We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were very pleasantly surprised at the property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Green Iguana Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Green Iguana Hotel
Save
You added The Green Iguana Hotel to your Saves list
1002 Blackbeard's Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$200 in Spending Savings!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A TripAdvisor Member
“We were very pleasantly surprised at the property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2004

My wife and I stayed at the Green Iguana for two nights prior to leaving "the islands." We were VERY pleasantly surprised at the property. I had read so many good things about this place that my expectations were pretty high (for a reasonably-priced hotel.) We were astonished at the cleanliness of the room! The walls had fresh white paint, and the bed was nice and clean. The grounds are lush with flowers and trees and (watch for crossing geckos!) Mike was so nice, and very accomodating...
We both really enjoyed our stay at the Green Iguana. If we return to St. Thomas some day, we will first look for a room here. Thanks for the bananas, Mike! ;)
C Sanders

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    106
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
36
160
33
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2004

We stayed here after reading the rave reviews on this website. I was disappointed. The room did look like the photo on the website with a very comfortable pillowtop bed, but, the problem was the location. I didn't feel safe and the place looked like a dump on the outside. The security door at the entrance was right outside our room, and people slammed it all night. Crime is so bad in the area, the manager has a dog that barks all of the time to keep the thieves away. I would not stay at the Green Iguana again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2004

The Green Iguana is an outstanding value. The room was spotless and the hosts were very accomodating. We stayed there during Spring Break and found the room to be "over-sized" - even for the five of us. Mike was very gracious to provide a comfortable air mattress for our 10-year old who didn't mind the floor. The setting is terrific and gives you an instant feel for the island climate.

I travel worldwide for my company and found that the Green Iguana was just as comfortable as some of the pricier places I've stayed.

Families looking for a great place to stay without breaking the bank will not be disappointed.
Thanks again Mike !

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2004

Just returned from 5 days at the Green Iguana. Great location, terrific atmosphere, large clean room. Only about a 7 minute walk into downtown. It's also right next to Blackbeard's Castle and the view from the pool has to be the best in St. Thomas. Management is fantastic. Mike was especially helpful in terms of advice and transportation! And say hello to Coki!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2004

We were headed for Tortola and missed the last ferry but were saved by the nice people at The Green Iguana. Our rooms were very clean, we had a view, walked down the famous "99 steps" to see some night life in Charlotte Amalie. Would recommend this stop.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2004

Our stay was wonderful. The room was clean, bright and the largest we have stayed in. It was also priced much less than other hotels we have stayed in on St Thomas that were not nearly as nice. The owners are friendly, helpful and always had good advice on local events, nightlife and attractions. We can't imagine staying anywhere else when we go back to St Thomas next.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2003

Stayed at a nice little hotel called The Green Iguana. Very clean, cheerful, and run by lovely people. It's atop Blackbeards Hill. The resturant at Blackbeards Castle is wonderful. The Banana Tree Grill and The Old Stone Mill were also great. There are some fun things to do in St. Thomas, but be prepared for non stop hard sell in town. Don't stray too far from the waterfront if you're walking around. For the most part the locals treat you with everything from indifference to outright contempt. Treating them with kindness and respect did little to improve this. Kept trying though. Seeing all those unhappy faces and angry cab drivers at the airport when we arrived made me want to turn around and get back on the plane. Should I mention the filth in the streets and the smell of the sewers after a rain? Seems odd for a place that makes it's living on tourism. St. Thomas, are you listening??

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Green Iguana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Iguana Hotel

Address: 1002 Blackbeard's Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Iguana Hotel offers superb amenities with the comforts of home. The Hotel is centrally located within a 5 minute walk to the Town Charlotte Amalie, and 15 minutes by taxi from the airport. The Hotel has the perfect combination of harbor views, downtown shopping, museums, and great restaurants, ferry transit and beautiful Caribbean Sunsets! Enhanced by the service of the resident managers to answer questions, guests are treated like family. In October 2013, The Green Iguana Hotel began operating on Renewable Solar Energy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Green Iguana Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Green Iguana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.