We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, Good Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galleon House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Galleon House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   31 Kongens Gade | P.O. Box 6577, Charlotte Amalie 00804, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel amenities
Montesano, Washington
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Good Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights on our trip to St. Thomas. It is close to downtown shops and restaurants. Room was very clean, maid service was excellent every day fresh towels and beds made. Balcony had a great view of town and the bay. Breakfast was very good, made to order with 3 options (2 eggs scrambled or fried with 2 slices of toast and 2 pieces bacon or sausage) (3 pancakes with 2 bacon or sausage) (Fruit plate had 3 diff types of fruit and a bagel or muffin). All come with choice of orange juice or cranberry juice. Tea and coffee ready at 7am, breakfast served to your table between 8 to 930.

Internet is not free here but you can pay for it if you need it. Pool looked nice but we didn't use it.

The hotel offered us beach towels for use outside of the hotel.

You can buy cold drinks and snacks at the front desk and I even heard the owner offer to bring more drinks to the pool if anyone needed more.

All in all, this hotel was comfortable, quiet and very close to town. Friendly staff, great service and good location will bring me back to this place again.

Room Tip: If you can't do as many steps, make sure you request one of the lower rooms, as the higher the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    105
    48
    21
    24
See reviews for
25
160
34
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longyearbyen, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Small place up on the hill side. Clean and nice. Little pool to chill, open terrasse where the also serve breakfast which was really good.
Bed and Breakfast place, you can buy some drinks but no other food. Internet available for pay. 3$ for 1 hour. If we should go to Charlotte Amalie again, we would come back to that hotel. Amazing view from the rooms.

Room Tip: Choose the upper floors.Nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The staff was wonderful and made our stay very comfortable. It's not a fancy place, but it was clean and had a warm, friendly vibe. We later moved to the Marriot for my husband's conference, and although the rooms cost 3 times what the Galleon cost, we both felt the Galleon was more comfortable and welcoming. The location is also perfect for exploring the town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had a great time staying at Galleon House. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was great. A wonderful view from the Galleon House. Would stay there, if we were to come back to St. Thomas, USVI.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Ok....we aren't high maintenance but we aren't hostel fans either. The good: great view from our room and $3 beer on a nice open air deck that has an ocean view! The not so good: 84 stairs (or 6 flights) to our room (not fun with luggage in 90 degree heat). Your Mom would not approve of the "cleanliness". Pack ALL of your bathroom supplies as you ONLY get small bars of soap and there are no hair dryers or irons in the room. The air conditioner is "governed" and if you are lucky the housekeeper will leave it on while you are out. If you rent a car, do NOT plan on returning to your room during the day on week days- there will NOT be a spot to park due to the government workers who work next door. Also leave NOTHING in your vehicle, we were broken into 2 times and no one seems to care. Walking at night is not the most desirable (we awoke to gun shots one night). And the free breakfast...although "free" is always nice but be aware as there are only 3 menu options and you will need a snack shortly after. So if you are considering staying here for more than one night, choose wisely as the above comments might have been easier to swallow at a lower room rate. There are several other hotel options the offer the basics at close to the same cost. Hopefully this information helps to make a wise decision. Have a great trip!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview Heights, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We just came from V.I. and had a wonderful stay at the Galleon House! Rooms are cozy and extremely clean. Staff was very accomidating and personable on both trips. This stay Gail was an amazing host and took care of us even after our stay. We highly recommend staying here!! Breakfast in the morning is included and the balcony has a great view. Stairs are a little tiresome with luggage but a nice cold beer at the front desk will cure your tired legs :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Moved here from the Best Western at Lindberg Bay. The location is very good, the staff is friendly and the breakfast plentiful. The room was basic, but even as an interior room, less gloomy that the Carib by the airport. Only regret, they charged for internet. I would have been happy to sit on the porch drinking beer from the lobby, had they provided free wifi - just sayin'. As a European, the number of steps up to the reception didn't pose a problem.

Room Tip: Probably better to get an exterior room if they are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Galleon House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleon House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 31 Kongens Gade | P.O. Box 6577, Charlotte Amalie 00804, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Galleon House Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galleon House is a quaint, small hotel on Government Hill in downtown Charlotte Amalie, St Thomas. Enjoy your complimentary home cooked breakfast on the verandah with gorgeous views of downtown and the harbor. We are walking distance to the ferries to St John and British Virgin Islands as well as all the bars, restaurants and fantastic shopping that St Thomas is known for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Galleon House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleon House Bed And Breakfast
Galleon House Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Galleon House St Thomas
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galleon House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.