We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Short Stays!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Beachcomber Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Island Beachcomber Hotel to your Saves list
Island Beachcomber Hotel
8071 Lindberg Bay, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Hamilton, NJ
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Perfect for Short Stays!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed with a group of 8 of us at the island beachcomber (2 rooms). The staff was outstanding, the resort very pretty. Rooms leave something to be desired, but who cares, you're supposed to be on the beach anyway! The airport noise wasn't an issue and we enjoyed watching the planes leave. There were no late night flights so no issues waking us up. The beach is beautiful, the breakfast outstanding. The bar drinks were'nt that great though, very little alcohol and just didn't taste very good. However lunch was yummy! Note that the double rooms are double beds, I call them "slim jims" because if you're not skinny you'll want separate beds, the hubbs kept "butting" me off the other side. They should also upgrade the pillows, they were pancakes. Again, perfect for one or two nights, the positives of the staff, beach and restaurant far outweigh the old bathrooms and slim jim beds. We'll be back later this year, and for the reasonable room rates we will gladly stay again!

Room Tip: No elevators, so if you have issues with stairs request a lower level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    59
    35
    25
    27
See reviews for
35
56
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

i had a serious great time the few days i stayed there.... the staff is great and the owners were so awesome.. i didnt'really care about the plane noise or "how my room looked" i simply enjoyed the hospitalty of it all.... i will be returning with no complaints ... as i would say "your on island time... leave the trivial behaviour at home"....

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I am SAD to read in the Virgin Island Daily News 2/21/2013 that negotiation are underway for a take over of the Beachcomber. I have been vacationing at the hotel since 1985. Staff has always been very accommodating. Who could ask for a nicer beach. True the rooms weren't "fancy", but mine was always clean. I liked it because of its island charm. Its a part of the islands history. What a shame it will probably be tunred into just another fancy place to stay. With out the island charm or friendlyness. Well at least I can have my great memories, of the great staff and the Resch family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived our rooms weren't ready, they lost the reservation for one of our two rooms so I was forced to share with the person I had to travel with. The door to the room looked like it had been kicked in. So close to the runway at the airport, every time a plane landed my headboard shook. Roaches in our room were big enough to steal the soap from the shower. Beach on the property was nice. Never again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful,Ut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have been staying here off and on since 1995. We stopped staying here after Rebecca took over and the price went thru the roof. The last trip we paid $127 inc tax. Anything over $200 is not worth it. Some of our group paid $188 for an upgraded room and were given Rms 124-125, which face a wall of the Emerald Beach and need to be upgraded.
The staff here is wonderful if you treat them with respect and are very accommodating. Our room was clean and comfortable. The beach and beach bar are great. The restaurant has new servers who are warm and wonderful.
It was nice to return and will plan to stay here after our charters again.

Room Tip: We prefer Rooms 100-104. You get the feel of a beach room without the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

It is hard for me to believe the positive feedback posted here. This place is close to the airport, walkable in fact. But, don't book it just because of location or value. My sheets were stained, the shower was peeling, the water was cold. The check in staff, although friendly, was misinformed (you can't be at the airport 2 hours early for your 7:30am flight if the airport doesn't open until 6:30, right?) Simply put, it's a dive. Book elsewhere because you won't feel safe - you'll probably sleep with one eye open.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Very close to the airport, but not worth staying there...you wont feel confortable. If you're a non smoker, then the constant smell of smoke in the room will drive you knuts!! Very out-dated hotel...no lobby area and only like a "holding room" for you to check in...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Beachcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Beachcomber Hotel

Address: 8071 Lindberg Bay, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Island Beachcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Island Beachcomber
Island Beachcomber Charlotte Amalie
Island Beachcomber Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Beachcomber Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.