We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss the Roti in St. Thomas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ideal Restaurant

Ideal Restaurant
2329 Commandant Gade, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
+1 340-777-5321
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Caribbean
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Holladay, Utah, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss the Roti in St. Thomas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Before going to St. Thomas and while there, tons of people offered me opinions of where to eat while visiting. After trying a bunch of them, I stumbled on Ideal. I am a huge fan of Roti so I couldn't resist. At first I was a little put off by the $12 price tag but considering the crappy $15 hamburgers at every other restaurant in downtown, it was rather fair. The staff is friendly and the food was INCREDIBLE! I actually went back twice more while I was in town that week. The seating is very small and it appears to be a hole in the wall kind of place but I wouldn't miss I. If by some miracle, you'll be there on a wed, they make Paratha roti and you'll be in heaven. I recommend picking up a roti and heading to a beach to enjoy it. MMMMM!!!!!!!!! Also, I had a 1 year old baby and she LOVED the roti.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    14
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“OMG. Best. Rotis. Ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The rotis are sooooo good here. We got vegetable ones and chicken. They are absolutely huge and are a meal unto themselves. Do not let the location or external appearance of this place deter you. If you are in St. Thomas you must get one lunch here. Call ahead and they will have them ready for you on your way to the airport!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Trini Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This is one of the few spots for locals in touristy Charlotte Amalie. It's a little hole in the wall joint with reasonable prices and awesome roti.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Trinidad in the USVI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This restaurant is on my list of things to do whenever I have visitors on Island. Best roti spot in this region, hands down!!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“GOOD Chicken Curry Roti”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I enjoyed my chicken curry roti! It is a good size portion and a decent price. And there is a park nearby if one wanted to sit outside and eat it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ideal Restaurant also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to Ideal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ideal Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.