We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very helpful and friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bunker Hill Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bunker Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Bunker Hill Hotel
7A Commandant Gade, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$85 (USD)
seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very helpful and friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My friend and I were moving to st. Thomas and found the Bunker Hill Hotel on Trip Advisor. We heard stories about the neighborhood but found it to be a lovely place. The staff were awesome! They helped us in every aspect from keeping our room open ended in case we couldn't find an apartment right away to directions and useful advice about the island. the price was great comaratively during the high season. They also warned us about the nature of the neighborhood but it was much less dangerous than anyone said. We made friends right away and were very comfortable. The breakfast was fabulous and we met the nicest people at the adjacent tables! Highly recommend!!

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony instead of one of the inner rooms that had kitchens (they let us look a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunker_Hill_Hotel, Manager at Bunker Hill Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you so much SeattleBertie for your kind review! You were a true joy to host. We miss your bubbly personality around here, but are so happy that you were able to find that lovely apartment! Best of luck to you both as you embark on your new adventure here in the Virgin Islands and never forget that you have friends just around the corner. Peace and Blessings to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    19
    8
    6
    7
See reviews for
6
18
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
massachusetts
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We needed an overnight stay in Charlotte Amalie on our way to St. John the next day. Bunker Hill is an interesting little hotel squeezed in to the hillside on Commandant Gade. Great views from our balcony, and A/C felt great! Comfy bed, clean. Nothing fancy but convenient. Free simple breakfast the next morning from their cool breakfast balcony with great views of the harbor. Very nice staff. You will have to walk down to the harbor to find dinner, not many restaurants were open the night we were there. Overall deserves slight better than "average," the cheap rate makes it a "very good."

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunker_Hill_Hotel, Manager at Bunker Hill Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you Freedjum, for the taking the time to review our property. We're glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for your patronage and sincerely hope to have the pleasure of hosting your stay again on any future visits to the Virgin Islands. Happy Holidays to you and may the new year bring you many new blessings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

A local business suggested two different hotels but I came over to TA to see what other options I could find + check reviews on suggested properties. Based on reviews, responses by Hotel Mgt and mixed responses to initial inquires by other possibilities, Bunker Hill became the best choice. I planned to stay 3 nights but had to extend to 5.
My positive review is based on room quality, staff support & friendliness and convenient location.
My room(21) was clean, attractive, functional and without any crawling company.
Alaphia (hope that is correct spelling) was charming, helpful and professional whether it was serving breakfast, at reception or just answering questions. Angela & Carla were also welcoming and helpful.
The hotel does have a number of stairs (so do others in the area) but guests seem to manage. I just separated by bags and made a couple of trips.
The hotel is a couple of blocks up from main shopping street + one more to waterfront. Add one block to the park area adjacent to the Post Office where the taxis/tour operators gather.
There are restaurants/food shop within easy walking distances - even found a vegetarian/vegan - Natural Livity which is a juice bar, take out food shop, the ferry (to BVI) terminal is also walkable. I'm not a shopper & was there for "personal business" so can't comment other than to say I passed lots of them wandering in & out of the stores which are plentiful. A well stocked supermarket is down toward Crown Bay/Sub Base that is walkable (1/2 hr) or take the $1 shared taxi/buses.
Watch out for vehicles (look right) when walking as pedestrians seemed to be invisible to some drivers

Room Tip: Ask about location & view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunker_Hill_Hotel, Manager at Bunker Hill Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Chuteman,

We at the Bunker Hill Hotel would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property. We work very hard here to make all of our guests feel at home and have an enjoyable stay with us, so it's nice to know when we get it right. Your patronage and kind words are appreciated and we hope to be able to host your stay in the USVI on your next visit. We wish you peace and many blessings in this upcoming holiday season and beyond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Bunker Hill Hotel was convenient for my three day stay on St. Thomas. I will definitely be staying there again. The location is right in the middle of all the shopping areas and it was a fun experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunker_Hill_Hotel, Manager at Bunker Hill Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review KDeisha W. You were a joy to have and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Peace and Blessings to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We needed a room for our night in Charlotte Amalie before departing for Tortola, and then we needed a room after returning from Tortola, before our return flight home, and this was the perfect place, especially if you are on a budget and want a short taxi ride to the airport. Very affordable, wonderful staff, great location. The rooms are modest but clean and they are large by modern hotel standards. Two small swimming pools, and great rooftop views of the streets below. Nice breakfast in the morning. There are a lot of steps to climb, especially with heavy luggage, so if that is an issue for you, you might want to ask in advance if the staff can help with that. There are not a lot of restaurants nearby that are open for dinner -- so map that out in advance. You'd probably be best off by walking down to the pier, about three blocks away, where all the shops are for the folks on the cruise ships. Plenty of fun, local restaurants open for lunch, but these places close at 5 pm. The staff here are among the nicest, most accommodating I've ever experienced. We did not visit the beach while in St. Thomas -- so I don't know how far or what the arrangements would be to get to the beaches. As with anything in the Virgin Islands, I am sure it can be worked out!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view! If you like "local vibe" type of places, you will like this one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunker_Hill_Hotel, Manager at Bunker Hill Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Travelhappy919,
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We really appreciate your business and look forward to hosting your stay on your next visit to our beautiful Islands. Peace and blessings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed recently at the Bunker Hill Hotel for 3 nights. It is a few blocks from the duty free shops. An easy walk. Our stay included a tour up to Mountain Top. Don't miss this. The views are wonderful. Our room with balcony was spacious and very clean. Breakfast was also included. Staff was friendly and helpful. We considered it it a good choice.

Room Tip: Choose one with a balcony
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Bunker Hill Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Seniors_12,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. It really means a lot to us that you enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed hosting you and M. You were a pleasure to have and we do hope that if you ever make it back to St. Thomas, that you will once again do us the honor of staying with us here at Bunker Hill Hotel. Blessings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, md
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Great BNB choice for our overnight before sailing excursion. Staff made us feel at home. Free beakfast was a plus. So close to ferry dock, we walked it. Will be back next year!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Bunker Hill Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for your kind review Christie B! It was a pleasure to have you as well! We hope you had a wonderful sailing excursion! We're looking forward to seeing you again next year and will take excellent care of you on your return. Blessings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bunker Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunker Hill Hotel

Also Known As:
Bunker Hill Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Address: 7A Commandant Gade, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bunker Hill Hotel is a unique cozy, affordable and clean Bed & Breakfast Inn located in the Historic District area of Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas.Come and enjoy our serene and comfortable accommodations. From our balconies and common areas enjoy a breathtaking view of the Downtown Harbor & surrounding hillsides, dotted with charming Seventeenth Century Danish Architecture including the Governor's Mansion.We are conveniently located just a few minutes walking distance to many points of interest such as:* Government House* The 99 Steps* The 17th Century Fort Museum* Second oldest Jewish synagogue in the western hemisphere* Duty-Free Shops* Restaurants* Downtown Main Street* Parks* St. John - Charlotte Amalie ferry* Tortola - Virgin Gorda Ferry Dock* Emancipation Garden* Market Square (Rothschild Francis)Whether for pleasure, relaxation or business, this is the place to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick and Travelocity so you can book your Bunker Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bunker Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.