do And Is Only $20

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Save your dollars unless you just want to cool off.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

For $20 it's not worth it. Most of the ice sculptures have been there for along time and show it with missing pieces and darkening of the ice. If it was exceptional art I'd say ok, but it's not and the only thing to show in the end was two cheap shot glasses.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magic Ice also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Magens Bay, St. Thomas
 

Been to Magic Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Ice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.