We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fair,one night stay was okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   70-C Lindbergh Bay, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“fair,one night stay was okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I was only here for one night ,it was fair.pool okay,rooms good for a night or two,bathrooms on the small side.Beautiful view from room,and parking was good,beach was man made.We went to St.John for the week so only needed this one night.I would stay here again if needed.Staff was ehh,not the friendliest,but at least smiled.It is so close to aiport,but I enjoyed watching planes depart,noise was not an issue at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Bonaire,


We thank you for taking the time to write and give your reviews on your previous stay with us at the Best Western Carib Beach Resort.

We appreciate your honesty and observations on your stay with your comments will be used as a tool in our continued training and meetings with the staff to point out areas that may need more attention and care to better serve each guests.

We hope this does not deter you from staying at another Best Western property in the near future. We thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and hope you will consider us on your next trip to St. Thomas.

Sincerely,
Kanema Ayala- Abraham
General Manager
BW Carib Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    103
    89
    58
    53
See reviews for
73
132
21
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

It is a very good place to stay, close to the airport, beatiful beach, good food and excellent service. All the staff was very nice and very helpful. Nicky especially did alot to make our stay enjoyable. When we plan another trip to the USVI we will be staying at the Carib.

Thank you for the great stay.

Room Tip: Great view looking out over the water and beaches
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear James B;


Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay to BW Carib Beach Resort.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay and gave us the opportunity to serve you
and make your stay an enjoyable one.

Once again thank you for your patronage and don't forget to like us on our facebook and twitter pages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

First off, if you are expecting a Ritz-Carlton experience, you are seriously living in a fantasy world. This is a Best Western and we chose it for the value it offers. We had a great time and the staff there was totally in tune with helping us achieve the perfect outcome. BW has 2 properties on opposite sides of the bay. We tried both and for the money, Carib Beach is the better value. Sure, to enjoy a true beach, you have to go to the other side, but it is a quick walk or shuttle ride over. If you walk, stop at the white food truck perfectly positioned between for some of the best local food you can find. Emerald Beach was larger and had more guest staying there making it way more crowded. The only thing better at Emerald was the beach right on the property, but the views were much better on the Carib Beach side. And that bay/beach is better than most on the island. We liked the staff at Carib Beach better than the staff at Emerald Beach (laid back/fun compared to stuffed shirt). The bartender Kurt did a great job serving some of the best drinks we had on the island and offered some of the best usable tips we got. Tanayana & Nikki should give seminars stateside on how desk clerks/hosts should be. Their bright smiles and willingness to help or offer advise was always a bright spot to start and end our days. And lets not forget Clive, the groundskeeper, who always offered a hearty "Good Morning" when we left for the day. The grounds was well kept and it was obvious he took a lot of pride in his work. We did get a sneak peek at the new villa's Carib Beach will be offering soon and they look outstanding. Our room was always stocked with every amenity you would expect at every BW. The rooms were cleaned every day. We have stayed at way worse BW stateside. The airport really only operates during the day, so noise is not a problem. Sure we had some minor inconveniences, but we were vacationing in paradise. When we return to the island, we will be staying there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Darthrower;

Thank you for your observations and comments regarding your previous stay at the BW Carib Beach Resort. Your comments will be used as a tool to let the staff know their efforts in creating
moments and experience with customer service was noticed by the guests and will be used in
our training ads tolls to better each guests experience in the future.

Thank you again for being the awesome folks you are enjoy and hope to see you soon !

Sincerely,
Kanema Ayala-Abraham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We spent two nights at this BW hotel. The room was good, but we missed the hair drier. Restaurant by the sea serves ood seafood, and a 10 minutes' walk takes you to the beach at the other BW hotel by Lindberg Bay.

Note that ths beach is divided between at least three companies - the BW part is the one furthest away.

The beach becomes rather crowded when cruise ships let loose their assengers in Carlotte Amalie

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest;

We appreciate you taking the time to write your review , we sincerely hope you enjoyed your trip
with us in St. Thomas. Your observations and suggestion will be noted for future developments
to the area and property.

Once again thank you for giving us the opportunity to be apart of your trip and hope to see you back to St. Thomas in the near future.

Have a great day !

Sincerely,
Kanema Ayala- Abraham
General Manager
BW Carib Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, BC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights after a cruise as it was close to the airport. Our room was very poorly maintained as the bathroom door would not close, daylight visible around front door, mould in shower and under sink. The amenities are mediocre to say the least. There was a shuttle the the sister resort a couple of miles away. Stay there instead.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time to give a review and your comments regarding your previous stay with us at the Best Western Carib Beach.

I am disappointed we failed to handle all of issues in a satisfactory manner, We appreciate your
comments and observations which will aid us in locating areas of service needing improvement.

Please know that your comments have been reviewed with the departments listed in your review and will be handled in a urgent matter so this type of service does not happen to another guests in the future.

We hope this does not deter you from staying at another Best Western property in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kanema Ayala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My wife Vicki and I stay here every time we visit St Thomas....it continues to be a lovely property with great rates....all rooms have been recently remodeled and common areas have been upgraded further....and, as always, Kanema (GM) and her staff continue serving their guests with professionalism and courtesy!

Once again, I highly recommend The Carib Beach Resort.

David Greve
Pittsburgh

Room Tip: Theyre all lovely, but we favor #212 in the "Sea Wing"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear David,

Thank you once again for allowing us to serve you and Vicky once again- you truly are family to us. Your kind spirit and smile always brings us joy to make sure your stay is truly one of a kind.

You always enjoy St. Thomas and return every year with us. You are truly exceptional we appreciate your reviews and the attention and comments you made to our new renovations and upgrades to the property.

Your comments will definitely be passed on to the staff on their performance was most generous. It is always gratifying to know your stay with us was an enjoyable and well deserved one. I am grateful you took the time to let us know of your satisfaction.

We appreciate your continued business and we will see you soon enjoy the rest of the New Year and all the best !

Sincerely;
The Staff and Mgt. of the Best Western Carib Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We went to this location for the New Year night while islands hooping.
Mi wife had an small incident with a broken beach chair. The bartender offered ice for the bruised finger and everybody reacted with care and professionalism. Second day it was no need to file an incident report.
Very friendly and attentive personnel with a special mention of the bartender Dominique.
She went beyond her duties to make sure everything was okay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Traveler,

We thank you for taking the time to express your gratitude and appreciation for the care and attention you received during your stay with us at the Best Western Carib Beach.

The mention of Dominique will be passed on to make her aware of the consideration and attention she expressed was not without mention. We are truly sorry you had this experienced
and express our sincere apologies for any annoyance this may have caused you.

We are glad you are okay and wish you and your family a prosperous and joyous New Year all the best for the year.

Thank you Again for allowing us the opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
Kanema Ayala- Abraham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort

Address: 70-C Lindbergh Bay, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE BEST WESTERN CARIB BEACH RESORT offers you the best value and the closest location to the airport in St. Thomas. Newly renovated, Carib Beach is just steps away from the airport,a few minutes walk to the breathtaking turquoise waters of Lindbergh Bay Beach and 2.5 miles from downtown and duty-free shopping. Known as one of St.Thomas's landmarks, Carib Beach offers you a variety of newly renovated non-smoking rooms to choose from all with private patios or balconies,flat screen T.V.'s,premium channels, coffeemaker,in room safes, iron and ironing boards, A/C and complimentary WIFI. Resort amenities include a freshwater pool overlooking the Caribbean, beach area,complimentary parking, game room, meeting facilities, tour desk, cyber corner in the lobby and a Monday Night Managers Cocktail Party. Our beach side restaurant and bar Fajita's offers you a panoramic view of Lindbergh Bay and serves up breakfast and dinner 7 days a week. Enjoy our scrumptious breakfast buffet or our made to order breakfast menu. Come sun setting with us and sip on the best Margarita's on the island as well as the best Mexican food rated by locals and visitors alike!Carib Beach; secluded, peaceful and overlooking the Caribbean Sea is your home away from home in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carib Beach Hotel St. Thomas
St Thomas Best Western
BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.