We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry, never again.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Island Beachcomber Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Island Beachcomber Hotel to your Saves list
Island Beachcomber Hotel
8071 Lindberg Bay, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
State College, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sorry, never again.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

The beach is AMAZING and the location is perfect if you need the airport. The garden is beautiful. However, I do not sleep on the beach or in the garden. The rooms dirty, bed sheets dirty and bath towels. TV cable was coming apart I had to crawl under the desk to tap it every 10 min. to make the TV stay clear. It is so sad because this was a nice place at one time. The staff is very nice and would visit the bar again for a Bushwacker. The place needs to be cleaned.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    65
    37
    25
    27
See reviews for
35
60
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011 via mobile

The room was nasty! I hope the linens on the bed were fresh! Towels were dingy and the front of the refrigerator along with the table it sat on we're filthy! Someone had spilled coffee on the table and the spill was still there?

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed one night as part of a business trip to the islands. We choose to stay here because we had an early morning departure from the airport. My wife complained of the room smelling "musty" and "sour". By contrast, the sheets and bedding smelled very fresh. The room needed considerable touch-ups, fresh paint, replacement of stained fixtures, etc. Fortunately, we were here to sleep and not much more so things were tolerable but for the money we spent on the room, it wasn't worth it. We specifically requested a quiet location in the building but around midnight a couple entered the room next to ours and proceeded to entertain us with considerable intimate goings-on for the next two and a half hours which will tell you something about the sound-proofing between rooms. Will probably not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint.Catharines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Went with a couple Buds and we had a great time. Staff are VERY friendly and helpful. The hotel itself has aged, but I like to look at it as having warm character.
We went to relax on the beach, hang at the bar and enjoy the Island which is BEAUTIFUL! The diving was fantastic! If your looking for 5 star, go somewhere else. If your looking for personal experience without the wasted frills, then you might want to try the Island Beachcomber.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

If you want a room that stinks mold and is filthy, you have come to the right place... Luckily we stayed only one night. The floor was dirty and untidy, in the bathroom we found hairs and a dead cockroach. The sink was filthy with opened packaging of soap from the previous guests. All this for an unreasonably high price ...

The only positive thing about this place, during our 1 night stay, was the reception and restaurant staff, that were very nice and helpful.

Avoid...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

First, the good. The staff is very friendly, and try to please any way they can. The hotel is on a very nice beach, rooms have a lovely view. The hotel itself is old, and could use some attention. Hot water and water pressure are "hit and miss", beds are not very comfortable. I agree with the review that says the sheets are scratchy, and the towels are thin and rough. The beach is crowded when there are cruise ships in port, but the good news is that the bar and restaurant of the hotel are open when the cruise ship passengers are around. The airport runway is directly across the street, and planes fly all day. Not a place to relax and sleep in, or nap. Next time we will probably consider the hotel next door. It's newer, and has a nicer restaurant and a pool.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011 via mobile

Location was the reason I chose this place to spend the final evening of our honeymoon after a wonderful 7 nights at Sapphire.

The place is called rustic in some reviews and that is unfortunately it's best quality, outside of the service. They do try hard, and if there wasnt a gleaming and nicer national chain right next door on the same beach that costs only a few $ more a night, it would have been a better value. It'd be kind of like buying a used car, when for just a little more you could have a brand new one with more features. Luckily my wife still loves me even after making a bad choice for this evening.

Pros: location; nice staff that accommodated our needs and a wonderful chef who made an order off the menu and a very nice view out of our room.

Cons: no shuttle, walked to airport. Place is older and not very nice rooms. Towels are paper thin and limited supply. Ants all over the bath sink( the little 'micro-ants').

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Beachcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Beachcomber Hotel

Address: 8071 Lindberg Bay, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Island Beachcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Island Beachcomber
Island Beachcomber Charlotte Amalie
Island Beachcomber Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Beachcomber Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.