We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place near airport in St Thomas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   70-C Lindbergh Bay, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place near airport in St Thomas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here the last night of our trip to the Virgin Islands because we had an early flight out the next morning. It was a great surprise. It's on the water so we could sit outside and watch boats come and go. The room was very newly updated and very clean. The hotel couldn't be closer to the airport - we walked through the parking lot to the airport terminal in the morning. The food at the restaurant was good. Overall we were very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
S kirk2,

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write such a complimentary letter. The comments you made regarding your recent stay will be passed on to the staff as an inspiration to continue their efforts in customer service.

We appreciate your patronage and thank you for giving us the opportunity to host your recent trip to St. Thomas.

Thank you again and it was a pleasure taken care of you and your family, hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Kanema Ayala- Abraham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    103
    85
    56
    53
See reviews for
71
129
21
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Let me start by stating what this hotel is not. It is not the Ritz Carlton or any other 5 star resort, nor does the company make the claim that it is. What this hotel is is an excellent caribbean hotel on beautiful Lindbergh Bay in St. Thomas. Yes, it is older than some resorts but what it lacks in modern decor it more than makes up for with excellent service and reasonable prices. The front desk staff, especially Nicky, were extremely helpful with all of our needs and went out of there way to make sure that we were happy with our room and service. In response to some of the other reviews, my girlfriend and I never saw any cockroaches and our room was clean and cool on our arrival (yes, the air conditioning worked fine).
My girlfriend and I are both RN's from Boston and expect to receive the service and amenities that we pay for. We dine out often in the city and therefore have some experience eating at a variety of establishments, from hole in the wall, mom and pop restaurants to the Top of the Hub in Copley Plaza. We can both honestly state that the food in the restaurant was very good and reasonably priced, and the bar was fantastic. Our bar tender, Kirk from Denver, was absolutely fantastic. His drinks were excellent, especially the pain killers and Gin and tonics, and he took the time to speak with and get to know his customers, even on the night that he was short staffed and was serving the customers in the restaurant.
In closing I would like to state that we highly recommend this hotel to anyone that wants a clean, reasonably priced, and convenient place to stay that is close to the center of town without being in the city. However, if you are the type of person that is used to a mint on your pillow or a bidet in your bathroom, then this is probably not the place for you. As a matter of fact, your presence there would probably destroy the relaxing and wonderful ambience that we so much enjoyed there.

Room Tip: Request ocean view room on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Mark B,

On behalf of the entire staff of the Best Western Carib Beach Resort, I would like to thank you for allowing us the opportunity to host your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to host your
family.

We try in every way possible to offer all guests the finest in service, forever mindful that our Guests
deserve the very best treatment and service. We are glad you choose our property and your kind comments will be shared with our staff regarding the wonderful time you shard with us.

We look forward to seeing you again and remember to follow us on Facebook and press "like" stay tuned for upcoming specials and deals.

Sincerely,
Kanema Ayala-Abraham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

This place is false advertising over priced they charge for 4 people to get shuttled from the airport and they didn't show up they make you go across the street to have a cigarette they lock you in at night and when asked for extra stuff we forgot they said they don't have it and its on there website saying they provide the stuff. Are friends payed an upgrade fee to get the nicer room and they got the same room as we did. Pay the extra to go to emerald bay best western all the pictures you see on line are from there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Alison & Sarah,

We do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you on your trip. Our website
does show all rooms are non-smoking and the means of transportation could be a taxi which charges $4.00 per person plus luggage depending on size of bags. We are working distance from the airport about a 5-10 minutes away.

In regards to the room accommodation I did see where the Reider paid for a ground level room and Smith paid for a 2nd floor room. I am not sure what took place during the check in process except the clerk stated one of you in the party was not well and they try to expedite the check in process so they can accommodate your party quickly. That may be a factor where the guest for the 1st floor room garden view became now a 2nd floor ocean view room to accommodate both parties in a timely manner. Being you are still on property I will try to contact you today Monday
for any other further explanation or questions you may have.


Sincerely,
Kanema Ayala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, Ohio, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

On vacation in the VI with friends, I broke my ankle. I was spending the last day of the trip alone, and already had reservations at this Best Western. They went above and beyond to get me through a rough time, and in fact make my stay enjoyable. I would recommend them to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Brenda,


We thank you for first taking the time to give a review on your recent stay at the BW Carib Beach Resort. It was our pleasure to make sure your stay was enjoyable and comfortable as possible
due to the circumstances.

We thank you for your positive comments and the staff will be made aware of your appreciation they showed while you were with us.

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Carib Beach Resort and we wish you a speedy recovery!

Well Wishes;
Staff and Management of BW Carib Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

If you are looking for a great value that’s clean and friendly with a very warm and helpful staff and great food, this is the place to stay. It’s close to the airport, not over crowd and easy to get to. A short walking distance to the sister hotel across the bay or shuttle service if you choose. Tanayana, Nikki, Dominic and Kurt were awesome staff. Tanayana & Nikki were very knowledgeable of our questions that we asked about places and costs and Kurt was an awesome, attentive bartender. Dominic really tried to accommodate our needs when it came to food. The view at the Carib is beautiful and much nicer than across the bay. You can look off the deck into the sea water and see the small fish swimming by.
When we plan another trip to the USVI we will be staying at the Carib. Thank you for the great stay and warm friendly smiles.

Room Tip: Our second floor room had an awesome view and morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Holly;

Thank you for your kind words and appreciation of recognizing the service and warm smiles you received from our staff members. All the staff members mentioned will be able to see your review and they will know how much you appreciated their efforts.

We thank you for choosing the BW Carib Beach Resort and we hope to see you on your next trip to St. Thomas, USVI..

Have a great day and thank you once again !

Sincerely,
Kanema Ayala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I was only here for one night ,it was fair.pool okay,rooms good for a night or two,bathrooms on the small side.Beautiful view from room,and parking was good,beach was man made.We went to St.John for the week so only needed this one night.I would stay here again if needed.Staff was ehh,not the friendliest,but at least smiled.It is so close to aiport,but I enjoyed watching planes depart,noise was not an issue at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Bonaire,


We thank you for taking the time to write and give your reviews on your previous stay with us at the Best Western Carib Beach Resort.

We appreciate your honesty and observations on your stay with your comments will be used as a tool in our continued training and meetings with the staff to point out areas that may need more attention and care to better serve each guests.

We hope this does not deter you from staying at another Best Western property in the near future. We thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and hope you will consider us on your next trip to St. Thomas.

Sincerely,
Kanema Ayala- Abraham
General Manager
BW Carib Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

It is a very good place to stay, close to the airport, beatiful beach, good food and excellent service. All the staff was very nice and very helpful. Nicky especially did alot to make our stay enjoyable. When we plan another trip to the USVI we will be staying at the Carib.

Thank you for the great stay.

Room Tip: Great view looking out over the water and beaches
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear James B;


Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay to BW Carib Beach Resort.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay and gave us the opportunity to serve you
and make your stay an enjoyable one.

Once again thank you for your patronage and don't forget to like us on our facebook and twitter pages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort

Address: 70-C Lindbergh Bay, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE BEST WESTERN CARIB BEACH RESORT offers you the best value and the closest location to the airport in St. Thomas. Newly renovated, Carib Beach is just steps away from the airport,a few minutes walk to the breathtaking turquoise waters of Lindbergh Bay Beach and 2.5 miles from downtown and duty-free shopping. Known as one of St.Thomas's landmarks, Carib Beach offers you a variety of newly renovated non-smoking rooms to choose from all with private patios or balconies,flat screen T.V.'s,premium channels, coffeemaker,in room safes, iron and ironing boards, A/C and complimentary WIFI. Resort amenities include a freshwater pool overlooking the Caribbean, beach area,complimentary parking, game room, meeting facilities, tour desk, cyber corner in the lobby and a Monday Night Managers Cocktail Party. Our beach side restaurant and bar Fajita's offers you a panoramic view of Lindbergh Bay and serves up breakfast and dinner 7 days a week. Enjoy our scrumptious breakfast buffet or our made to order breakfast menu. Come sun setting with us and sip on the best Margarita's on the island as well as the best Mexican food rated by locals and visitors alike!Carib Beach; secluded, peaceful and overlooking the Caribbean Sea is your home away from home in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carib Beach Hotel St. Thomas
St Thomas Best Western
BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.