We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mafolie Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mafolie Hotel to your Saves list
Mafolie Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7091 Estate Mafolie | Mafolie Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Fantastic hotel with great owners who strive to provide the best experience as possible.
- View is second to none
- Restaurant is tasty and has a compact but nice wine list
- rooms are comfortable and decorated in Island Style
- Pool area was comfortable
- Extremely helpful staff

In short, we loved our stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    130
    64
    16
    27
See reviews for
51
196
23
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Whidbey Island, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

No photograph can do the view justice which is simply spectacular. We stayed in room 113 which had a great side deck with shade in the afternoon. There was a glass top table and four chairs. We overlooked the pool and cruise ship port. We could get a nice breeze from simply opening the window in the room. It can get rather expensive taking cabs to/from town. Fortunately everything you need is onsite. Start your day with a continental breakfast and a fruit smoothie. Ella makes the best since she tosses in a bit of luv. Her fruit smoothies were the best during our five week travels through the US and British Virgin Islands. We enjoyed dinner at the restaurant. The young couple Adam and Kasia who run the Mafolie Hotel are hard working and take a lot of pride in their work.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ullock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We recently enjoyed a 2 night stay at the Mafolie following a week of self-catered sailing from Road Town, Tortola. The restaurant served a diverse menu of high quality seafood, island fare as well as the more traditional steaks and so on. The food preparation was excellent, especially a dish of jerk spiced grilled jumbo shrimp.... really great! The staff in the restaurant were highly professional, responsive and friendly which was especially welcome after a week of cooking, serving and cleaning up after ourselves on the water.

The rooms were well equipped with a small fridge and good sized bed/bath, A/C, sofa, etc. a PC and printer were available for those of us who left all that behind for the trip to the islands. As the sign says, its a world famous view as well from the bar/dining area and pool, not to be missed. The room rates were very competitive and a good deal better than the major hotel chain choices nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We'd just finished a 6 day sailing trip and stayed at the Mafolie before flying out of St Thomas. This was a great spot for us. The staff was awesome and incredibly accommodating -- they helped with dinner reservations and calling cabs and served our very hungry crew us lots of bread (!) as we waited out a big rainstorm before dinner. It was a really nice place to spend our transition night before heading back home and out of vacation mode. Thank you!

Room Tip: we had a room with a futon which worked out well for the extra person (me!)
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We found the Mafolie Hotel to be the most charming, intimate and hospitable place on the island, with-- as the many photographs on this site will attest- breathtakingly beautiful views.

The hotel is not on a beach but right in the middle of the island atop a hill, giving the property stunning panoramic views of Charlotte Amalie and the harbor.The property itself is gorgeously landscaped with multiple levels, each looking over the sea. The central location is also very convenient, making it easily accessible to/from the airport, the red hook ferries to St John, and the downtown shopping area and restaurants.

The owner/operator, Adam (who also owns the Inn at Saratoga in New York State) was extremely helpful and friendly, which added that extra personal touch. Rooms were comfortable and decently sized with individually controlled air-conditioning and a fridge. The one single criticism would be the bathroom which was small (albeit clean), poorly stocked with amenities and had dismal water pressure.

Breakfast is included and is served in the wonderful outdoor (canopied) terrace of the restaurant. While not a huge spread, it included boiled eggs, a selection of pastries, coffee/tea, and orange juice, with freshly made smoothies.

Overall, you get the simultaneous feel of both a luxury and a budget property.
Service and ambience are five star, but the prices are very reasonable.

I highly recommend staying here. The choice of hotels on St Thomas is surprisingly limited, and if you want something more intimate than the typical corporate hotel experience, and also want to be away from the hub and hubbub of the cruise ship passengers, then this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: We were in Room 112- which is the most basic room type. I cannot attest to other rooms, but our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I chose the hotel from the info found on internet based on location and price and just really fell in love with the place. The owners were very gracious and down to earth people. The owner even gave us a ride to the Ferry boat dock when the pre-arranged taxi didn't show up when he was supposed to. The hotel restaurant and bar is simply awesome, both for its food and the magnificent view of the city and harbor bellow. The price was right also. Almost forgot to mention the very nice pool and deck attached to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We are just checking out today, and are excited about the next stage of our trip, but we have LOVED our two days as guests at the Mafolie. Each and every person we encountered went out of their way to make us comfortable. Adam, Emanuel (head chef), Regina, and Paul you created a great environment full of warm friendly service, great food (tuna and wahoo were amazing), wonderful cocktails watching the sun set from the most perfect view in all of St. Thomas, and perfect service! Our bed was very comfortable, shower strong, and very clean. Thank you all who contributed to our stay. We will see you on our return!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mafolie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mafolie Hotel

Address: 7091 Estate Mafolie | Mafolie Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mafolie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mafolie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mafolie Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Mafolie Charlotte Amalie
Mafolie Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mafolie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.