We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good time at the hands of Laurel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Kahuna Rum Shack

Big Kahuna Rum Shack
5130 Dronningens Gade | Royal Dane Mall / Waterfront, Charlotte Amalie 53546, St. Thomas
340-775-9289
Website
Update restaurant details
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Mexican, Pizza, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Hershey, Pennsylvania
1 review
“A good time at the hands of Laurel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

While in St. Thomas last week visiting a friend we were taking in the shops downtown and decided to sit up to the bar to enjoy some food and drinks. Both were a good time. We were also introduced to "Love Juice"......what a fabulous time that was!!!!! The atmosphere was good - the music was at a decent level, the walls were fun to look at and our service at the hands of Laurel was awesome. Great conversation, good food, and fabulous drinks.....Worth the trip!!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    324
    98
    32
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gas City, Indiana
1 review
“Alex was awesome!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We will be back!!! We had a great time!! The food was great and the service was even better!!! There is no doubt that we all will return!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
1 review
“Isis is the Bomb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Food was really good but it is bar type food. Isis (bartender) made the visit worthwhile. She was extremely friendly and it was great talking with her. The mix of music was great also. Nice view.
Jim and Diana
Titusville Florida
Visited in Oct 2012

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“LOVE this bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Visit the Big Kahuna whenever we visit St Thomas - the painkillers are awsome! Just a simple place but the atmosphere and view are great! Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent place for bar food and good drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

It's a very friendly atmosphere here. They have wonderful drink specials and the people who work here are very friendly. Their menu is not unique but the food is really good.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Kahuna Rum Shack also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Big Kahuna Rum Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Kahuna Rum Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.