We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an enjoyable place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Green Iguana Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Green Iguana Hotel
Save
You added The Green Iguana Hotel to your Saves list
1002 Blackbeard's Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Instant Savings
Largo, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“an enjoyable place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I was at the green aguana for ten days and rued the fact that I could not stay longer. The management,Susie and Bill were very helpful.The units are kept clean and sanitary.The view from the rooms overlooking town and harbor can not be equaled anywhere on the eastern seaboard of the U.S. I enjoyed sitting in the porch looking at the scene.and relax with a rum coke. I do hope to return and chit chat with Bill and Susie again. Jim MacLachlan.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    104
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
32
154
29
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tinley Park, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed at The Green Iguana in May of 2011. Susie and Bill were very helpful and friendly hosts. The grounds were pretty and the room was clean and complete with a small fridge, microwave, in-room safe and tv. I was surpised at the large size of the balcony to our room which overlooked Charlotte Amalie. A great view! You can buy beverages, breakfast sandwiches and snacks in the office. You can walk to downtown Charlotte Amalie using the 99 steps. There are a variety of places to eat within walking distance as well as tons of shopping on the historic alleyways. You must stop at Glady's for breakfast! We did not rent a car as the roads can be narrow with some hairpin turns in the mountains. We used a taxi service recommended by Susie and Bill (very reliable). We often called the same driver who showed us around the island for photos as we went from beach to beach. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

When we first saw the on-line photos before our first trip, we hoped that they had not been retouched. When we arrived the property was even nicer than represented on-line. There have been many, many improvements since our trip in 2009. And Bill and Susie and the best. It is like visiting family. The spacious rooms are beautiful and clean. The property is gorgeous. Once you enter the secure area you can wonder about wonderfully landscaped tropical grounds. So comfortable, the large rooms (with microwaves, fridges, and tables for cards and socializing) are like your lovely home away from home.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are unique --- but we love the upper rooms with their spectucular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

After a great deal of internet research, we selected the Green Iguana Hotel, and loved it! Having a place to stay that offered a kitchenette and a balcony overlooking the harbor was great. Susie and Bill were so hospitable and gave us everything we could have asked for. The hotel is charming and is located in a great spot in Charlotte Amalie. We would absolutely stay here again on our next visit, and will highly recommend it to friends. The room was spacious, comfortable and well-cared for. This hotel really felt like home.

Room Tip: The Green Iguana allows you to pick your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

we love Green Iguana and will not stay anywhere else. My husband and I have also brought our entire family there ages 5-28 as well as friends. My favorite is when it's just him and I though!! sshh! Rooms are great, and the place has a personal touch. We'll see you soon Green Iguana!!! Patty in Chicago

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony..rent a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

I have stayed at the Green Iguana Hotel multiple times and I am about to make another reservation here shortly. I am actually from St. Croix which is a "sister" island to St. Thomas where this hotel is located. Being an "islander", I usually get inferior service because managers naturally cater to tourists vs locals who are often left hanging. But that is definitely not the case here. The managers of this hotel have bent over backwards on every occasion to make sure that my wife and I enjoyed our vacation. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in a hotel with spacious rooms, quiet environment, and helpful hosts.

Room Tip: All the rooms are comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

There was a wonderful view from our balcony as we sat and sipped our coffee. The room is comfortable, cool, and inviting.The hosts Susie and Bill were very helpful letting us know where to eat, visit and walk. They even invited us out for drinks to a great place where we listened to jazz and celebrated Bill's birthday. We would definitely stay again, and again, and again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Green Iguana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Iguana Hotel

Address: 1002 Blackbeard's Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Iguana Hotel offers superb amenities with the comforts of home. The Hotel is centrally located within a 5 minute walk to the Town Charlotte Amalie, and 15 minutes by taxi from the airport. The Hotel has the perfect combination of harbor views, downtown shopping, museums, and great restaurants, ferry transit and beautiful Caribbean Sunsets! Enhanced by the service of the resident managers to answer questions, guests are treated like family. In October 2013, The Green Iguana Hotel began operating on Renewable Solar Energy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Green Iguana Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Green Iguana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.