We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view and super friendly staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mafolie Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mafolie Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mafolie Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7091 Estate Mafolie | Mafolie Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel amenities
Grapevine, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing view and super friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great experience at the Mafolie Hotel. Chad is one of the Hotel Managers and he was great to work with. Super friendly and accomodating and his casual style made it feel like we were visiting friends. Really enjoyed the room...beautiful and very clean with a refrigerator and a million dollar view. The restaurant and bar had smiling friendly staff too and they served us a delicious meal with a view that was unparalleled to any other stop in our 7 day island sailboat tour. Don't miss this restaurant if you are in St. Thomas.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    108
    58
    16
    27
See reviews for
44
164
22
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you do not like climbing steps, stop reading and do not stay at the Mafolie. The hotel cascades down the hill high above Charlotte Amalie and the view of the town and harbor is spectacular! The restaurant is very good and serves as a "destination" for locals and tourists alike.

It is NOT walkable to the shopping district, or anyplace for that matter. So, taking cabs is part of the Mafolie experience (ask them to book Isaiah for you).

The rooms afford spectacular views (#s 101 and 102 have the best views, as they are highest up). The pool area is inviting with a small bar run by Miss Rosie. Chad, one of the Asst. Mgrs. is fabulous in local knowledge and arranging cabs, etc.

The rooms themselves are "quaint." They are clean, but the AC is a wall unit that takes forever to reach a comfortable temperature. Because they are high up the hill, water pressure can be problematic (at best) and the TV/satellite system is iffy, at best.

We stay one night before and after a week sailing in the BVIs. Don't stay here for a whole week as you'll wear yourself out waiting for and taking cabs. We paid $150 per night in August at the tail end of the season.

The restaurant is good with spectacular views and is a local destination.

Room Tip: 101 or 102 for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were happily surprised by our wonderful room that had just been renovated, after the stone step entry to the hotel. The restaurant was also delightful with same wonderful view and an excellent meal.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a nice hotel for a reasonable price. My family stayed here for 1 night on our way home from St. John. The view is great, but I would not recommend spending an entire vacation here because it is very removed from the beaches and town (unless that is what you want).

A good part is that the restaurant at the hotel is excellent, and everyone is extremely polite and service oriented.

Be aware, the hotel is CLOSED from Aug. 17 - Nov. 1, 2014.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel and restaurant provided my family and I with the most wonderful vacation. The property is gorgeous, with stunning views of St. Thomas' harbor, neighboring islands, and city below. Tucked up high in the hills, this property is designed seamlessly into the cityscape so that guests can roam freely and comfortably while having an incredible view from every vantage point! We spent the entire day by the pool, sipping on drinks from the bar and looking out at the gorgeous city below. The restaurant had the most delicious cuisine and a variety of different options for all of the picky eaters in my party (vegan, vegetarian, children etc.) ! I cannot wait until my next visit at this quality hotel and restaurant.

Room Tip: Some rooms are higher up than others…the higher you are in the properly, the more impressive the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night after spending some time on St. John in July 2014. The service was very friendly and accommodating. Our room had a lovely view of the harbor. We spent a serene day by the pool and had a great panini at the poolside lunch spot. The restaurant has a beautiful view and served delicious food. A cheerful, peaceful place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed for 5 days with a family of five. The room had a mini-fridge and continental breakfast cut down on our cost extensively. The restaurant was great with helping with things we needed. The view was spectacular! The room came with a king size bed and a pull out futon which was more than enough space. We did lots of comparing before our stay and we were happy with our choice.

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mafolie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mafolie Hotel

Address: 7091 Estate Mafolie | Mafolie Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mafolie Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Mafolie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mafolie Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Mafolie Charlotte Amalie
Mafolie Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mafolie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.