We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option for a quick visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8070 Lindbergh Bay | West, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Miami
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great option for a quick visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel doesn't look like much from the roadside, however open your balcony drapes and all of that is forgotten. You're virtually on the sand of a beautiful beach. Very close to the airport, and town is a few miles away (traffic can make that still longer than it should)

Rooms are a little tired but maintained, bathrooms are clean and well kept, and the staff is very approachable and friendly.

Too bad this was all work and no play.

Room Tip: No elevators so 2nd floor is best compromise of no-noise but few stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Emerald Beach Resort. We do take the time to read and respond to the reviews that our customers write. We are always working to improve our property and our customer service and your feedback helps to do just that. Thank you again and we hope that you will come back and visit us next time your travels bring you to St. Thomas!

Linda Mason
Sales Manager
Emerald Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    284
    133
    78
    51
See reviews for
154
285
35
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
campton, nh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We've stayed at Emerald Beach a couple times as a stopover on the way to the BVI. We did the same on our way to rent a sailboat in October and then tried Bolongo Beach on our way back and have decided that we won't stay elsewhere again.

The rooms at Emerald Beach are fine although nothing spectacular but the views are very nice. Now having experienced another beach on St. Thomas, I realize just how nice Emerald Beach is. It's a nice long beach with great swimming and plenty of room to play. The pool is gorgeous with a waterfall and a nearby bar. The restaurant, though a bit pricey, is also nice and the food is good. I wouldn't go to Emerald Beach for a vacation as there are still nicer places in the Caribbean but if you fly into St. Thomas and can't get a ferry until the next day, Emerald Beach is pretty perfect. It's walking distance from the airport though you'll want to get a cab if you have heavy luggage and it's a short cab ride to the ferry.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was nice but this review is about their restaurant, The Palm. If you want a well cooked, big, juicy, tasty steak, well the Palm has it! Bartenders were good, and they had a great pancake breakfast! But the steak there is, by far, the star.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here in order to avoid an early ferry ride over from St. John. So happy we were stranded on St. John for one of the two nights that we were supposed to be here. We arrived and read through the security measures...holy cow! Don't answer your door to hotel service without calling the front desk first to verify...on and on. We couldn't get our safe to work, so the front desk said that they would send someone. No one came, so we carried our valuables around the hotel. We also asked for more towels as there were only two in the room for 4 people. Had to go up to the front desk a couple of times before getting more towels. The bathroom had been remodeled in earth tones which hid some of the dirt. The outlets, etc. were all dirty. The worst part was finding a hair ball on the floor of the bathroom along with some scattered hairs. The linens were worn and stained. The beds uncomfortable. So happy to leave the next morning.

Room Tip: Get an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Back home and missing our Carribean get away St. Thomas is beautiful and the people were great. At the BW Emerald Beach Resort we want to let you know you're gonna love it, especially the following great staff; Front desk Sharene is a joy everytime you need anything, at the beach side bar you're in good hands with Tony, Andy, & Zac (great tunes to chill and have a burger, etc...The Monday night Rum Punch social was a lot of fun and we met lots of great people from all over. Note: Water pressure maybe an issue, we used the half flush on the toilet and it helped prime your shower or sink. Speak up if you need more towels or something extra and the staff will accomadate remember common courtesy goes a long way.
Best Regards,
Your Friends from Memphis!

Room Tip: Third building & third floor request no obstructed view to avoid the Palm trees blocking the inc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us at Emerald Beach. We truly appreciate your time and effort in writing your review about Emerald Beach Resort. We are always striving to make our guests feel welcome and have a memorable stay. Your reviews help us to improve our customer service and guest relations. We look forward to your next visit with us in St, Thomas at Emerald Beach Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I left the Island of Tortola where I live to travel by rather bumpy ferry to St. Thomas in order to catch the AA flight to Miami, which had been confirmed would fly, however due to our not so friendly Raphael, the winds turned and the flight couldn't leave, sadly the only flight available to leave on is Tuesday. Until then, with guidance from the lady at American and a friendly taxi driver, he brought me and another couple (who were going to the hotel close by, but when asked the driver, he said that one had run down a lot lately) so here I am at the Best Western Emerald Beach Resort, I have a room with a view of the beach and the sea, very comfortable beds,nice shower and tub, tv, free Internet. No smoking in the rooms but there is a big enough balcony with two chairs and a table and an outside socket to charge the battery on my lap top, so a cup coffee by my hand, ciggie in the sand in a cup "ashtray" and voila, not a bad way to wait for the plane. The Town center is a very short drive away, so I will grab a cab later and go walk about. I had an excellent meal last night in the hotels Palms restaurant, chicken Milanese with potatoes and vegetables, I started first with focaccia bread and dipping oil with herbs, divine, with a large bottle of sparkling water, cost US$28, plus I added tip. There seems to be a few nice pools, great beach, beach chairs ect so I think a good holiday could be spent here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusEmeraldBeach, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. From one islander to another, we
understand how weather can affect our travel plans. Since you had to stay over in St. Thomas, I am pleased to know that we made your stop gap a very pleasant one.
I appreciate your nice comments regarding our property and restaurant.
I hope the rest of your trip was as enjoyable.
Kind regards,
Debi Gerson-Locke
Director of Sales and Marketing
sales_marketing@emeraldbeach.com
cell:340-642-8952
PS: I love your trip advisor pic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Based on previous reviews we stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. The water pressure in the room was very very low. Very hard to take a shower. The views were very beautiful as was the service at the front desk. Don't attempt to use the restaurant. The service is horrible and the quality of food is poor. We tried it three times and was bad every time. Once for dinner and twice for breakfast. It took 30 minutes to get a cup of coffee and 45 minutes to get 2 eggs. There were no more than 4 other people in the restaurant at the time. it's a good basic hotel to stay at on the beach. don't expect very much

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach

Address: 8070 Lindbergh Bay | West, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 100% beachfront resort on St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands! Tucked into sun-splashed Lindbergh Bay on the Island of St. Thomas, the beautifully appointed Best Western Emerald Beach Resort welcomes guests with the gracious look, style and service of the Virgin Islands' rich heritage. BIG King Size Beds and Spectacular Views from EVERY ROOM! FREE High Speed Internet Access. Flat Screen TVs with Cable TV, 100% Beachfront Views with Balcony and Adjustable air-conditioning. Surrounded by landscaped gardens, cascading waterfalls and lush tropical settings, the Emerald Beach Resort offers a central, convenient location close to the airport, shopping, championship golf and all of St. Thomas's great activities and adventures. With the bounty of land and sea captured in stunning views, it's the perfect place for a memorable vacation. Or an unforgettable wedding, meeting or corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Emerald Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Best Western St Thomas
Best Western Emerald Beach Resort
St. Thomas Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.