We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rotti, Yes Please” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ideal Restaurant

Ideal Restaurant
2329 Commandant Gade, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
+1 340-777-5321
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Caribbean
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Utah
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Rotti, Yes Please”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

What a great little restaurant. Just a couple tables here, but don't make a mistake and walk by without stopping. Wife and I split a Chicken Rotti. Fantastic food, Friendly, Local!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    14
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“tiny hole in the wall but food to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This place is simple, unpretentious and certainly not fancy but the food was phenomenal. and moderately priced. We had the conch and vegetarian roti rolls- both were out of this world.

The owners are very friendly as well. Highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Goat Roti!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

I have never had goat so decided why not try it. It was fabulous! if you enjoy spicy, ask for extra spice on side. mmmm,...... This place is tiny. 2 tables of 4. Cash only. Well worth it. Our new favorite while waiting to go to airport on St Thomas.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Roti”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Yum, yum, yum this restaurant has the best roti we have ever had. But that is not everything. The staff and owner are just fantastic. While we were in st Thomas we could not sray away from Ideal restaurant. Thanks for a wonderful dinning delight.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This place is awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The food was so good and so unpretentious. The owners just want to make their customers happy. Very affordable for the amount of food you get especially compared to other options just a block away in the touristy parts. I had the Goat roti. The spice level even on the high end is actually OK. They give you hot sauce on the side just in case you feel that the heat wasn't enough. My husband had the conch lunch plate, which had a pile of food. The two dishes were very different but equally tasty. It is a cash only joint. So keep some cash handy!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ideal Restaurant also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to Ideal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ideal Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.