We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8070 Lindbergh Bay | West, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get up to 20% off
Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Ok hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Was an okay experience. Food is overprized for the quality, but it is convenient. My room didnt had towels. When I realized it, around 10:30pm, I called the frot desk and the lady said she was the onlynight shift and that she couldnt bring me towels. She said I needed to stop by to pick beach towels by the front desk because she was by herself. Next morning the manager and I hada chat.

Room Tip: Get higher floor rooms for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
I do appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We do take all of these reviews seriously and are very interested in our guests satisfaction. These reviews help us to make continued improvements at Emerald Beach Resort. We work hard to provide the best service and quality at the best price that we can for our guests. I hope that you will visit us again when your travels bring you back to St. Thomas!

Sincerely,

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    332
    154
    85
    53
See reviews for
176
327
42
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel was nice, the staff was very friendly and courteous, the rooms were clean, cool and comfortable with great views, and the beach was great! The food and drinks were good – nothing over the top, but decent.
Yes, the airport is close – but it didn’t bother us.
All in all, it’s a great place to relax and enjoy the beach…I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on at least the 2nd floor (away from the bar/restaurant) with an ocean front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Paradise still exists about a ten minute walk from the airport. Lindbergh Bay is steps away from your departure from the airport. Yup Jebadiah is still there minus his blond dreds but still there with an added attraction 1 young lady by the name of Megan who is the most polite person I have ever met. Yeah to the folks who hired her. U get a well prepared drink expiditiously with a smile N a thank you for ordering!! W O W. Staff is perfected in the personage of one Ms. Tiffany (a shout out to you and your son.) Manager, Ms. Lake is right there to solve what you percieve as a problem. I've been a few places N it don't get much better than this.
See you guys soon, real soon. Check out Greg, the Chairman of the Beach Chairs, another one at your service all the time.

Room Tip: higher floors have less noise. tho, only 3 stories high
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
I truly appreciate your wonderful review of Emerald Beach Resort. We love to be the home away from home for our many Repeat Guests! It appears that you know many of the Emerald Beach Staff and we are grateful to have you as one of our guests and as an Emerald Beach family member!!

Sincerely

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This trip was booked after my hubby couldn't get a passport. It was the best screw up ever. The beach was absolutely amazing. In comparison to the other beaches on the island, this was by far the cleanest and most spectacular. Other reviews mentioned the airport being close by. Didnt bother us at all. We went for a romantic getaway and got just that. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was pleasant. The balcony was our best place to be. No problem with bugs or anything. Just great experience. I came back pregnant with my first child. Love was in the air and in the water. :) Side note: Bring your own flotation devices - you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Take a room on the second floor. It overlooks the beach and the trees and shrubbary will not block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
I am so happy that you had such a wonderful romantic getaway and found our resort to be just what you were looking for! Congratulations to you both! It looks like our Emerald Beach Family is growing!

Sincerely,

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Elgin, IL USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The beach is beautiful, white sand & clear water. Best of all it is not crowded. The hotel is clean with comfortable mattresses. The staff is very freindly. We were a little confused with the restaurants. There is a beach bar with burgers and such. The other restaurant is the Plams for breakfast and lunch. Dinner it is the same restaurant but it is called Portabellos. Breakfast was awesome great banana pancakes and breakfast potatoes. Portabellos for dinner was excellent but a little pricey at $25- $30 per meal. We took the local dollar bus several times, the people are very freindly. Make sure to say "Good Morning" and "Good Afternoon". We met a tour guide on St.Thomas named Juan DeLeon he took us on a 3 hour tour for $80 for four of us. He was very nice and family oriented. He can be reached at 340-642-7257. The other tour guides wanted around $50 each. The airport is close but there are not many flights in and out, and we never heard any after 8:00. It was actually neat to be in the ocean and see and hear the planes take off and arrive. We would stay here again as we really enjoyed the resort. It was a more middle age resort. No late night partying and people were up early in the ocean and running on the beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
I am pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay at Emerald Beach Resort and found our staff friendly, our location beautiful, our food and service wonderful! You will have to try "Fajita's", the restaurant located at our Sister Resort, Carib Beach Resort. We provide shuttle service between the two resorts for your convenience. It seems that you found our Island Paradise very friendly and welcoming and even enjoyed our customary island greetings! We look forward to welcoming you back to Emerald Beach on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essington,pa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Emerald Beach resort is situated in a nice but not crowded beach with pristine waters with lounge chairs always avaliable.The hotel has spacious,clean,confortable rooms all facing the beach.The atmosphere is very friendly and relaxing starting at the reception desk,bar ,restaurant right down to the room attendants.The hotel also has a swimming pool,gym and wifi a true paradise looking forward to go back to this very nice experience
All under the guidance of the dynamic manager mr Joel Kling

Room Tip: all rooms have excellet view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
I am thrilled that you found your stay with us relaxing and enjoyable. We want our guests to truly enjoy a unique Caribbean experience when visiting us. Thanks again for taking the time to write such a wonderful review and Welcome to the Emerald Beach Family!

Sincerely,

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We decided to spend our first night in the USVI at the Emerald Beach instead of our target destination, due a late flight, and were pleasantly surprised by the hotel and , even moreso, the restaurant. The hotel is across the road from the STT airport runway, so the ride from the airport is not a chore. The scheduled flights generally are before 9 pm, so airplane noise is no big deal.
The hotel is 2 floors facing a pretty beach and bay, with a beautiful sunset in the evening. No elevator, but the bell service is fine. If you are limited in walking, the stairs will be a challenge.

The room had a flat screen tv with limited channel selection; weather channel was helpful The A/C worked fine, but blew directly onto the bed area. Bathroom was adequate. Front desk people very helpful and friendly. Balcony overlooked the beach. Room seemed clean.

The restaurant was way better than expected. Mahi, mussels, duck were ordered by our group and were very good. The waiter much better than expected. The restaurant was full at 8 pm, apparently will a sizable proportion of diners from other locales.

We had some concerns about possible security issues, but there were none.
Our traveling companions' room overlooked the bar area, which might have been problematic on a Saturday night, but was no problem on the Wed we were there.

So, if approx $250/night is appealing to you , I would recommend this place. We will likely do this again on our next trip to USVI.

Room Tip: if they will agree to do it, request a room on the second floor away from the bar area if stairs ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review for Emerald Beach Resort. I am pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location as well as our wonderful Beach and Restaurant! We strive to provide the best food and service at the best price that we can and look forward to your next visit with us at Emerald Beach!

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach

Address: 8070 Lindbergh Bay | West, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 100% beachfront resort on St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands! Tucked into sun-splashed Lindbergh Bay on the Island of St. Thomas, the beautifully appointed Best Western Emerald Beach Resort welcomes guests with the gracious look, style and service of the Virgin Islands' rich heritage. BIG King Size Beds and Spectacular Views from EVERY ROOM! FREE High Speed Internet Access. Flat Screen TVs with Cable TV, 100% Beachfront Views with Balcony and Adjustable air-conditioning. Surrounded by landscaped gardens, cascading waterfalls and lush tropical settings, the Emerald Beach Resort offers a central, convenient location close to the airport, shopping, championship golf and all of St. Thomas's great activities and adventures. With the bounty of land and sea captured in stunning views, it's the perfect place for a memorable vacation. Or an unforgettable wedding, meeting or corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Emerald Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Best Western St Thomas
Best Western Emerald Beach Resort
St. Thomas Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.