We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only gets better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crystal Palace

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Crystal Palace
12 Crystal Gade, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
sarasota, florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Only gets better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stopping in STT on way to sailing the Caribbean and words can not express how much I LOVE this place! Thank you Ronnie,once again... and Yes,,, I Will be back! A+++ but now I'm still here and soaking up all of the wonderfulness that IS The Crystal Palace.

p.s. Ronnie makes his best effort to pick you up from the airport to the C. P. as a kindness. Keep in mind he has a truck and if it rains your luggage is in the uncovered back. (you can always pay for a cab!)

XXX

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    17
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
23
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Martinez
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We spent one night on our way back Stateside having sailed for a weekend in the waters off the BVI's. the Crystal Palace was only a few minutes drive from the ferry building, clean, affordable, quite with magnificent views and incredible hospitality by Ronnie the 5th generation owner of this magnificent colonial 6 bedroom home. Ronnie picked us up from the ferry, took us back to the airport and in between shared his unlimited knowledge of the house, surrounding area and the island. Highly recommended if you want to get away from "plastic laced" chain hotels.

P.S. ask Ronnie to show you the tortoises.........

Room Tip: Request the "Daddan" room if available on the main level. Comes complete with a four poste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Ronnie is very welcoming and makes you feel home in his home, without being intrusive. He is so knowledgeable and willing to share what he knows! My family and I really enjoyed our one night stay in this atypical place, full of beautiful pieces of a vanished time. The bed was very good and the sheets were clean. The breakfast very nice too! A place to go if you want to avoid the ordinariness of a chain hotel room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, NH
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great view and a super covered porch for breakfast and dominoes. Lots of history from Ronnie the 5th generation owner. Everyone knows him, and I do mean everyone.
The Crystal Palace felt like home, only better.
We were on our way to a boat at Tortola and would happily book with The Crystal Palace on our next trip to the Islands.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

First time for me staying at the lovely Crystal Palace. It is such a comfortable place to stay, and the prices are very reasonable, especially for very expensive St Thomas.

The B & B is just like staying in a museum with great artifacts all around. Ronnie can tell you the history of the town and everything around there. If you like to shop and get good deals this is the place to stay central to all the shopping. If your cab fails to come pick you up Ronnie will be there for you. Pack a good set of walking shoes and your set. Ronnie will give you great personalized service.

Room Tip: All the streets here are very tight so pay attention to traffic flowing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Reservation bungled. Flat bed vehicle from airport in rain soaked luggage. Room walls broken.no waste basket. Bathroom and shower nothing but disgusting. Sorry we are here. Place is rundown.
Palace? To call it a palace is a FRAUD. Nothing about the place deserves praise.

Room Tip: Sleep elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonUSVI, Owner at The Crystal Palace, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. I expected it as one in your group told me you did it. One in your group also told me you are a constant complainer. The other guests that I picked up at the same time were equally shocked at you as I was of you chewing me out because the bed of my 4 door Honda Ridgeline pick up (not a flatbed) was damp. Yes, it had rained on my way to the airport for your complimentary courtesy pick up, and it was damp. Wonder who you would have complained to if the rain fell while they were unloading the plane? Your canvas duffel bag would have been fine. I do believe they make suitcases to be weatherproof. I thank you for drawing attention to some of the shortcomings of my rooms. I did say we will be renovating my 80 year old property next summer and were doing some painting and fixing, however suspending it while you were here. The trash can was misplaced and replaced again in the room. Once again thank you for the review. Hope your charter went well with no complaints. For the reservation bungle I did give you free upgrades and not charge my less than three night stay. I know I apologized several times and had hoped that would have made it good. Once again I apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota, florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Second time for me staying at the lovely Crystal Palace, and it was even better than the first time. It is such a comfortable place to stay, and the prices are very reasonable, especially for very expensive St Thomas.

The B & B was very clean & loved my room. I again appreciated it's central location. Easy to walk into town & to pick up the local transportation (Safari) - this saves a lot of $. Ronnie does a great job of helping out with whatever you need, just ask! Thanks again for a Wonderful stay! I'll be back someday. :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Crystal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crystal Palace

Address: 12 Crystal Gade, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful historic building in downtown Charlotte Amalie. 5 minute walk to restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Crystal Palace Hotel Charlotte Amalie
The Crystal Palace St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crystal Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Crystal Palace to your Saves list