We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Green Iguana Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Green Iguana Hotel
Save
You added The Green Iguana Hotel to your Saves list
1002 Blackbeard's Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Instant Savings
Lowry, MN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best hotel downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

After meeting John and Gwen on a day trip last year, we decided to stay downtown two days before going to our resort on the East End. The hotel was clean, awesome harbor view and still easy to get downtown. John and Gwen were awesome hosts, they treated us like we were guests in their home not at their business. We flew in on Thanksgiving evening, John and Gwen and other guests, had a tasty homemade Turkey dinner waiting for us at the hotel and welcomed us in....Awesome, John and Gwen thanks for getting our vacation started perfectly.....Steve n Penni

Room Tip: Our room was H-2, awesome view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
We were so surprised when you called to make your reservation! When you reminded us we met you on the ferry to Jost Van Dyke last year, we were excited you decided to extend your time share vacation and spend a couple of days in Town with us! Thank you for joining us for Thanksgiving Dinner and for your friendship! We can't wait to see you again in November 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    104
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
32
154
29
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Property has some excellence views of the harbor and you get a taste of the local atmosphere that you would probably not get with a resort. John and Gwynn were very kind and helpful. We saw the resident iguana who made an appearance on the tree right outside our balcony. We had a lovely evening just enjoying the views and warm breeze.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Once again we would like to thank you for staying with us, even if it were for just 1 night! We don't mind! You are so correct the balcony from your room (H2) was incredible and the view equal to the balcony! The wicker chairs are great for a relaxing night on a private balcony! Many of our Guests tell us The Green Iguana Hotel is the perfect location for "decompressing before their holiday" or "relaxing after their Caribbean Adventure" before heading back to The Real World!!! Thank you for your kind words! We hope to see you on your next Caribbean Adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Park, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed at the Green Iguana for 5 days in October 2013. The facilities are quite lovely; a great location at a great price. Loved my room and had a great view. Loved the owers who were very friendly and extemely accomodating. Was very close to town. Would highly recommend staying here; would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
I loved having another "Gwen" in the Hotel! You were part of the previous post of ladies here to celebrate your friend's happiness! The bride is very blessed to have such good friends and family support her marriage! We are looking forward to seeing you all again for the "annual girl's getaway!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Plainfield, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The Green Iguana was the ideal location!! I visited for 6 days in October 2013 and it was a great trip!! The price was fantastic, the room was clean and the owners were accommodating, friendly and helpful! Everything worked very well and the view from the room was outstanding!!! The air conditioning worked well and was relief from the hot and humid weather. We had a refrigerator and microwave in the room that came in handy when we wanted to reheat some food and make a quick snack. We were a large party of 18 visiting St. Thomas for my cousin's bachelorette party and everyone was accommodated nicely. The location was perfect!!, walking distance to town and a taxi drive away to the beach. We had an amazing taxi driver, Leroy, who drove us EVERYWHERE we needed to go and was very reasonably priced and helpful. It is definitely necessary to have a taxi in St. Thomas! Our taxi driver Leroy even gave us a tour on St John. It was such a great trip I'm definitely going back next year and staying at the Green Iguana.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
You 17 ladies were absolutely the BEST! The Bride was so excited so many of her family and friends and friends of friends came to help celebrate in her happiness! We are looking forward to all of you returning for a "girls vacation" as a yearly trip! You all made John and me smile everyday know you were all having "girl fun"! Happy New Year! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovilla, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My only regret in this review is that there is NO rating beyond EXELLENT. My wife, Marilyn & I were treated to an unforgettable vacation experience at The Green Iguana Hotel in St. Thomas USVI. The resident managers, John & Gwen Pittman, are certainly to be commended for their hospilality and attention to every detail to make their guest feel at home and able to enjoy all the nuances of "Island Living". We were directed and accompanied to some of the "Native" events and restaurants as well as the wonderful "Touristy" points of interest.
While there; St. Thomas experienced some of the worst weather and heaviest rains they had seen in years, The upside of that was we were able to relax, nap, get some reading in, and enjoy some unbelievable lightning shows and views of the bay and harbor from our balcony, for a couple of days, that very few guests have the opportunity to see.
A couple of days before we had to leave the Pittmans arranged for us to take a day cruise with one of their friends at "Oh Be Joyful Sailing" under the direction of Capt. Dave Parker with 1st Mate Jocelyn, and 2nd Mate Sophia (an absolutely delightful sea dog). We were treated to a great tour of the waterways around St.Thomas and the surrounding islands, we anchored in the shelter of a gorgeous island and snorkeled in asure blue water while Capt. Dave and Jocelyn prepared a gourmet meal of grilled salmon and 2 in thick pork chops, local "island"salad
and decident dessert.
All in all I cannot think of anything that could have made our visit to The Green Iguana Hotel any more enjoyable......it will be fondly remembered until our next visit to "The Islands".
Ron & Marilyn Langenheder
Ovilla, Texas

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room with a balcony to enjoy morning coffee with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Awww... your comments make our smiles very big! Ear to Ear! Enjoying the beautiful views is only part of the fun here on St. Thomas. There's even fun OFF St. Thomas, in the beautiful waters and what is beneath the surface! We enjoy snorkeling from the beaches, but most of all we enjoy snorkeling from the boats! Cap't Dave knows all the great places to snorkel and Jocelyn is by far one of the best cooks on the island! We have been out with them and would only suggest the sails and other activities we have experienced. We hope you will return soon for more fun in the sun and relaxing on your balcony should the rains come! Please keep in touch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

It's been 35 yrs since our last visit to St Thomas, the hotel we stayed at then was no longer there thanks to hurricane hugo. We stayed closer to town this time at The Green Iguana Hotel, thanks to the hotel managers Gwen and John we had a wonderful stay, just not long enough! They were able to help us see a lot more of the island then when we were there last time. Would love to go back sooner than the 35 yrs gap of this trip and would love to stay at The Green Iguana Hotel again!

Room Tip: They have pictures of all their rooms on the website, and they all have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
You are right, 35 years is too long to stay away from St. Thomas and the Virgin Islands! We DID find exactly where your hotel was, and will be sending you a photo of the location as it is now. Thanks for joining us on the snorkel day to BVI! We don't often get to enjoy activities like that with our Guests, thanks to our great relief managers for allowing us the time away with you! There is so much more to see and do, we hope you will celebrate many many more anniversaries here with us in the beautiful Caribbean! Happy Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I've been reviewing this hotel for years now, and all I can say is it it's a great place that somehow manages to keep getting better!

John and Gwen are probably the nicest people you could hope to encounter on-island. They'll go completely out of their way to make you feel at home, and you can tell they they really enjoy connecting with the people that stay there. They're more like family than hotel managers, and I'm happy to count them among my friends.

As far as the hotel itself, in my opinion it's the best value on-island. For a third of the price of staying at the mega-resorts on the beach, you can have a room that once you're inside is just as nice if not nicer, and because all VI beaches are public, you can go use the mega-hotels' beaches for free. It's a secure location, I've never felt unsafe inside. And if you're traveling on business, the wifi at the Green Iguana is awesome. I'm able to do all my work, including a VPN connection, with no problem.

Oh, and if you're into going green, they're just about done with the process of switching over to solar power! Pretty cool, especially if you know anything about WAPA down on-island and the stranglehold they place on the residents there. Kudos to John & Gwen for breaking free from that!

This is the best place to stay on St. Thomas, trust me. I've been here at least 10 times now, and I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-Gwen P, Manager at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Hello again SoxFan! (Congrats on the '13 World Series win!) Thank you so much for continuing to trust The Green Iguana Hotel for your frequent trips to St. Thomas! the wireless internet connections in our Guest Rooms are high on our priority list, and we have one of the best IT Techs on-island! We know how important the internet is to conduct business when you are away from your office. We always look forward to your visits! It is like having an old friend come to spend a few days with us! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Green Iguana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Iguana Hotel

Address: 1002 Blackbeard's Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Iguana Hotel offers superb amenities with the comforts of home. The Hotel is centrally located within a 5 minute walk to the Town Charlotte Amalie, and 15 minutes by taxi from the airport. The Hotel has the perfect combination of harbor views, downtown shopping, museums, and great restaurants, ferry transit and beautiful Caribbean Sunsets! Enhanced by the service of the resident managers to answer questions, guests are treated like family. In October 2013, The Green Iguana Hotel began operating on Renewable Solar Energy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Green Iguana Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Green Iguana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.