We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will go back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8070 Lindbergh Bay | West, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“We will go back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The rooms are clean, beautiful beach, amazing view. SUNSETS! We enjoyed the beach bar. Chairs and umbrellas on the beach. Close to airport and that was a big plus for us. Only down side was we had two days we had to call the front desk to turn the hot water back on. They did take care of it right away. We will go back on our next trip to St Thomas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We are so pleased that you will visit us again at Emerald Beach Resort. Thank you for your review and know that our goal is to provide the best service and the best view, at the best price!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    273
    128
    72
    49
See reviews for
144
272
34
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guthrie, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent 5 nights here the week before Christmas. The trip was planned rather last minute. Got a pretty good rate since I think it is a slow week for them. The room was OK, pretty basic. Clean, no bugs, and no problems with the bathroom, TV or internet service. The best part was the view from the balcony of the beach, lagoon, and surrounding hillside. The sea water was beautiful. The temperature was around 85 - 90 with low humidity. We spent most of the time laying on the beach during the day. The hotel is just across the street from the airport runway, so you will hear the occasional roar during take-off and landing, but it only lasts a few seconds and wasn't that frequent. The beach itself was very nice and clean with no rocks. It is a public beach, but the hotel provides complimentary lounge chairs and built in thatched umbrellas for the guests. We always got out early and staked out a nice spot. People from the cruise ships did come by, but it never got overly crowded. The sea water was comfortably warm for swimming. Being in a lagoon there was very little surf.

Drinks at the bar were kind of pricey, but the food wasn't and was also good. There is another bar a hundred yards down the beach at a neighboring hotel that had less costly drinks. The bar there was more rustic. There is also a convenience store about a half mile walk up the road which is where we bought most of our alcohol and snacks. The first day we just walked up the road with an empty suitcase and shoulder bag and loaded up with water, juice, beer, rum, snacks, etc. After that I made one daily run for more beer. There was a mini fridge in the room to keep the beer cold, and we would ice them down four at a time and take them out to the beach. Luckily the room and ice maker were just off the beach, so running back for refills was not a problem. We only used the swimming pool a couple of times, but it was nice, also.

The only real negative is the distance from shopping and other restaurants. We went in twice. The first time we went in early. We caught the local open air bus by the convenience store and rode into town for $1 each. The next time we went in late in the afternoon and took a cab. It was $6 each. Shopping closes down early, around 5:00, so if you want to shop, go in the morning or early afternoon. A good restaurant in town is called Greengos. Its only been open for a few months. Its in an alley across from the main harbor where the cruise ships port. Had a great drink for two called a "beergarita" which is a Margarita with a beer bottle turned upside down that adds beer to the glass as you draw liquid through your straw. We sat outside so that drew a lot of attention from people passing by in the alley. We also found a great tapas bar in the same area (can't remember the name). We sat at their bar in the alley and had drinks and tapas, and had great conversation with their bartender named Spanky.

Room Tip: Request a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Emerald Beach and want to thank you for your review. We do have a spectacular location and the beach is one of the nicest on the island. Please think of us when your travels bring you back to the US Virgin Islands
Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was very pleased with the hotel and will definately return. Clean rooms, good food and drinks at the beachside bar, great service. The beach is clean and the water is crystal clear. Great views from the room. Within walking distance of the airport, but never heard a single airplane in the room - very quite. Only negative is that it is a short taxi ride to the city and tourist areas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate the time and effort it takes to right each and every review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and I agree that Emerald Beach is in a beautiful location with an amazing beach for our guests to enjoy. I hope that when your travel plans bring you back to St. Thomas that you will choose to stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Emerald Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

One of the worst trips of my life. I had to move rooms 3 times due to bugs and just dirty rooms in general, with things not working in them. Staff practically rolled their eyes and looked at me in disbelief. Not worth the money spent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Our goal is provide our guests with the best accommodations and service that we possibly can at all times. We do take all of our reviews seriously, both the good and the bad. We strive at all times to maintain a clean and comfortable resort where are guests are treated with respect in a friendly and professional manner. I apologize that we did not live up to our promise on your recent visit. Please feel free to contact me to discuss your recent experience further.

Sincerely,

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Our family of 8 spent a night here before heading out on a charter to the BVI. Rooms were good and clean and managed to get rooms in same bldng block. Had drinks at pool bar and dinner at restaurant and food was nice. Breakfast had a good selection. Beach was nice to swim and a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us in St. Thomas. We do have a wonderful setting here at Emerald Beach and glad that you had time to enjoy it after your sailing trip! Thanks again for taking the time to write your review as we are always looking to our customers feedback to help us to always improve our guests satisfaction.

Thank you,

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Emerald Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here after 10 days of sailing and beaching in the BVI's. Comfy beds and great showers, with lots of towels and big TV. Great after a week of "roughing it" on the boat. Good food, would be nice if breakfast buffet was complimentary but overall a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for staying Emerald Beach Resort and we do appreciate the time you took in writing about your recent visit. Our goal is to provide wonderful service and food at an affordable price! I am so glad that you had an enjoyable time at Emerald Beach and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to St. Thomas.

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Emerald Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moravia, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a 6 day/5 night stay in St. Thomas and we were very pleased with the hotel. It's just short distance from the airport. The facilities are well maintained and all the rooms face the bay. The desk clerks were very helpful, the cleaning staff top notch and the beach bar can't be beat. It's not the Ritz, but then again we didn't expect it to be. We plan to return again next year and will definitely be staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: We asked for a ground floor room - and we were not 30 feet from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Emerald Beach Resort. I am so glad that you enjoyed our wonderful rooms and customer service. We love to welcome back our repeat guests and look forward to when your future travel plans bring you back to our wonderful resort!

Thank you,

Linda Mason
Emerald Beach Resort
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach

Also Known As:
Best Western Emerald Beach Hotel
Best Western Emerald Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Best Western St Thomas
St Thomas Best Western
Best Western Emerald Beach Resort
Best Western St. Thomas
St. Thomas Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Address: 8070 Lindbergh Bay | West, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 100% beachfront resort on St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands! Tucked into sun-splashed Lindbergh Bay on the Island of St. Thomas, the beautifully appointed Best Western Emerald Beach Resort welcomes guests with the gracious look, style and service of the Virgin Islands' rich heritage. BIG King Size Beds and Spectacular Views from EVERY ROOM! FREE High Speed Internet Access. Flat Screen TVs with Cable TV, 100% Beachfront Views with Balcony and Adjustable air-conditioning. Surrounded by landscaped gardens, cascading waterfalls and lush tropical settings, the Emerald Beach Resort offers a central, convenient location close to the airport, shopping, championship golf and all of St. Thomas's great activities and adventures. With the bounty of land and sea captured in stunning views, it's the perfect place for a memorable vacation. Or an unforgettable wedding, meeting or corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.