We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you could ask for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   70-C Lindbergh Bay, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Top Contributor
358 reviews 358 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“All you could ask for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

For the price this hotel has it all. When we looked to book a room for our St Thomas trip this was the second cheapest option on the entire island. It was also literally walking distance from the airport. If you landed at the STT airport with 2 bags each you would without a doubt not need a cab to get here at all. We stayed here our first 2 nights of a week long trip. It really worked as a good place for us to get our bearings. We were able to easily eat dinner in nearby Frenchtown and downtown Charlotte Amalie was close.

As far as the hotel itself, it has great location, very clean room. Nice hot showers in a perfect size bathroom. We were able to watch 2 final 4 games on the TV as well. The front desk was very friendly and helpful. Check in and check out were quick and a breeze. In addition to the standard room key card they also were trying out a new room key in the form of a rubber wristband. I personally wore it out swimming in the ocean for a day and in the pool and when returning to the room i put it up against the sensor and the room unlocked. A pretty awesome alternative to a room key. Our room was on the first floor and did not have quite the view that some of the others on the first floor had, but that was ok. When leaving the lobby you cross a small driveway and come to a set of steps that leads to a private beach area, swimming pool, and a bar that has bot food and drinks. And the pool is right on the water. The night time view of the lit houses on the hills is amazing from this area.

We paid about $140 per night for 2 weekend night stays from hotel dot com and thought it was a great value. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
To Hankelly,

I first would like to thank you for staying with us at the Best Western Carib Beach Resort. We were delighted to have an occasion to provide our excellent service to you and your guests. With the details of your comments on our service and accommodations we thank you for giving us the opportunity to be a part of your Caribbean experience.

Thank you for your time in assisting us. This serves as one of our most important sources of feedback. We appreciate your patronage and hope you enjoyed your time in St. Thomas at the Best Western Carib Beach Resort. If I may be of assistance , please feel free to contact me at (340) 774-2525 ext. 1

Have a great summer and again thank you from the Staff and Management of the BW Carib Beach Resort.

Sincerely,

Kanema Ayala- Abraham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    117
    101
    66
    59
See reviews for
82
154
24
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Carib is not a "resort." It is a dated but clean hotel, located on the water, close to the airport, and staffed by very friendly and helpful staff. While it is located on the water, has a pool, and a small sandy "beach," nothing else qualifies it as a resort. It is worth a look as a place to stay as long as you understand what the Carib is: a decent hotel at a reasonable price (compared to other properties on St. Thomas).

Room Tip: While taxis are available and a shuttle runs from a sister property, you really need a car to stay a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
C56,

Dear Guests;

Thank you for taking the time to communicate to us why our service and property did not meet your expectations. We have every desire to address each guests needs and provide the best solutions available to resolve all issues as best we can. You may not be aware over the past couple of years we have made some improvements that were needed to the property and is still dedicated to make more improvements in the near future to best meet our guests needs.

We appreciate your observations and hope you can accept our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused. Again we highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do.

As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is those of our guests. It is our goal to retain each guest to allow us the opportunity to redeem ourselves and provide each customer a enjoyable and comfortable stay we hope to serve you again in the future.

Again thank you for choosing the Best Western Carib Beach and we wish you a good day!

Sincerely,
Kanema Ayala-Abraham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed here with my family of 3 for five nights and was impressed. For the price, it can't be beat. We had a newly renovated room with a beautiful ocean view. Proximity to the airport is a plus if you're walking and it was fun watching the planes take off all day. When we arrived we had to wait about 30 minutes for our room to be ready, along with a host of other visitors, but Shaune at the front desk was apologetic, friendly and professional. The room itself was nice with all of the standard amenities and beds were pretty comfy. Not a big selection of TV channels and reception can be a bit spotty but we didn't mind. Towels seemed to be in short supply throughout the duration of our stay, as we often received them fresh out of the dryer and there was one day where we had to ask for towels. The one small complaint I have is that we stayed during a week that they were laying stone down for restoring part of the walkway, so for half of our stay we were walking on a piece of flimsy plywood to and from our room, which was a safety hazard. We went to Fajita's once for breakfast and once for dinner; the food was good, prices were decent, but the service was not the best. Overall this was a good place to stay and I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Sarah,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet all your expectations by providing the attention and service we strive for with all our guests.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our goal. We have addressed the towel issue and spoken to our Maintenance Department on ways we can make it safer and more comfortable for guests to prevent interruptions and limit the noise so it does not affect our guests in the future.

We want you to know that we truly enjoy sharing our passion for our destination with visitors and want each and every one to walk out the door feeling satisfied and refreshed.

We hope you give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves if you return to the Virgin Islands in the near future, I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for Kanema. We hope to see you again and wish you the very best.

Sincerely,
Kanema Ayala- Abraham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balfron, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel IS within walking distance of the airport on St Thomas (turn right after the car park pay booths, up a slight hill past government offices and you are there - about 200 metres from the terminal!). Hotel is a bit 'tired' with the bar and restaurant down steep steps next to a small pool and the shore (not really a beach but there is some imported sand - this is a yacht collecting point so you can have a beer when waiting pickup!)
The restaurant is better than it appears at first sight and is good for watching planes come and go - the noise level is not great. It is worth renting a car but watch the bumps; Avis were happy for us to take our car to St John and we had no problems.
We were lucky to get a terrace cottage close to the bar, etc and at the foot of the steps.

Room Tip: ask for a cottage room near the bar / restaurant Don't take a cab from the airport unless you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

One night stay coming from Virgin Gorda late afternoon for next morning early flight. Can walk to the airport with luggage we wer hauling suitcases as well as scuba gear after 10 day trip. Our room was not ready due to several guest not checking out on time. Manager was in desk area and heard clerk tell us this. She invited us to place luggage in storage area near desk and wait in the water fron seaside bar and she would let us know when our room was ready. We were nervous about leaving alot of expensive dive gear but they watched and kept safe and sound actually stopped someone elso from entering the roon who was just going to toss luggage in but had not made th arrangement to do so - pretty cool. We waited around a bit but was enough delay we went to the bar - the menu looked good so instead of taking cab back downtown we had drinks and idnner- Waitress was quite unique but alot of fun and drinks generous and ice cold. The manager came down after a while and profusely apologized for the delay - it was a 4pm check in we arrived at 5 and room not ready till 630. She insisted on buying our dinner. and the waitress smiled and offered us desert as well. I asked her if a gratuity was included and the waitress sai it was not but she never let on and described that the whole hotel works together and she shared their apology - we tipped her as she was great. room nicely appointed quiet and sea sid. a few steps challenging with dive gear but that is issueyou trvel with evrywhere you dive. Will definely use this as our turn around airport hotel every trip in the future

Room Tip: Take the sea side room if you can little more cost but very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Mike, Jenny;

Thank you for your cooperation in taking the time to complete our survey following your visit to the Best Western Carib Beach Resort.

Your comments on our staff performance were most generous and shall be passed on to the appropriate staff members. It is gratifying to know that our efforts were effective and appreciated as we strive to give the best customer experience with all our guests.

Once again we appreciate your patronage and hope you will give us another opportunity on your next visit to St. Thomas. We look forward to your return and remember to visit our face book for upcoming specials and updates .

Sincerely,
Kanema Ayala- Abraham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a great way to start/end an awesome vacation. We stayed at this hotel as the start of a 8 day catamaran vacation as well as took an extra day after the sailing to unwind. First off, NICKY at the front desk is what every front desk person at every hotel should strive to be and more. Professional, personable, funny, lively, caring, takes ownership of the property as if it were hers. We had the luxury of staying in one of the cottages both times and loved it. Private little rooms, basic amenities (though Rm 115 was better than 112 because 112 needs some cosmetic work) and you've got to watch for that very short step down from the room into the bathroom- can be a killer! One of the other couples had a regular room each time and said it was just what they wanted: neat, clean, amenities, quiet with a great view of the water. Used the no cost shuttle over to the big sister BW resort across the way as they have the better beach and restaurant.

GREAT short 5 minute (if that) walk from the airport, especially for me who hates to walk anywhere.

Biggest complaint: the 6 of us went down for a late dinner our first night there (friday, 3/15) and there were a lot of angry people. Seems there was only the bartender and one other wait staff and they were beyond overwhelmed, as was the kitchen. We were lucky enough to come in on the end of the rush so we got our food in a decent amount of time but this did dim our overall review.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have been to St. John many times and were always curious about these Best Western properties right next to the airport. I mean you can walk on the sidewalk from this hotel to your flight! Amazing! Saves on the outrageous cab fare they charge on this island. It is a quirkly, little place with nice rooms! (we had 216), which offered amazing views of Lindbergh beach and was actually very clean! Nice new shower, great water pressure, and good beds and bedding. This hotel is far from downtown but great for laying over to catch a flight the next morning. If you stay here, you probably want to leave during the day. NO restaurant is open. You can shuttle over to the sister Best Western property and eat lunch and swim in that pool which is so much bigger and nicer. The restaurant on the Carib hotel was NOT at all good. Service worse than terrible! But the hotel was quite decent for a quick stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront room that have been renovated. These are quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Traveling Germans;

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity by choosing the Best Western Carib Beach Resort. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience or lack of attention you may have received during your stay while with us. We hope overall you enjoyed your stay and will give us another chance to redeem ourselves on your next trip to St. Thomas.

Thank you again for choosing the BW Carib Beach Resort, and we thank you for your business


Sincerely,

Kanema Ayala- Abraham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort

Address: 70-C Lindbergh Bay, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE BEST WESTERN CARIB BEACH RESORT offers you the best value and the closest location to the airport in St. Thomas. Newly renovated, Carib Beach is just steps away from the airport,a few minutes walk to the breathtaking turquoise waters of Lindbergh Bay Beach and 2.5 miles from downtown and duty-free shopping. Known as one of St.Thomas's landmarks, Carib Beach offers you a variety of newly renovated non-smoking rooms to choose from all with private patios or balconies,flat screen T.V.'s,premium channels, coffeemaker,in room safes, iron and ironing boards, A/C and complimentary WIFI. Resort amenities include a freshwater pool overlooking the Caribbean, beach area,complimentary parking, game room, meeting facilities, tour desk, cyber corner in the lobby and a Monday Night Managers Cocktail Party. Our beach side restaurant and bar Fajita's offers you a panoramic view of Lindbergh Bay and serves up breakfast and dinner 7 days a week. Enjoy our scrumptious breakfast buffet or our made to order breakfast menu. Come sun setting with us and sip on the best Margarita's on the island as well as the best Mexican food rated by locals and visitors alike!Carib Beach; secluded, peaceful and overlooking the Caribbean Sea is your home away from home in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carib Beach Hotel St. Thomas
St Thomas Best Western
BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.