We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking Views, Great drinks!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mafolie Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mafolie Hotel to your Saves list
Mafolie Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7091 Estate Mafolie | Mafolie Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Views, Great drinks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Perfect place for couples. Very convenient location to each side of island, better beaches on the north side. Great restaurant, very friendly and accommodating staff. Amazing views, that are just beautiful and very romantic. I have stayed here 3 times and will be again. Great value.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    130
    64
    16
    27
See reviews for
51
196
23
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cumming, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Even though it had a funny name we were excited about staying here for a girl’s only time in the islands. The staff was OK nice and the views are amazing (a huge plus for us) but the place is kind of run down. The restaurant is cool and food was great but avoid the bartender Tussler, he’s just too over the top, way too talkative for a bartender. And don’t think you’re going to walk around in this area as it is kind of sketchy but if you’re Ok with getting a taxi every time you want to go somewhere it’s not too bad. I’d recommend it and may return but would love to hear they have dome some improvements like some of the staff had mentioned they’re planning.

Room Tip: if you stay over the kitchen it will make you hungry all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Highly recommend. My wife and I honeymooned here and could not have picked a better place than this boutique hotel. The view is unmatched only by the service. Everyone made us feel so welcomed and made an effort to get to know us to the extent we were willing. The sunset was breathtaking every night, and you can watch it from the pool, the bar, or the restaurant. The pool was great. It wasn't olympic sized, no diving boards or slides, but it was well maintained and the pool area had chaise loungers, umbrellas, and was very relaxing. The snack bar had great lunch food and voodoo punch cocktails. The restaurant was fantastic too. The fresh catch was always delicious and prepared well, and they had plenty to offer for my wife who doesn't eat fish. The prices were comparable. When the restaurant was closed for staff christmas party, they invited all of the hotel guests to the party. DJ, buffet, drinks, the works, all on Mafolie. I've never experienced such great hospitality. Charlotte Amalie can be a little too fast paced, and it didn't offer much for night life anyway, so I'm glad we stayed above. Mafolie offered free shuttle to Magen's anyway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We visited the Mafolie March 28-April 2, 2013. We were in St. Thomas for a family wedding. It was our first trip to St. Thomas. I titled this review "a mixed bag" because there were both good and not so good aspects to the hotel. For the good, the view is unsurpassed. The hotel is on a hill overlooking the bay at Charlotte Amalie. There is an open air restraunt and bar the are quit good. The pool also overlooks the bay. The price is price was low for the area.
The not so good is that the rooms are somewhat rustic. The shower in our room did not have "hot" water. The water was only warm at best. It was so tepid that you could not use the cold water faucet to get more water pressure or it was totally cold. There was not hair dryer in the rooms, so we had to bring our own hair dryer and unplug the TV to use it. Also, the room air conditioner was a very small wall unit that was not up to keeping the room comfortably cool during the day in the moderate conditions we faced. I would be concerned that it might be very hot in the room during summer.
The hotel is also too far for anything to walk. A taxi is required. The restaurant is not open for lunch. There is an out door grill that serves lunch, but it is not open if it rains or if the cook does not show up. It was open only one day during our stay.
The Mafolie is quirky, but the view may be worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The staff is super friendly and make sure you have a decent experience. The rooms are hot, they are cooled by a window unit which doesn't do much. It's more bearable outside. The room had bugs in it and was just outright nasty. The only place to eat lunch is the pool bar which was open on one day of our stay. Other than that, there is nothing within walking distance. Dinner was decent though its ranked top 5. The wait staff is very personable minus the hostess. Rooms don't have refrigerators or microwaves so you can can it somewhere but no to go foods. Cabs are decently priced and drivers are so nice. Overall, the view is amazing but it can't make up for the lack of amenities this motel offers.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Having just completed a luxury cruise, we arrived at 11 am and since our room was not ready, deposited our suitcases and took a taxi to the closest mall. When we returned, we decided spend the rest of the afternoon by the pool staffed by Rosie who dispenses drinks and operates both the continental breakfast and the poolside snack bar. In our room there were some heavy pieces of victorian furniture mixed with some 1950's chairs and tables. The overall effect was strange and a mite shabby.
This is not a place to go if you have any mobility issues. Perched on a hill, the rooms are scattered up and down narrow walkways. However, the staff were helpful in getting suitcases to our room which is the one featured in their advertisements. The sitting area was the section with the view but the bedroom provided limited visibility. The bathroom had only one small mirror, which was hanging at the six foot level so not useful for using the hair drier unless you are a basketball player.but the shower worked well. The lighting is very dim and hopeless for reading. The whole place is seriously in need of upgrading and maintenance. We opted to have dinner in the restaurant and it was busy and pleasant and the food was pretty good - just don't order anything breaded or deep fried. A taxi was required to leave the property as there is no provision for pedestrians on the narrow road. However, it is not far to the airport or to the harbour. We were flying out the next day so it was more than adequate for a short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
521 reviews 521 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
262 helpful votes 262 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way from a charter boat vacation. Located high on the hills above the harbour, the views are absolutely stunning. Our rooms were simple, but comfortable and spacious. The whole property could use a little polish, but the rates are so reasonable one can happily overlook the cosmetics in places. The continental breakfast was good. The pool was clean and lovely. The on-site restaurant provided the best meal we experienced in our three nights in St. Thomas. Overall this place is a find.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a room overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mafolie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mafolie Hotel

Address: 7091 Estate Mafolie | Mafolie Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mafolie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mafolie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mafolie Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Mafolie Charlotte Amalie
Mafolie Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mafolie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.