We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8070 Lindbergh Bay | West, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Cranbury, New Jersey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Intimate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Small. Nice. Clean. Simple. (this is NOT an all-inclusive resort) We were here January 2013. We really enjoyed the calm beach that's in a bay. It is very close to the airport and convenient. Friendly and available hospitality. Ample parking if you rent a car. Tiny reception area, but that's all that is needed. Outdoor pool and bar. Shady areas under trees towards the end of the beach. We didn't snorkel but watched folks swimming back and forth snorkeling. Restaurants available if you don't want to leave the property. Open air taxis readily available to take you into town!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
We truly appreciate our Repeat Guests that come back to enjoy Emerald Beach Resort again and again! It is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay here and we appreciate your review to let others know of your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!

Welcome to the Emerald Beach Family!

Sincerely,

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    286
    134
    79
    51
See reviews for
155
289
36
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Bluff, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

A big thank you to all the staff, especially Jebediah and Ryan, our two favorite bartenders :) for taking such good care of us. The resort and beach is gorgeous and we all had a wonderful time. Everything was very clean and the food was excellent. The perfect place for a wedding! I would definitely recommend it for a wedding destination or just a relaxing vacation.
Carla Jasinski
Aunt of the bride

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view of the beach and Lindbergh Bay. There are 3 floors so if you don't li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
It was our pleasure to welcome the Baxter Wedding Party to wonderful Emerald Beach Resort for a Very Special Occasion! We certainly enjoyed having you and look forward to welcoming you all back at some time in the future! Thanks again!

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Didn't have our prepaid reservation in their system. Full beds instead of a King and roll out and would not change our room. Bar and pool was just under our room......NOISY NOISY. NOISY. Constantly killing mosquitos in our room which were probably coming thru the gap at the top of our door. Had to call hotel lobby 2 consecutive days to get towels as ours were not replaced. The best part about this place is the resident kitty they have. Concierge and staff seem overwhelmed with work.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
My name is Linda Mason and I am a Sales Manager at Emerald Beach Resort. I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Emerald Beach. We do take our reviews very seriously and are always looking to improve our guests’ experiences and our Customer Service.

We also try our best to accommodate our guest’s room choices if at all possible. We do have a hard working staff and our front desk agents are always willing to assist you with any problems that you may be having. I am also available to discuss your recent visit if you would like.

Sincerely,

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Wow, where to begin!!!! It was all around a great 8 day stay at this Best Western property! From check-in to check-out, the service was great. We booked this property 10 months ago for our destination wedding which took place at the end of June 2013. Linda Mason, wedding planner, and her staff were phenomenal! They were attentive to our needs the whole 10 months of planning and the whole time we were at the Resort! Our day could not have been more perfect....the setting, the food, the cake, the flowers, the photographer Mick Kollins, the bartenders, etc.! We had 44 guests and everyone had a great time at the wedding and at the Resort itself. No one in our whole party had any complaints about anyone or anything associated with the Resort. The pictures provided by the Resort are accurate. It is a hidden gem definitely worth staying at. We had read comments about the airplanes, but they are barely noticeable. There are only a handful of big jets taking off/landing each day, and we were not bothered by it at all. It was fun watching the planes take off/land. The rooms are quite spacious and very quiet...we heard nothing at all in the evenings. The A/C works wonderful as well! The balconies opening up to the water/beach are absolutely breathtaking. The Bay that the Resort sits in is a beautiful, secluded, and soft sanded beach. Linda, Jewel (at the front desk), and everyone provided a welcoming place for our friends and family. We will definitely stay at this Resort when we return to St. Thomas! Thank you Emerald Beach for making our wedding and vacation a very beautiful and memorable event!!!

Room Tip: Building 3 and 4, 2nd and 3rd floors are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
It was definitely our pleasure to assist you and your guests for your Wedding Stay! Thank you for your wonderful review and we do appreciate the time you took to write it.

I am so pleased that you and your guests enjoyed your stay with us at Emerald Beach Resort! Your Wedding was beautiful and I was thrilled to be a part of your Very Special Day!! You all hold a very special place in our Emerald Beach Hearts and we definitely look forward to your return visits!!!!

Sincerely,

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Wedding Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I booked two nights at the hotel for my last days before flying home. I picked it simply because of the proximity to the airport. On arriving the beauty of the hotel location is shocking. (I was told the beach is one of the better on the islands). The hotel is a little way outside of downtown, but there are plenty of taxis waiting to take you anywhere. I was lucky enough to get a room on the water side of the hotel and I was just blown away by the view. Definitely try to get a water view. Best Western should use this hotel in all their ads just by the location alone. The rooms were clean and tropical. It was maybe even a step above the other Best Westerns I have visited. Right off the beach is a restaurant and beach bar. When we checked in we got a voucher for free drinks at the bar and used it promptly fro a rum punch (not my normal drink of choice, but hey it’s a vacation). The bar and restaurant food was average or a little above, but I was disappointed in the fact that the restaurant became Italian for dinner; if I’m in St. Thomas I don’t want Italian food. Then again it is so easy to get into town so you are not limited to eating at the hotel. Overall it was a great experience and better than some tropical resorts I have visited.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your recent visit to Emerald Beach Resort! We do have a beautiful location on a spectacular beach! ALL OF THE ROOMS at Emerald Beach Resort are Beachfront rooms and offer the fabulous view of the Beach and the Caribbean Sea that you so enjoyed! The menu at Portobello’s does have an Italian Theme but offers a variety of menu choices! Our Beach Bar has a wonderful menu that is also always available for your convenience!

We thank you for taking the time to write your review and do look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to St. Thomas!

Sincerely,

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We only stayed at the Best Western Plus Emerald Beach for one night, but it was enough.

For the week prior, we were sailing with family in the British Virgin Islands, so we picked this hotel because of it's proximity to the airport, which we were flying out of the next day. For sure, this is a pro. Another plus is that the rooms were spacious and laid with tile to keep things clean and had a nice balcony.

However, the rest of the resort is quite odd. Our room was on the first floor but there was a walkway and some stairs to our room that we had to maneuver with our luggage was not enjoyable. There wasn't room service, so we checked out the restaurant/bar for lunch, dinner and breakfast the next morning. It wasn't that the food was bad, but the prices were obnoxiously overpriced and the ambiance was awkward. When you walk in you feel like it's the deserted restaurant from Jurassic Park.

The same day we checked in we got a chance to play in the ocean property they have, as well as check out the pool. While we enjoyed seeing planes fly out every 10 minutes or so, you can get the picture that this area isn't the quintessential image of a tropical vacation. Likewise, the pool was fairly small and was crowded on the Saturday we flew out.

Based on our experience, the resort wasn't accommodating, was understaffed and was overall an expensive place to stay just for getting to the airport quickly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We have many guests who choose us when traveling to neighboring islands because of our convenient location near the airport and the Downtown Ferry Terminal. We have a wonderful location and a beautiful beach with every room having a spectacular view!

We do not offer room service, but The Palms and our Beach Bar are open from 11:00 am to 10:00 pm for your convenience! We do offer a varied menu and our restaurant and bar are open air, overlooking the beach; just a few steps from the water’s edge. Our prices are some of the best on the Island and it is always our goal to offer our guests a Great Value for their money!

We have many guests that choose us for their tropical vacations and we also have our sister resort, Carib Beach Resort, that is next door offering an informal and more affordable option.
.
Sincerely,


Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I wasn't expecting much when we booked a night at the Best Western Emerald Beach the day before we flew out of St. Thomas. The hotel was close to the airport so it made sense. But what a hidden gem! Right on a beautiful cove with white sand beach, nice pool and best of all - the killer beach bar. Jeb and Ryan, the two bartenders, were a blast to party with. We ended up stayin at the bar, eating, and enjoying the sunset for the rest of the night. Best spot to go for the price!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at Emerald Beach Resort! We do have a wonderful staff both in the restaurant and throughout the Resort! Our location is spectacular and we do hear quite often that we are the “Hidden Gem” of St Thomas!

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Emerald Beach on your next visit!

Sincerely,

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach

Address: 8070 Lindbergh Bay | West, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 100% beachfront resort on St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands! Tucked into sun-splashed Lindbergh Bay on the Island of St. Thomas, the beautifully appointed Best Western Emerald Beach Resort welcomes guests with the gracious look, style and service of the Virgin Islands' rich heritage. BIG King Size Beds and Spectacular Views from EVERY ROOM! FREE High Speed Internet Access. Flat Screen TVs with Cable TV, 100% Beachfront Views with Balcony and Adjustable air-conditioning. Surrounded by landscaped gardens, cascading waterfalls and lush tropical settings, the Emerald Beach Resort offers a central, convenient location close to the airport, shopping, championship golf and all of St. Thomas's great activities and adventures. With the bounty of land and sea captured in stunning views, it's the perfect place for a memorable vacation. Or an unforgettable wedding, meeting or corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Emerald Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Best Western St Thomas
Best Western Emerald Beach Resort
St. Thomas Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.