We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way overpriced.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8070 Lindbergh Bay | West, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Cruz Bay, St. John
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Way overpriced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The check in was fast. The room was pleasant. But....not worth $288! OVERPRICED. The floor in our bedroom was full of dust and dirt. The bottoms of my feet got filthy walking barefoot in the room. The bed itself was comfortable and the bedding quality was very good as well as clean. The bathroom tub took forever to fill up, but there was water hot enough to bath in (just). The Internet did not work the entire time we were there. The location is excellent, as it is within a 2 minute drive to the airport.

Room Tip: There are no elevators, and there are stairs, so if mobility is an issue ask for a downstairs room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review about your recent stay at Emerald Beach Resort. We do have a wonderful staff here at Emerald Beach; very friendly, welcoming and professional. Our housekeeping staff works hard to keep our Resort clean and orderly for all of our Guests enjoyment. The front desk staff is available 24/7 and is always willing to do their best to assist you while you are staying with us.

Our ultimate goal at Emerald Beach is to provide a High Quality Resort at the Best Value that we can. We offer some of the best room rates on the Island. We also have our Sister Resort, “Carib Beach” for those wanting a more informal and Ocean View Room at a lower price point.

We test our internet daily to make sure that it is in working order and offer assistance to anyone that may be having difficulties connecting to the Wireless Internet. We offer free WIFI for all of our guests which encompasses our entire Resort!

We do hope that you will visit us again when you find yourself traveling to St Thomas in the future and please feel free to contact me should you need any further assistance.

Sincerely,

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    312
    144
    82
    53
See reviews for
165
309
41
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Ive been to this hotel 3 times. I am not a person who stays in my room and I appreciate the basics. That being said, Emerald Beach Best Western Plus is a great choice. The rooms are clean, bathrooms updated and staff seems pleasant. I have never had a problem. It is a bit of a walk to the center of town but very convenient to the airport. (10 min walk). There was always an open air cab to take you wherever you wanted although we preferred to walk. The rooms have a mini fridge, super cool a/c. You are literally on the beach so you do not have to go too far for some sun. Lounge chairs could use a little upgrading but all in all definitely a place I will visit again. I would like to note that although it is very close to the airport the big planes all basically leave within a short window and then they are done. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for submitting your review for you recent stay at Emerald Beach Resort! We are all about location... location... location... and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We do have a wonderful beachfront location, white sandy beaches, and the beautiful turquoise waters of the Caribbean Sea.

Having Happy Guests is always important to us at Emerald Beach and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to beautiful St. Thomas!

Sincerely,

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We went to this hotel for the use of its beach from a day trip from a cruise ship. Though we didn't stay in the hotel I feel my experience is worth noting.

I found Emerald beach to be tooo quiet. ..well except for the occasional plane gearing down after being on the the airstrip. The airport area is behind the hotel .
I'm a 50 yr old woman with hubby and kids. We don't drink or smoke, so we wernt expecting a party atmosphere,but it was awkward. Though we paid for the chairs and umbrella ,we felt like we were invading the hotel beach, and there weren't many even there. To top it off I had a grilled chicken sandwich from their restaurant and got terrible food poisoning. I was sick for the next three days! It ruined our vacation. I phoned and was given terrible treatment and basically told I cant prove it was them . They were denying all even before they knew the dates when I had been there. The hotel chain is so inconsistent with standards its a shame. For the price they are charging per night in high season you will feel probably feel ripped off.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
You stated in your first sentence that you were not a guest staying at our Resort and were at Emerald Beach for only a few hours, yet you have taken the liberty of advising other travelers about our rates, our hotel rooms and our location. We do welcome Cruise Ship Guests at our Beach and Resort for a few hours while they are in St. Thomas. Many of our day visitors come back to stay with us at Emerald beach Resort because of the quality of our services, the location and atmosphere of our Resort, and the quality of our food.

We do follow the strictest cleanliness and food service guidelines at our Restaurant and Beach Bar. We did serve lunch to dozens of people on the day that your were at Emerald Beach Resort. We also had very high occupancy at our Hotel during that entire week. We did not receive one other complaint or report of any type concerning our food that entire week.

We feel that food poisoning is a very serious accusation and do not take any report like this lightly. Food poisoning can be triggered immediately after consuming a meal or can take up to 72 hours for symptoms to occur and is usually widespread. Pinpointing our Resort as the cause of your illness is unfair in our estimation. Again, we do not take this lightly, and we do take pride in our Resort and the food we offer and serve to all of our Guests.

Sincerely,

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I only spent one night here but the staff was friendly and helpful. The bartender was great at the beach bar. He was a good sport and literally gave the shirt off his back to a guest that really wanted it. You do need to take a cab even though it isn't that far from the airport but way too far to walk hauling bags. I was a bit unhappy with the taxi price and later found that they are suppose to charge a specific price. If you pick up the free local tourist guide it is very helpful and includes what you need to know about the taxi's and ferries. The guides are located in the lobby of this hotel. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The pool is actually very clean and fun as well. There are a couple of kool kind of modern style hammocks near the pool that are worth trying to get to the pool early to claim! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review of Emerald Beach Resort. We are pleased that you enjoyed our friendly and helpful staff members and the quality and cleanliness of our rooms! Our goal is to always provide the best service and quality at the best price that we can!

The hammocks by the pool are truly a wonderful spot to enjoy a few leisurely hours!

Thank you for allowing us to be of service to you and please visit us again at Emerald Beach Resort!

Sincerely,

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

If you are visiting St Thomas and want to explore, this is a great place to stay. It's close to everything you need on the Island. You may want to rent a car to get over the Island, use Amalie Car Rental, they will set you up and they are better priced than the Nationally know car rentals. This Best Western is all ocean front rooms, pool, restauant. Best rooms are on the top floor, we feel. All of the rooms are the same. Front desk is very helpful. The grounds are tropical. You can see and hear the plans in the afternoon but not at night. Sunsets are great and the water is wonderful. No fuss, simple place to stay but you should be here for the Island and not all the glitz of a New York Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
It was our recent pleasure to have you stay with us at Emerald Beach Resort and we do want to thank you for your TripAdvisor Review. We do take all of our reviews seriously and are constantly working to improve and upgrade our wonderful Caribbean Resort.
I am glad that you enjoyed our location on the beach, the spectacular views from our rooms, and the wonderful sunsets that we have here at Emerald Beach. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Emerald Beach when your travels bring you to St, Thomas in the future.

Sincerely,

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Town, Elbow Cay
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had a quick overnight stop in St.Thomas before joining a cruise. The hotel is 3 star and served our needs well. Based on some suggestions from this site we decided to walk to the hotel with our luggage but it's a lot further than it appears on Google Earth and I would not do that again.
The room was clean but there were small items amiss such as pictures falling off the wall etc. - nothing major. There was a spacious balcony overlooking the narrow stretch of beach which was very pleasant.
Had cocktails and a pasta dinner at the beach bar. Service was friendly and prompt.
Would stay here again when we are back in St. Thomas.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
I want to personally thank you for taking the time to write your recent review for Emerald Beach Resort. It was nice to hear that you enjoyed our friendly service and the view from your Room! Our goal is to offer the friendliest service, the best quality at an affordable price! We do hope that you will consider us next time when your travel needs bring you to St, Thomas.

Sincerely,

Linda Mason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was born & raised on St. Thomas, so I know every beach and most of the hotels. However, I haven't been home in a while, so this hotel was new to me. It was the perfect choice: the property is beautiful, the views from the rooms are breathtaking and the location was excellent! It's close to town, and a short drive to the east end or any beach...but why would you need to go to any other when this is literally right outside your window? I know that some people mentioned airplane noise as an issue, but I barely registered the planes coming & going. They got the vibe just right as a spot to relax, on the beach or at the bar.

Particular praise to the staff for being amazing. They were genuinely friendly and went out of their way to help with requests. Giselle & Shani at the front desk; Tony, Morgan & Jebediah at the bar and beautiful ladies in the restaurant made my stay so happy that this is the only hotel I can imagine choosing for future visits.

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach-what's not to love? The only tiny thing is that there's no elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach

Address: 8070 Lindbergh Bay | West, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 100% beachfront resort on St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands! Tucked into sun-splashed Lindbergh Bay on the Island of St. Thomas, the beautifully appointed Best Western Emerald Beach Resort welcomes guests with the gracious look, style and service of the Virgin Islands' rich heritage. BIG King Size Beds and Spectacular Views from EVERY ROOM! FREE High Speed Internet Access. Flat Screen TVs with Cable TV, 100% Beachfront Views with Balcony and Adjustable air-conditioning. Surrounded by landscaped gardens, cascading waterfalls and lush tropical settings, the Emerald Beach Resort offers a central, convenient location close to the airport, shopping, championship golf and all of St. Thomas's great activities and adventures. With the bounty of land and sea captured in stunning views, it's the perfect place for a memorable vacation. Or an unforgettable wedding, meeting or corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Emerald Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Best Western St Thomas
Best Western Emerald Beach Resort
St. Thomas Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.