We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for a short layover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   70-C Lindbergh Bay, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great choice for a short layover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Carib Beach for two one-night layovers to and from our eventual destination in the BVI. We were not blown away by the hotel, but it served our purposes for a reasonable price. It is nice that you can walk to the airport terminal in less than 10 minutes from the hotel. The front desk staff was particularly friendly and helpful.

BOOKING TIP: For both stays, we had a king room. However, both rooms (for the same price) were vastly different. The first room we stayed in was very small and outdated. The bathroom and shower were so small as to barely be functional. This room was part of the main building where the reception desk is located. On our return stay we were placed in the unit of rooms across the street from the main building. The room was large, the shower was much bigger, and the finish-out of the room was much nicer and newer. I would definitely recommend asking if they can place you in the building across the street if you call to book your room over the phone, or when you check in. It will make your stay much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
AgSin TX,

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write such a complimentary review on our service and accommodations.

We strive to ensure all guests have an enjoyable experience while staying with us, we do apologize for the small inconvenience you experienced with the room types that is one of uniqueness at the property is our different room types, the area you were referring to is called the "Cottages" limited availability but truly an awesome spot near the pool and restaurant bar.

We appreciate you and from your comments hope you truly enjoyed your stay with us, again thank you for choosing the Best Western Carib Beach Resort and we hope to see you soon enjoy your summer !

Sincerely,
Kanema Ayala- Abraham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    103
    89
    58
    53
See reviews for
73
132
21
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I was stuck in St Thomas while waiting for a flight. The Best Western Carib Beach is a good value and is very close to the airport. I stayed 2 separate times. The first time, I had a smaller single bed room. It was a basic, small room. The shower was so small, there was no room to move around. Essentially I had to rotate in order to wash myself. Dont try to bend over to wash your feet or you'll bump your head on the wall. Almost as small as many European hotel bathrooms. But I was glad for the hotel and happy about the value. This place has some of the best wifi on the island! Which was very important since I had to get some work done.
After being bumped from a flight, I had to stay once more. I was glad to come back for the value. This time I got a King size room. much more spacious, but the bathroom was almost the same. One big annoyance is the shallow toilet! I dont know if it is just in this room but I cant stand those things! I dont know who invented them, but they must have never sat on one! I guess having poreclain surfaces or water roughly 2" from the top of the toilet saves water, but it severely annoys anyone trying to actually use the toilet.

Room Tip: Eat before you get here. They have a restaurant, but I'd rather eat downtown - which is a taxi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Ern1 206,

Thank you for your cooperation in taking the time to give a review on your recent stay at the Best Western Carib Beach Resort following your visit.

I am disappointed that we failed to provide a comfortable setting in accommodations during your stay regarding the bathroom size. Please know that your comments are very valuable and to let you know our efforts are on going as we are still renovating and making the necessary improvements to ensure all guests are comfortable and have an enjoyable stay while with us.

We appreciate your comments and hope you will return to see some of the new improvements
we have planned for the Fall and Winter Seasons.

Sincerely,
Kanema Ayala- Abraham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springerville, Arizona
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

After we landed in St. Thomas at 9 p.m. we walked to the hotel which was very convenient..only took about three minutes to get there. The room was nice, although not as clean as we would have expected (there was dried urine at the bottom of the toilet). The bed was nice and comfortable and the view was nice. We enjoyed their man made beach they had just a few steps from the front doors of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We only stayed two nights on St Thomas before going to a villa on St John, and since our plan was to explore St Thomas, we only needed a place to sleep. The hotel is on the water, right by the airport, but doesn't have a beach. The coast there is rocky, there is a sandy spot at the water for chairs and umbrellas, and more chairs by the nice pool. Great views of Lindbergh bay. The restaurant (we didn't eat there so can't offer a review) is also right on the water.
Our room was clean and comfortable, nothing special but $50 a night cheaper than the BW Emerald Beach, which Carib guests can use, and there is a shuttle between the hotels (it is a 0.7 mile walk).
The people at the front desk were very friendly and helpful
For breakfast in St Thomas we like the Frenchtown deli

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Sunburn Snorkeler,

I want to thank you for using the facilities at the Best Western Carib Beach Resort. We were delighted to have the occasion to provide our service to you and your family.

We thank you for your comments and observations and know we appreciate each comment this helps us to better our service in all departments. Know that we are continuously improving on our service and product for present and future guests. We appreciate you taking the time and wish you a great summer.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to St. Thomas.

Sincerely,
Kanema Ayala- Abraham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This location is right next to the airport and was convenient when we needed it on a recent stay when there were issues with our flight. The rooms are small but neat and clean. The hotel, however, does not have a real beach and the pool was closed. The staff told us about a free shuttle to the "other" Best Western on the other side of the bay but they neglected to tell us we could have used their pool and amenities as well. We didn't find that out until much later after dinner at the other location. The staff did, however, provide us a voucher for 2 free drinks after they realized that they had handed us towels for a pool that was closed. Sadly, floating in the water off the wall of their "man made beach" we saw quite a bit of trash, some of it too gross to mention.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We chose Carib for the the price and convenience to the airport. We walked over, with heavy bags, not so much fun, but doable.
The gentleman behind the front counter was very professional, polite, and helpful. Our room wasn't quite ready so we went to the bar, and happy hour was still going on! Whoo hoo.
The room had a king bed, nice and hard & comfortable pillows. The room was larger than expected, #116. Large closet, with safe inside. Plenty of hangers.
The pool is small but was nice for a quick dip. Some wear around the edges. There are a few lounge chairs around it. The beach is nothing special,especially after seeing the white sand beaches around the islands. Very small, with a few loungers. Fine for sunning and watching the water, but don't expect lovely sand.
The restaurant/bar were much better than expected. Four of us had dinner and all enjoyed what we had. Good prices and portions.
A good choice to stay at for getting to the airport early in the am.
I would stay again based on the service, price and location.

Room Tip: Room 116 is closest to the restaurant and bar. Very spacious room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Christine,

Thank you for taking the time out to write such a complimentary letter. We thank you for your comments which is valuable feedback that assist us each day on striving to exceed each guests expectations by providing excellent customer service and accommodations.

We appreciate your patronage and hope you consider staying with us at the Best Western Carib Beach Resort the next time you are in St. Thomas on your return. We look forward to serving you again and your family.

Again we thank you for choosing the BW Carib Beach Resort have a great summer !!

Sincerely,

Kanema Ayala- Abraham
General Manager
BW Carib Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our 5 night stay at this hotel. It was conveniently located next to the airport. The staff was consistently super helpful and friendly. For the price we paid, we were able to get the full resort experience using the facilities of the sister hotel a short walk away (they even offer free shuttles). The atmosphere and food was great at both hotels. You can choose to explore the neighboring towns or have a quiet vacation and relax on the beach. I highly recommend going on a jet ski and snorkel 2 hour tour with the guys on the beach outside of the hotel. I definitely recommend getting the This Week magazine from the hotel to help guide your experience on the island. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Lele120,

On behalf of our entire team at the Best Western Carib Beach Resort, I would like to thank you for allowing us the opportunity to host your recent stay with us while vacationing in St. Thomas. It was a pleasure meeting you and sharing some of your great experiences and adventurous excursions you took part in while in St. Thomas.

We try in every way possible to offer each guests the finest in service, forever mindful that our guests deserve the very best treatment. We appreciate your kind comments and pointers to other guests on the tips and the know how's in St. Thomas.

We thank you again and hope to see you in the near future enjoy your summer see you soon !

Sincerely,
Kanema Ayala- Abraham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort

Address: 70-C Lindbergh Bay, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE BEST WESTERN CARIB BEACH RESORT offers you the best value and the closest location to the airport in St. Thomas. Newly renovated, Carib Beach is just steps away from the airport,a few minutes walk to the breathtaking turquoise waters of Lindbergh Bay Beach and 2.5 miles from downtown and duty-free shopping. Known as one of St.Thomas's landmarks, Carib Beach offers you a variety of newly renovated non-smoking rooms to choose from all with private patios or balconies,flat screen T.V.'s,premium channels, coffeemaker,in room safes, iron and ironing boards, A/C and complimentary WIFI. Resort amenities include a freshwater pool overlooking the Caribbean, beach area,complimentary parking, game room, meeting facilities, tour desk, cyber corner in the lobby and a Monday Night Managers Cocktail Party. Our beach side restaurant and bar Fajita's offers you a panoramic view of Lindbergh Bay and serves up breakfast and dinner 7 days a week. Enjoy our scrumptious breakfast buffet or our made to order breakfast menu. Come sun setting with us and sip on the best Margarita's on the island as well as the best Mexican food rated by locals and visitors alike!Carib Beach; secluded, peaceful and overlooking the Caribbean Sea is your home away from home in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carib Beach Hotel St. Thomas
St Thomas Best Western
BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.