We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windward Passage Hotel

Save Saved
You added Windward Passage Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Windward Passage Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Veterans Drive - Waterfront | P.O. Box 640, Charlotte Amalie 00804, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel amenities
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Great Location...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

It's located not exactly where the ships dock but it's not too far away....

the shopping is accessible by foot of by the tourist buses that go by every 10 minutes. They could charge you $2 for going one way or up to $ 5 if you don't get it clear to begin with....

The food at the hotel is not impressive and I would advise trying out the flavors from the restaurants around...

The breakfast was good though even though it wasn't complimentary...

The front desk staff are helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip R, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your review of Windward Passage Hyginus. You offer some great advice on the "safari buses" for visitors to St. Thomas. They are a great inexpensive way to get around the island but you DO need to check with the driver before getting on board to see what he/she charges.

I'm sorry to hear you weren't impressed with our restaurant. Our new chef came aboard a few months ago and has been tweeking our menu to get the right combination of dishes for all of our US and international travelers. I would encourage you to stop by the next time your on the island to try some of his new dishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    92
    101
    54
    57
See reviews for
64
122
31
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Definitely not what you would want for a multi-day stay. It is tired looking, worn around the edges. Nothing in the decor to cheer you up. And not in the staff, either. The doorman/bellhop could probably win a gold medal in surliness. I asked directions to a fairly nearby restaurant--actually the #2 rated on Trip Adviser. No one was sure of exactly where it was, and couldn't be troubled to find out.

The room wasn't really dirty, but the carpet and the upholstery on the chair were stained.

Such a beautiful island; such a dismal hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip R, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thanks for posting your review of Windward Passage. While our staff prides themselves on keeping the hotel immaculate, finding carpet and upholstery that is not in excellent condition for our guests is not acceptable. Fortunately , we have a new shipment of hard good that will be in rooms that need a face lift in the coming months.

I was very dissapointed to hear that our bell staff wasn't able to assist you with directions to the restaurant you were looking for. The front office team does it's best to keep up with the seemingly endless restaurants and other new dining options on the island but in your case we dropped the ball. We will continue to try to keep updated to the offerings in the future, and have added an electronic option in the lobby for guests who wish to do their own research.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We spent a night here as seaborne seaplanes managed to screw up our bookings for 8 people and we could only fly out the next day! Try get a renovated room as the others are quite dated. The small,older waitress at breakfast was amazing and so strong and helpful. We walked down the rd to a restaurant for dinner.Was fine to spend a night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Windward is close to and you can walk to many downtown activities and attractions. The view from our room was obstructed. Beautiful beach. We walked to Fort Christian. Restaurants there and in walking distance - we went to the pie hole. Room was clean, view obstructed, service practically NON EXISTENT for most of stay.

Room Tip: Ask of the view is obstructed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchantville, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We did not enjoy our stay at your hotel.

Our room was so cold when we checked in that we changed the thermostat from 62 to 70
degrees. Upon returning to the room late that evening, the air conditioner was not on
and the room had a musty/moldy smell. Since the remote control was in Chinese symbols, we
could not figure out how to turn it on. At 2:00am my husband called the front desk and a
maintenance man was sent to our room. He also could not work the remote control and
offered to have us switch rooms. Since we were already in bed and planned to check out
the next day we declined.

We then had breakfast in the courtyard of the hotel. The waitress sat us at a table with
dirty place mats. Rather than get clean ones, she turned them over and wiped them with a
dry napkin. The table itself was also not cleaned.

Upon check out I advised the clerk about the malfunctioning air conditioner, but she did
not seem to care.

Our flight home was cancelled that day, but we found another hotel rather than return to
the Windward Passage.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip R, Director of Sales at Windward Passage Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Carolyn, Please first allow me to apologize for the issues you experienced during your
recent stay. I appreciate hearing both the good and bad comments from our
guests to help us improve our services and find out where we are "dropping the
ball". Please be assured that I will forward your message onto my team to be
sure we investigate each item and get them corrected.

The room temperatures are controlled in each room individually, and are turned
down when rooms are vacant so that during the hours when the sun is coming
through the windows, the room stays at a reasonable temperature for the next
arriving guest. For both comfort and to save energy we have relooked at the
settings and are adjusting for this time of year when the sun isn't quite as
strong. Regarding the remote control, I'm trying to locate the one you found
with Chinese symbols as we order all of our units from a US company so this
seems odd, but not completely impossible. Thank you for letting me know.

The musty smell you experienced is a problem at a lot of Caribbean destination
hotels, and is an ongoing battle with the moist air. We routinely go through
and try to eliminate this problem as best we can, but in your case we were not
successful.

As far as the waitress turning over a placemat that is completely
unacceptable, and this has already been addressed with the entire wait staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel is perfectly located downtown and 5 minutes from the airport. (which is why we chose it) We stayed here to catch a next night flight out. The pool is awesome, but the rooms are dated. From what i hear, it's one of the newly remodeled ones on the island and yet it still seemed outdated. I will stay here again next month when i return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The windward Paggage hotel which is right next to the seaplane base s a good place to arrive from st Croix. It s also pretty convenient to the airport but far enough away so that the flights in and out of the airport are eno a noise problem.

The hotel has full services and a friendly staff. No beach though.

From the hotel one can take the "Safari" buses all over the island for $1 or $2 depending on how far you are going.

A room facing the harbor has a good view of the comings and goings of private yachts and ferries.

Room Tip: Try to get a rom facing the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windward Passage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windward Passage Hotel

Address: Veterans Drive - Waterfront | P.O. Box 640, Charlotte Amalie 00804, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windward Passage Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windward Passage Hotel is truly your bargain in paradise. We are perfect for business travelers and the ideal choice for short stays and shopping trips. Centrally located, overlooking the picturesque Charlotte Amalie harbor, we are within walking distance of the major downtown shopping district and an even shorter walk away from the ferry and seaplane docks for transit to nearby islands. Transfer to the beaches is convenient for all our guests, so they miss out on nothing on our tropical island. Our Ocean View Rooms boast a breath-taking view of the harbor and our staff is courteous and friendly. We are constantly updating and improving our facilities to serve you better. You are welcome to stop by and pay us a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Windward Passage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Amalie Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Charlotte Amalie
Windward Passage Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windward Passage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.