We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Christmas day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fury Charters

Fury Charters
6501 Redhook Plaza | Suite 201, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
340-643-7733
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: SWIM WITH THE TURTLES SNORKEL SAIL! The #1 excursion in Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas just got a whole lot better! Join the US Coast Guard certified professional crew of the newly refit, impeccably maintained, sailing yacht Fury on a 1/2 day excursion to Swim with the Giant Green Sea Turtles at the National Wildlife Marine Sanctuary at Buck Island. Here you will encounter a variety of sea life, including stingrays, conch, starfish, tropical fish and up to 20 endangered green sea turtles feeding "naturally" along our beautiful, calm, protected coral reef. Fury is not one of those large, overcrowded cattlemarans, Fury is a classic 46' Morgan Ketch with a maximum capacity of 25 passengers, providing a superior experience and unparalleled service for our guests. Plenty of shade for the fair-skinned under the custom bimini. We will even pick you up at the Havensite Cruiseship Dock with our boat. NO CAB RIDES! NO HASSLES! Don't miss this unique and popular wildlife experience! FURY IS A NON-SMOKING VESSEL.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
macon, ga
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Memorable Christmas day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Captain Mike and Nicki on the Fury were fabulous! Met us at the Fat Turtle on time and gave us our instructions and we set off for Buck Island. Liked Captain Mike alot, but Nicki was truly the one who worked the hardest (Sorry, Mike!) as she moved all about the boat making sure we had everything we needed, serving food and drinks, helping Mike sail the boat, and then was our guide in the water as well!

The snorkeling was good- enjoyed seeing the turtles as well as the fish and the reef.
Great experience all the way around.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    24
    5
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't have been better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We came in on a Norwegian cruise but booked this snorkeling trip inseatd of an excursion through the cruise and we were very happy we did! There were 8 of us on the "Fury" and Captain Mike was awesome! His rum punch is fantastic! We saw a variety of fish, although it was not the most colorful reef I have seen. We saw a dozen or so turtles feeding on the grass beds - truely worth the trip! Captain Mike and his assistant Nikki were great with a particular visitor who was hesitant about the water. The provided all equipment plus extra flotation devices to make people feel secure. Most of the other boats had 40-80 people but we each recieved individual attention. It was a fanastic time and I will definitely do it again!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice trip, but a little pricey and needs better communication”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just got back from St. Thomas and and an excursion to Buck Island with Mike on the sailing catamaran "Fury". The excursion was just as advertised and you'll have a guaranteed time of swimming with 4-5 turtles, if not more. Initial communication could have been better as I didn't get confirmation of my trip until I was driving to the cruise ship, despite repeated phone calls and emails. Not much to see out there other than turtles on a sandy bottom in 15 feet of water. There is no reef (nor did I expect one from the reviews), but there are rocky shallows that hold reef fish. My 16 year old daughter loved swimming with the turtles. I was perhaps not as thrilled as I've encountered turtles on other dive trips.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usvisailior, Manager at Fury Charters, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
So glad your daughter enjoyed the excursion. Most guests, even the experienced snorkelers generally enjoy seeing these majestic endangered turtles in their natural habitat. The reef is rather nice if you go out and explore a little. I will post some pictures on our site to show you all the variety of corals and sealife in that small cove. We can't do much about the pricing as we have not raised our prices in over 6 years, though we do offer specials for Military and repeat guests. Communication on this Island can be somewhat spotty and we do our best to answer all calls and emails promptly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“More than just great rum punch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

After searching for a snorkeling charter we found Captain Mike and the Fury. He was in immediate contact with us and very personable (finding out he grew up 5 miles away from my boyfriend). On the day of our charter we had Captain Chris and Donny. We were greeted promptly by Captain Chris at the Fat Turtle. He took us to the Fury where we were greeted by Donny. The boat was very clean and well maintained. The two explained the charter to us and we were on our way. Once we arrived Donny pointed out the turtles that were all around us. It was absolutely wonderful, lots of turtles and only a few of us on the charter unlike all the other boats around us. Once we were moored, Donny hopped in the water with us pointing out all there was to see at the reef, including lots of juvenile turtles. We had plenty of time to swim freely and experience the beauty that was all around us. On the ride in they had plenty of rum punch and snacks for everyone. Captain Chris and Donny were both top notch. On the ride in we talked about everything from boats to brewing beer with both Chris and Donny. Chris even offered to sell us his brewing equipment (sadly we could not take it with us because we were on a cruise). When we were leaving it felt like we had spent the morning with good friends and made memories to last a life time. If you do one excursion on your whole vacation make sure it is with the Fury.

Visited in January 2012

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Outstanding sail trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Snorkeling with the sea turtles and reef fish was amazing. The clear waters afforded fantastic views of the wildlife. The hospitality and knowledge of crew of Chase and Captain Mike enhanced this incredible experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fury Charters also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to Fury Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fury Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.