We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cross between a Turkish Seraglio and a Motel 7” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mafolie Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mafolie Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mafolie Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7091 Estate Mafolie | Mafolie Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel amenities
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A cross between a Turkish Seraglio and a Motel 7”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Having just completed a luxury cruise, we arrived at 11 am and since our room was not ready, deposited our suitcases and took a taxi to the closest mall. When we returned, we decided spend the rest of the afternoon by the pool staffed by Rosie who dispenses drinks and operates both the continental breakfast and the poolside snack bar. In our room there were some heavy pieces of victorian furniture mixed with some 1950's chairs and tables. The overall effect was strange and a mite shabby.
This is not a place to go if you have any mobility issues. Perched on a hill, the rooms are scattered up and down narrow walkways. However, the staff were helpful in getting suitcases to our room which is the one featured in their advertisements. The sitting area was the section with the view but the bedroom provided limited visibility. The bathroom had only one small mirror, which was hanging at the six foot level so not useful for using the hair drier unless you are a basketball player.but the shower worked well. The lighting is very dim and hopeless for reading. The whole place is seriously in need of upgrading and maintenance. We opted to have dinner in the restaurant and it was busy and pleasant and the food was pretty good - just don't order anything breaded or deep fried. A taxi was required to leave the property as there is no provision for pedestrians on the narrow road. However, it is not far to the airport or to the harbour. We were flying out the next day so it was more than adequate for a short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    105
    58
    16
    27
See reviews for
43
160
21
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
387 reviews 387 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way from a charter boat vacation. Located high on the hills above the harbour, the views are absolutely stunning. Our rooms were simple, but comfortable and spacious. The whole property could use a little polish, but the rates are so reasonable one can happily overlook the cosmetics in places. The continental breakfast was good. The pool was clean and lovely. The on-site restaurant provided the best meal we experienced in our three nights in St. Thomas. Overall this place is a find.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a room overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Maine, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

On a hillttop overlooking Charlotte Amalie.Patio with best view--day and night. Friendly helpful service. Excellent restaurant also with great view. Nice pool and bar. Reasonably priced. Early check in most appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laudat
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

we stayed so we could catch our early fligh the next morning. room was comfortable and had a great view of the bay where the cruise ships dock. we enjoyed a wonderful mahi dinner overlooking a beautiful sea view.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our room was clean, the people there were very nice. We sat at the bar for the sunset view. One of the best views on the island. We ate at the bar, instead of the dining room the food was very good. Limited TV channel choices, but for a one night stay, it did not matter. Breakfast was included, coffee was great, numerous choices including, toast,cereal, muffins, hard boiled eggs, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Kisco
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here the night before our cruise ship sailed and it was a great location. The setting is spectacular, the view unbeatable and the restaurant, a great place for dinner. BUT. The deluxe room is nothing special, the amenities are minimal and the air-conditioning puts out tepid air that gets blown around by a ceiling fan. The room was so hot and airless we couldn't sleep. The included breakfast is made by someone other than the excellent chef whose dinner we enjoyed the night before. An English muffin and a very old hardboiled egg were all I could manage. The price is right -- $168 for the room with breakfast -- and if you're just passing through, it would be fine if they fixed the air-conditioning.

Room Tip: Our room with the ocean view would have been great if the A/C worked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed here with my husband, parents and 2 other couples we were traveling with in late December 2012. We did a weeklong bareboat and needed a place to stay the night before we could pick up the boat at the marina. When we made the reservation in the fall, we were only able to get 3 deluxe rooms and 1 regular. By chance, my husband and I ended up in the regular room. It was clean, fairly spacious but nothing special. The deluxe rooms were much nicer. This place is 100% about the view- safe to say one of the best views in st.thomas. We had drinks at the bar when we arrived, which were tasty & a nice welcome. The staff was very helpful with everything we needed. We were only here for about 16 hours, so I can't say much about the pool or food but the view was amazing. It was perfect for what we did, a night before our bareboat, but if I were staying for longer I would have probably wanted something a little more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mafolie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mafolie Hotel

Address: 7091 Estate Mafolie | Mafolie Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mafolie Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Mafolie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mafolie Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Mafolie Charlotte Amalie
Mafolie Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mafolie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.