We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with a great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   70-C Lindbergh Bay, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good hotel with a great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed at the BW Caribe before and after a charter in BVI. The staff is exceptional, we didn't come across one employee that wasn't polite and helpful. On our return stay there was an issue with the room key. They immediately upgraded us to a cabin by the beach and were a true pleasure to deal with. Thanks for everything.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear, Brian

Thank you very much for your comments regarding the excellent accommodations and service
you received during your stay with us. As you know , it means a great deal to the Hotel to receive such a complimentary review. It is reassuring to know our efforts on providing excellent customer service has been noticed , to know we have wonderful people employed with us.

Once again thank you for choosing the BW Carib Beach Resort and we are glad we were part of your great experience . Happy Holidays and all the best for the coming year !

Sincerely,
Kanema Ayala- Abraham
General Manager
BW Carib Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    98
    85
    55
    53
See reviews for
69
124
21
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, Michigan
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night before taking the ferry to St. John for a week. The room wasn't fancy, but it was nice enough, large and clean. No issues there. The room had a large patio that would have had a nice view of the water if not for the foliage in front of it. The check in was easy. I think the guy working the desk's name was Shone. Not sure if that's right, but he was very helpful. The hotel had free wifi. We ate at Fajita's for dinner and then for breakfast the next morning. It was fine. It has a nice view of a calm bay. I checked out the beach, but it was after dark. It appeared to be sand along a seawall with a series of steps that allowed entry into the water. There was also a pool.

My verdict is that I will stay here again when I use St. Thomas as a hub for getting to other Virgin Islands. It is one of the more reasonable options and it is really almost walking distance to the airport which is nice when you have been traveling all day. We had lunch at the Best Western Emerald Bay on the way back to the airport. This property is more resort like in my opinion. I didn't see the rooms, but the property just looked a little nicer overall, the restaurant was nicer, and the beach was significantly nicer. For a one night stop, the Carib Beach Resort is fine, but if I was going to spend more time there and was choosing between the two, I think Emerald Bay would win.

Room Tip: I think a second floor room would assure a better view than a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Advonefin,

Thank you for your kind words concerning your recent trip to St. Thomas, we thank you for choosing our properties. Your view on both resorts were appreciated both properties have something to offer for all travelers whether transitional, family , business or pleasure the advantages of utilizing both properties and being within walking distance of each other with
a complimentary shuttle is one of the biggest advantages.

We appreciate your patronage and hope you will decide to visit our Best Westerns properties if you are back in St. Thomas. Have a great day and Happy Holidays from all of us at BW Carib Beach Resort.

Sincerely,
Kanema Ayala- Abraham
BW Carib Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed in this hotel because our flight arrived to late to pick up our car rental. The hotel is a very short walk from the airport (if you don't have tons of luggage to cary).We arrived around 5pm and had enough time to take a dip in the ocean before it got dark. We walked to the Best Western Emerald Beach Resort for dinner. Grabbed breakfast at the hotel before we left. The view from the restaurant was awesome but the food was just ok. Our room and the hotel were clean and the staff was very accomodating and friendly. When the front desk staff seen us walking to take a swim they offered us a beach towel, which was an added bonus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Good Transition Hotel,

On behalf of our entire staff we would like to thank you for allowing us the opportunity to host your recent stay with us.

We try in every way possible to offer each guest the finest in service, forever mindful that our Guests deserve the best treatment and value. We appreciate your comments whoch helsp us provide better service to all guest in the future.

Once again thank you for choosing the Best Western Carib Beach Resort and Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,
Kanema Ayala- Abraham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Kalb, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

For the price and proximity to the airport it was ok. We were staying for our last night prior to flying home. The hotel is older and dated but the majority of the staff were friendly and helpful. The only issue we had was with the driver, Martin, of the shuttle to the sister property, Emerald Beach. When my wife, daughters, 13 and 11, and I were returning from Emerald Beach Martin chose to give a ride to a fellow employee and allowed her to sit in the front seat while putting an elderly couple all the way in the back and then telling the four of us to sit in the middle two captains chairs. I originally told him we would wait and asked if he would come back and get us. He grunted and motioned to the van and "said it'll be ok". If we weren't all so tired we would have just walked instead of getting in the minivan with him.

Later that evening when we were getting ready to go over to the Emerald Beach for dinner we saw the van parked out front of our hotel. Martin was removing something from the van and my wife politely asked him how long until he goes back to the Emerald. He chose to reply rudely "when I'm done with this". We chose to stay and eat at Fajita's for that evening.

You definitely get what you pay for. Our room was a non-smoking room that appeared to have been converted from a smoking room. Our luggage and clothing all smell like smoke now and have to be cleaned.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear, Dale

We thank you for choosing the BW Carib Beach Resort for your trip , I am truly sorry and my sincere apologies for the experience you had with the driver and should have been an easy transition and
better behavior on the part of the driver. This has been addressed to all parties involved so we can better serve all guest in the future. We do not allow any or lack thereof from any of our employees
our goal is to ensure all guest has superior service and pleasurable stay while staying with us.

I truly hope you accept my sincere apologies to you and your family for the experience and hope this will not deter you from choosing another Best Western property in the future.

Thank you once again and Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,
Kanema Ayala-Abraham
General Manager
BW Carib Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed at Carib beach last month for a few nights. This was my first time staying at this property and I was pleasantly surprised. I am familiar with the hotels on St. Thomas and chose this hotel since my stay was short and the price was right!

The service I received from the front desk staff was superb... Kudos to the General Manager and her staff for looking our for your guest!
After reading the reviews, my concern was the warm water. I had no problem with taking well needed warm water baths (I do NOT like cold water baths at all)
The view of the ocean from our room was beautiful.
There were no elevators that we were able to use to take us to our room, so let's just say, I did a bit of walking however it was not out of the way or to far.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel.. it is not a 5 star property but it was PERFECT for my short stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, we are actively making the necessary changes and are
appreciative of all our guests feedback this information helps us to better our service in areas that need immediate attention and also go beyond our guest expectations. We are glad you made us part of the trip here to St. Thomas.

I will use the feedback and inform the staff of the appreciation you expressed of their service and
hospitality. Please continue to view our upcoming specials and deals you can track us through
Facebook BW Carib Beach Resort and bw.com to take advantage of our great deals.

Again thank you for choosing the BW Carib Beach Resort and we hope to see you soon on your next trip to St. Thomas. Have a great Winter!

Sincerely,
Kanema Ayala- Abraham
General Manager
BW Carib Beach Resort
1(340)774-2525 ext. 1
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manati, Puerto Rico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Very nice hotel,beautiful views, nice bedrooms very comfortable. You feel you're in paradise when you wake up in the morning and you see the sunrise, the mountains and the beach all toghether. The hotel is close to the airport.

Room Tip: Rooms in front of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCaribBeach, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Carib Beach.
I have reported your remark about our carpet to the General Manager and Maintenance Supervisor and apologise for the impression that left.
I am happy that you did enjoy both your room and our restaurant and look forward to having you stay with us again when you travel to St. Thomas.
Kind regards,
Debi Gerson-Locke
Director of Sales and Marketing
sales_marketing@caribbeachresort.com
340-774-2525, ext 5010
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Yes, this is right by the airport. You can literally walk to the airport in less than a minute. The appearance of this hotel is like a motel. No, elevator so hopefully you are in good shape. The carpet in the hallway were torn and dirty. Surprisingly, the rooms are decent. Had the ocean view so not much complain there. This hotel is great for business traveler like myself. I only need a clean room to sleep. This hotel does not have beach access but you can use the beach at the Best Western Emerald.

The cafe bar at this place isn't too bad. Decent price for beer and liquor and the food is okay too. If you are coming to St. Thomas for family vacation stay at the Emerald.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort

Address: 70-C Lindbergh Bay, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE BEST WESTERN CARIB BEACH RESORT offers you the best value and the closest location to the airport in St. Thomas. Newly renovated, Carib Beach is just steps away from the airport,a few minutes walk to the breathtaking turquoise waters of Lindbergh Bay Beach and 2.5 miles from downtown and duty-free shopping. Known as one of St.Thomas's landmarks, Carib Beach offers you a variety of newly renovated non-smoking rooms to choose from all with private patios or balconies,flat screen T.V.'s,premium channels, coffeemaker,in room safes, iron and ironing boards, A/C and complimentary WIFI. Resort amenities include a freshwater pool overlooking the Caribbean, beach area,complimentary parking, game room, meeting facilities, tour desk, cyber corner in the lobby and a Monday Night Managers Cocktail Party. Our beach side restaurant and bar Fajita's offers you a panoramic view of Lindbergh Bay and serves up breakfast and dinner 7 days a week. Enjoy our scrumptious breakfast buffet or our made to order breakfast menu. Come sun setting with us and sip on the best Margarita's on the island as well as the best Mexican food rated by locals and visitors alike!Carib Beach; secluded, peaceful and overlooking the Caribbean Sea is your home away from home in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carib Beach Hotel St. Thomas
St Thomas Best Western
BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Carib Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.