We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Caribbean hotel experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   70-C Lindbergh Bay, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Caribbean hotel experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Let me start by stating what this hotel is not. It is not the Ritz Carlton or any other 5 star resort, nor does the company make the claim that it is. What this hotel is is an excellent caribbean hotel on beautiful Lindbergh Bay in St. Thomas. Yes, it is older than some resorts but what it lacks in modern decor it more than makes up for with excellent service and reasonable prices. The front desk staff, especially Nicky, were extremely helpful with all of our needs and went out of there way to make sure that we were happy with our room and service. In response to some of the other reviews, my girlfriend and I never saw any cockroaches and our room was clean and cool on our arrival (yes, the air conditioning worked fine).
My girlfriend and I are both RN's from Boston and expect to receive the service and amenities that we pay for. We dine out often in the city and therefore have some experience eating at a variety of establishments, from hole in the wall, mom and pop restaurants to the Top of the Hub in Copley Plaza. We can both honestly state that the food in the restaurant was very good and reasonably priced, and the bar was fantastic. Our bar tender, Kirk from Denver, was absolutely fantastic. His drinks were excellent, especially the pain killers and Gin and tonics, and he took the time to speak with and get to know his customers, even on the night that he was short staffed and was serving the customers in the restaurant.
In closing I would like to state that we highly recommend this hotel to anyone that wants a clean, reasonably priced, and convenient place to stay that is close to the center of town without being in the city. However, if you are the type of person that is used to a mint on your pillow or a bidet in your bathroom, then this is probably not the place for you. As a matter of fact, your presence there would probably destroy the relaxing and wonderful ambience that we so much enjoyed there.

Room Tip: Request ocean view room on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Mark B,

On behalf of the entire staff of the Best Western Carib Beach Resort, I would like to thank you for allowing us the opportunity to host your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to host your
family.

We try in every way possible to offer all guests the finest in service, forever mindful that our Guests
deserve the very best treatment and service. We are glad you choose our property and your kind comments will be shared with our staff regarding the wonderful time you shard with us.

We look forward to seeing you again and remember to follow us on Facebook and press "like" stay tuned for upcoming specials and deals.

Sincerely,
Kanema Ayala-Abraham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    103
    86
    57
    53
See reviews for
71
129
21
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

This place is false advertising over priced they charge for 4 people to get shuttled from the airport and they didn't show up they make you go across the street to have a cigarette they lock you in at night and when asked for extra stuff we forgot they said they don't have it and its on there website saying they provide the stuff. Are friends payed an upgrade fee to get the nicer room and they got the same room as we did. Pay the extra to go to emerald bay best western all the pictures you see on line are from there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Alison & Sarah,

We do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you on your trip. Our website
does show all rooms are non-smoking and the means of transportation could be a taxi which charges $4.00 per person plus luggage depending on size of bags. We are working distance from the airport about a 5-10 minutes away.

In regards to the room accommodation I did see where the Reider paid for a ground level room and Smith paid for a 2nd floor room. I am not sure what took place during the check in process except the clerk stated one of you in the party was not well and they try to expedite the check in process so they can accommodate your party quickly. That may be a factor where the guest for the 1st floor room garden view became now a 2nd floor ocean view room to accommodate both parties in a timely manner. Being you are still on property I will try to contact you today Monday
for any other further explanation or questions you may have.


Sincerely,
Kanema Ayala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, Ohio, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

On vacation in the VI with friends, I broke my ankle. I was spending the last day of the trip alone, and already had reservations at this Best Western. They went above and beyond to get me through a rough time, and in fact make my stay enjoyable. I would recommend them to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Brenda,


We thank you for first taking the time to give a review on your recent stay at the BW Carib Beach Resort. It was our pleasure to make sure your stay was enjoyable and comfortable as possible
due to the circumstances.

We thank you for your positive comments and the staff will be made aware of your appreciation they showed while you were with us.

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Carib Beach Resort and we wish you a speedy recovery!

Well Wishes;
Staff and Management of BW Carib Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

If you are looking for a great value that’s clean and friendly with a very warm and helpful staff and great food, this is the place to stay. It’s close to the airport, not over crowd and easy to get to. A short walking distance to the sister hotel across the bay or shuttle service if you choose. Tanayana, Nikki, Dominic and Kurt were awesome staff. Tanayana & Nikki were very knowledgeable of our questions that we asked about places and costs and Kurt was an awesome, attentive bartender. Dominic really tried to accommodate our needs when it came to food. The view at the Carib is beautiful and much nicer than across the bay. You can look off the deck into the sea water and see the small fish swimming by.
When we plan another trip to the USVI we will be staying at the Carib. Thank you for the great stay and warm friendly smiles.

Room Tip: Our second floor room had an awesome view and morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Holly;

Thank you for your kind words and appreciation of recognizing the service and warm smiles you received from our staff members. All the staff members mentioned will be able to see your review and they will know how much you appreciated their efforts.

We thank you for choosing the BW Carib Beach Resort and we hope to see you on your next trip to St. Thomas, USVI..

Have a great day and thank you once again !

Sincerely,
Kanema Ayala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I was only here for one night ,it was fair.pool okay,rooms good for a night or two,bathrooms on the small side.Beautiful view from room,and parking was good,beach was man made.We went to St.John for the week so only needed this one night.I would stay here again if needed.Staff was ehh,not the friendliest,but at least smiled.It is so close to aiport,but I enjoyed watching planes depart,noise was not an issue at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Bonaire,


We thank you for taking the time to write and give your reviews on your previous stay with us at the Best Western Carib Beach Resort.

We appreciate your honesty and observations on your stay with your comments will be used as a tool in our continued training and meetings with the staff to point out areas that may need more attention and care to better serve each guests.

We hope this does not deter you from staying at another Best Western property in the near future. We thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and hope you will consider us on your next trip to St. Thomas.

Sincerely,
Kanema Ayala- Abraham
General Manager
BW Carib Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

It is a very good place to stay, close to the airport, beatiful beach, good food and excellent service. All the staff was very nice and very helpful. Nicky especially did alot to make our stay enjoyable. When we plan another trip to the USVI we will be staying at the Carib.

Thank you for the great stay.

Room Tip: Great view looking out over the water and beaches
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear James B;


Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay to BW Carib Beach Resort.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay and gave us the opportunity to serve you
and make your stay an enjoyable one.

Once again thank you for your patronage and don't forget to like us on our facebook and twitter pages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

First off, if you are expecting a Ritz-Carlton experience, you are seriously living in a fantasy world. This is a Best Western and we chose it for the value it offers. We had a great time and the staff there was totally in tune with helping us achieve the perfect outcome. BW has 2 properties on opposite sides of the bay. We tried both and for the money, Carib Beach is the better value. Sure, to enjoy a true beach, you have to go to the other side, but it is a quick walk or shuttle ride over. If you walk, stop at the white food truck perfectly positioned between for some of the best local food you can find. Emerald Beach was larger and had more guest staying there making it way more crowded. The only thing better at Emerald was the beach right on the property, but the views were much better on the Carib Beach side. And that bay/beach is better than most on the island. We liked the staff at Carib Beach better than the staff at Emerald Beach (laid back/fun compared to stuffed shirt). The bartender Kurt did a great job serving some of the best drinks we had on the island and offered some of the best usable tips we got. Tanayana & Nikki should give seminars stateside on how desk clerks/hosts should be. Their bright smiles and willingness to help or offer advise was always a bright spot to start and end our days. And lets not forget Clive, the groundskeeper, who always offered a hearty "Good Morning" when we left for the day. The grounds was well kept and it was obvious he took a lot of pride in his work. We did get a sneak peek at the new villa's Carib Beach will be offering soon and they look outstanding. Our room was always stocked with every amenity you would expect at every BW. The rooms were cleaned every day. We have stayed at way worse BW stateside. The airport really only operates during the day, so noise is not a problem. Sure we had some minor inconveniences, but we were vacationing in paradise. When we return to the island, we will be staying there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Darthrower;

Thank you for your observations and comments regarding your previous stay at the BW Carib Beach Resort. Your comments will be used as a tool to let the staff know their efforts in creating
moments and experience with customer service was noticed by the guests and will be used in
our training ads tolls to better each guests experience in the future.

Thank you again for being the awesome folks you are enjoy and hope to see you soon !

Sincerely,
Kanema Ayala-Abraham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort

Address: 70-C Lindbergh Bay, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE BEST WESTERN CARIB BEACH RESORT offers you the best value and the closest location to the airport in St. Thomas. Newly renovated, Carib Beach is just steps away from the airport,a few minutes walk to the breathtaking turquoise waters of Lindbergh Bay Beach and 2.5 miles from downtown and duty-free shopping. Known as one of St.Thomas's landmarks, Carib Beach offers you a variety of newly renovated non-smoking rooms to choose from all with private patios or balconies,flat screen T.V.'s,premium channels, coffeemaker,in room safes, iron and ironing boards, A/C and complimentary WIFI. Resort amenities include a freshwater pool overlooking the Caribbean, beach area,complimentary parking, game room, meeting facilities, tour desk, cyber corner in the lobby and a Monday Night Managers Cocktail Party. Our beach side restaurant and bar Fajita's offers you a panoramic view of Lindbergh Bay and serves up breakfast and dinner 7 days a week. Enjoy our scrumptious breakfast buffet or our made to order breakfast menu. Come sun setting with us and sip on the best Margarita's on the island as well as the best Mexican food rated by locals and visitors alike!Carib Beach; secluded, peaceful and overlooking the Caribbean Sea is your home away from home in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carib Beach Hotel St. Thomas
St Thomas Best Western
BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.