We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galleon House Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Galleon House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   31 Kongens Gade | P.O. Box 6577, Charlotte Amalie 00804, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
DeForest WI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“a good find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

we stayed just for 1 night and were very happy with the accommodations. our room was comfortable, the breakfast was great and the view was breath taking ... conveniently located in the downtown area...our host told us where to go for shopping, food. we could not have been happier. the pool was great as well

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    79
    37
    19
    18
See reviews for
19
124
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here before heading to a conference at Marriott. A wonderful spot with easy access to shopping, restaurants and walking tours. The staff was superb and gave us honest opinions about where to go and what to see. Gail even walked us over to a closeby walking tour of Blackbeards, making personal introductions to their staff.
The price was easily a third of Marriotts and the atmosphere and staff worth three times more than their price. A cooked to order breakfast, excellent views and personal service makes this basic bed & breakfast worth returning for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I really wanted to give to this place a better rating, because it is run by nice people and has a great location. I loved breakfast on the big terrace. However, the room was so bad that I can't give more than two stars. We were in one of the rooms with one double and one single bed: according to other reviews, there may be better rooms, too bad we got this one. It looks old, there are holes in the walls, very old and stained furniture, mosquito nets repaired (very badly) with tape, and the bathroom was just disgusting. I am really sorry I have to give 2 stars, but I'd never stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montesano, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights on our trip to St. Thomas. It is close to downtown shops and restaurants. Room was very clean, maid service was excellent every day fresh towels and beds made. Balcony had a great view of town and the bay. Breakfast was very good, made to order with 3 options (2 eggs scrambled or fried with 2 slices of toast and 2 pieces bacon or sausage) (3 pancakes with 2 bacon or sausage) (Fruit plate had 3 diff types of fruit and a bagel or muffin). All come with choice of orange juice or cranberry juice. Tea and coffee ready at 7am, breakfast served to your table between 8 to 930.

Internet is not free here but you can pay for it if you need it. Pool looked nice but we didn't use it.

The hotel offered us beach towels for use outside of the hotel.

You can buy cold drinks and snacks at the front desk and I even heard the owner offer to bring more drinks to the pool if anyone needed more.

All in all, this hotel was comfortable, quiet and very close to town. Friendly staff, great service and good location will bring me back to this place again.

Room Tip: If you can't do as many steps, make sure you request one of the lower rooms, as the higher the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longyearbyen, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Small place up on the hill side. Clean and nice. Little pool to chill, open terrasse where the also serve breakfast which was really good.
Bed and Breakfast place, you can buy some drinks but no other food. Internet available for pay. 3$ for 1 hour. If we should go to Charlotte Amalie again, we would come back to that hotel. Amazing view from the rooms.

Room Tip: Choose the upper floors.Nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The staff was wonderful and made our stay very comfortable. It's not a fancy place, but it was clean and had a warm, friendly vibe. We later moved to the Marriot for my husband's conference, and although the rooms cost 3 times what the Galleon cost, we both felt the Galleon was more comfortable and welcoming. The location is also perfect for exploring the town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had a great time staying at Galleon House. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was great. A wonderful view from the Galleon House. Would stay there, if we were to come back to St. Thomas, USVI.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Galleon House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleon House Bed & Breakfast

Also Known As:
Galleon House Bed And Breakfast
Galleon House Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Galleon House Hotel
Galleon House St Thomas
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Address: 31 Kongens Gade | P.O. Box 6577, Charlotte Amalie 00804, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Galleon House Bed & Breakfast 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galleon House is a quaint, small hotel on Government Hill in downtown Charlotte Amalie, St Thomas. Enjoy your complimentary home cooked breakfast on the verandah with gorgeous views of downtown and the harbor. We are walking distance to the ferries to St John and British Virgin Islands as well as all the bars, restaurants and fantastic shopping that St Thomas is known for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Galleon House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galleon House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.