We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Disappointing but There's Still a Chance with some TLC” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mafolie Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mafolie Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mafolie Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7091 Estate Mafolie | Mafolie Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“So Disappointing but There's Still a Chance with some TLC”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

So - this place has AMAZING panoramic views of St. Thomas and Charlotte Amalie Harbor. The Hotel also has a very nice restaurant and quaint pool, and probably best of all - locals are welcome to use the pool. It is a very nice gesture on their part.

Unfortunately, the owners do not seem to be taking the requisite care of the facilities, and certainly can be doing a better job with their existing amenities.

Nothing would make me happier than to remove this post and replace it with a glowing review when Mafolie gets back to its previous (or better) form.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    104
    55
    17
    27
See reviews for
43
159
20
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Pool is dirty. The tiles are broken and uneven. I thought they were just closed for a month for maintenance?? All I noticed was a new coat of paint that looks like it was thrown on last minute. We were going to have a bite to eat but took a look around and did not really trust the food. It just looks like no one really cares about quality or cleanliness. The view is nice but that is the only thing going for this hotel. You would be better off pulling off to the side of the road and taking a few pictures of the view for free instead of wasting your money here. A note for the pool bar server- maybe take a look around and sweep up the dead roaches right by the grill when you come in to your shift at noon. She came in, took off the locks for the bar, and immediately sat down for a break. She didn't even look around the pool or bathroom. I didnt see her do any food prep or cleaning by the grill. It's just gross! She didn't ask anyone if they needed a drink- she couldn't be bothered. Umbrellas don't work & lounge chairs are falling apart. Mafolie had really gone downhill. Where is the hotel management??

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I really enjoyed the views from the Mafolie. My room was rustic but clean. Food is okay too. WE ate there for two dinners. Complementary breakfast very limited but not bad. Some of the staff was very nice and some not so nice. As for the taxi service, be very wary. We decided to go to secret beach. 7 of us in our family. Mr Wilson's taxi service did not give a discount and it cost $140.00 to go to the beach. $10.00 per person in the same family is ridiculous. I felt Mr Wilson took advantage of us, and I will never use his service again. Overall, the Mafolie has great views and we had a good time.

Room Tip: One that overlooks the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

First off, this place could have possibly the most beautifull view on the island. Especially from the restaurant and the pool. It is just awesome sitting around this property haveing a drink and relaxing.
The rooms are very dated. Don't get me wrong, i was prepared for dated as i checked out Trip Advisor before we arrived. Our air-conditioner seemed to be constantly stuck on 74 degrees. 74 degrees just doesn't work for us. St Thomas is hot! And sleeping is hard to do when you are not cooler.
The staff at the bar and restaurant were as friendly as it gets.
If you are informed about this hotel, then you will be satisfied.
We were.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany NY
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We won this trip at a Silent Auction and when we got there we were so disappointed. The room was hot and dark and dirty! Mattress was hard and fridge didn't work. Breakfast was disappointing-nothing good except the bartender Greg. We left after one night after paying for 5-we went to the Marriott and paid again but well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tias, General Manager at Mafolie Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
In response to great view terrible room:
Your readers should no that The Mafolie Hotel received no compensation for this room and donated it for a charitable cause. The charity valued this gift themselves and obviously the purchaser expected the Marriott. We do not have any intention of competing with the Marriott as we are a small, unique Caribbean hotel with all rooms being different. As to the room being hot the room is air conditioned and did not have a refrigerator. If a refrigerator was in the room it probably just needed to be plugged in. The next time we make a charitable donation we will ask the charity to make it clear that we are not the Marriott but a small, unique Caribbean hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We spent two great nights here. Got a free upgrade with great views of Charlotte Amalie. Wonderful pool for swimming, any time of day or night! Restaurant food, view and service were great. Clean room. Service was impecable, anything you need and always available. Plus they have the two most adorable cats on the premises, never intrusive just enjoying the sun and petting if you're interested. Highly recommended. Just so you know, generally need car, taxi or shuttle to get places.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnville, Maine
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Try not to get dizzy or fall off the mountain while you enjoy incredible views from the POOL or the restaurant at Mafolies. Give thanks for Ellen and your luck as soon as you st down. The continental breakfast are pure, simple, good island fare; coffee, juices, homemade muffins and hard-boiled eggs! - Look at these views...

Room Tip: Get near the POOL!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mafolie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mafolie Hotel

Address: 7091 Estate Mafolie | Mafolie Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mafolie Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mafolie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mafolie Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Mafolie Charlotte Amalie
Mafolie Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mafolie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.