We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bluebeard's Castle Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bluebeard's Castle Resort to your Saves list
Bluebeard's Castle Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Bluebeard's Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A beautiful view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed in the hilltop villas for a week. The room we stayed in had recently updated furniture and bedding. However, some older aspects of the room were still present. There were a couple cracked floor tiles and the microwave, while it worked, was manufactured in 1987. Overall, nothing that affected the quality of the stay. The studio room was big enough for us to be comfortable for a week. The small kitchenette was just enough space to cook a few simple meals and save some money by eating in. There were dishes and common kitchen tools available in the room. The hotel is up a large hill from the town, so don't plan to walk around too much. We found that walking down the hill to town and taking a cab back up was the way to go. We tried to walk up the hill once, and never did again. All the folks at the hotel were kind. The Cabana Bar had reasonably priced, good food. Check in was a little slow, but remember, when you're on St. Thomas, you're on "island time". The concierge was very helpful. Hotel events (tour, beach shuttle) were convenient and the hotel's taxi driver is a wonderful guy. Overall, it was a great stay. My advice is this: if you're expecting the nicest hotel you'll ever stay at, this is not it. If you're looking to a quality, less expensive place to sleep after enjoying a day on the beach, you've found the right place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear EB0320,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Castle!

We are always updating and adding new amenities to our historic property, so I am sure you will find additional changes to delight you upon your return.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to St Thomas.

Thank you
Steve Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    157
    74
    22
    20
See reviews for
64
181
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have been going to St. Thomas in February for a few years now and always stay at Bluebeard's. It has always been nice but this year was the best. We were there for 2 weeks and had a wonderful time. Bluebeard's have 2 of the best restauratnts on the island, plus a pool bar where you can get breakfast, lunch or and island special drink called the Bushwacker, there is a store on site where you can buy a variety of items including sandwich fixing & bottles of wine or 6 packs, if you call ahead they will stock your frig for you with items you want. If you want the best tour in the world Canine Joe is usually available, just ask at the desk. The landscaping is beautiful with several Lily ponds with lots of fish in them. The staff is really great, ready to help and friendly.
We love the location because we can walk to town in less than 15 minutes. The view from the Castle is to die for, located on a hill overlooking the bay where the cruise ships come in or Charlotte Amalie. If we can get a reservation next year we plan to go back and stay at Bluebeard's.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Ruby 46011,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. I'm delighted that your vacation was an enjoyable one and that members of our team played such an instrumental role in your stay. We pride ourselves in the standard of service and accommodations our guests have come to expect from Bluebeard's Castle.

While Canine Joe is not an employee of the Castle he is one of the team.

We also are thrilled to have so many great restaurants on property, and two of them being on the list of top 10 on the Island; Banana Tree and Room With A View.

Our new Castle Store is settling in with so many wonderful items to pick from.

Thank you again for such a thoughtful review. We hope to welcome you back again very soon!

Steve Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, CT
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We recently took a break from the New England winter and flew to a favorite spot, St Thomas, USVI. We stayed at Blackbeard's Castle on our first visit and have continued to do so. We have only stayed in studio and one bedroom units, the latter being more comfortable and homelike. Many rooms have nice views and all that we have been in are bright and airy. The staff is uniformly pleasant and helpful, even when the front desk is a veritable beehive. There are three restaurants plus a poolside bar/breakfast place on the premises, each one a step up in menu and appropriate dress. All are good at what they do and very attractive after a busy day. As this is written, they are installing a small store and delicatessen. Very handy for anyone who wants to eat in once in a while. The greatest compliment I can give is that when we return to St. Thomas we will definitely stay at Blackbeard's.

Room Tip: We have only stayed in units that have some sort of kitchen setup, The one bedroom units have a well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsville, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Bluebeard's Castle. While other reviewers find faults, which alarmed me and lowered my expectations, my wife and I found the staff to be pleasant, professional, and accommodating. Front desk managers, maintenance people, store clerks, and concierge were all pleasant and capable of meeting our needs. The building and grounds are improving and the well traffic'd areas are in good order. Their priorities are in the right locations.

There was a mix up regarding our room. However, the staff quickly responded to our need and assigned us a nice room in the Pirate's Pension (Frigate) building with a lovely view over the bay. There was no indication that the resort was at fault. Perhaps our travel agent failed.

Here's my top ten positive comments:
1.) The resort is on a hill with unique, beautiful views of the bay.
2.) The lobby is newly remodeled and attractive.
3.) There is a new store within the lobby for small food items and gifts. Nicely built and run.
4.) Our room was very clean, spacious, and accommodating. Solid and Quiet.
5.) Maintenance crews were very respectful as they worked on remodeling.
6.) The pool area is nicely maintained and the ideal spot to sun bathe
7.) We used taxis all week long and they came quickly when called for. Bellhop did well.
8.) You can comfortably walk to downtown or the harbor if your young and physically fit.
9.) While there are three restaurants on the property, there is no overpowering smells.
10.) Security guards paroled the property making a safe location more comfortable.

Here are my top five negative comments:
1.) It's on a hill. Handicap accessibility is impossible in some locations.
2.) There are a LOT of stairs with poor or no lighting. It's an insurance agent's nightmare.
3.) There are sections of the grounds that are in great disrepair and possibly unsafe.
4.) There was trash, broken beer bottles, restaurant goo, and a leg bone possibly from a goat all along our direct path from our villa to the main lobby. (I wish I was exaggerating).
5.) It's on a hill. Bring an AED (Automated External Defibrillator) with you if you walk up it. LOL.

One last observation: While there are both young and old people staying at this resort and all are very nice people. Retired people dominate the scene. It's like going to church - more white heads than anyone else. I didn't observe any young families.

The three restaurants are well managed and busy in the evenings. The restaurants are within the resort complex but under a separate ownership. The owner gave me a very good tip as to where to find cigars on the island.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear holybagpipes,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your stay at the Castle. I do apologize for your experience upon arrival.

I am happy that you enjoyed your upgraded accommodations as well as many other aspects of your stay.

As I have mentioned before our Castle is alive with historic charm; all of our rooms were renovated 2 years ago. The spectacular historic lobby building overlooking the harbor was also completely renovated and brought back to its former glory. We continue to renovate with no disturbance to any guest.

We look forward to your return visit!

Thank you

Steve Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Room was to small for three people. Wasn't what we were told we would get, not very clean but beaches are beautiful and private.:)met some new friends so guess it was a good thing. Very expensive for water and food . Not very clean . Island closets down if no cruise ships come in

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Livetpool,

As I have mentioned in previous TripAdvisor responses we are fully committed to providing our guests a wonderful experience at the Castle and we accept our responsibility to do so.

We sincerely hope that our guests are comfortable to reach out to us while at the Castle and allow us the opportunity to make things right.

We do hope you will come and try our resort again.

Thank you for your feedback.

Steve Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Bluebeard Castle in Charlotte Amalie is one of the few hotels near the centre of town. Great view of the whole town, spacous rooms with great balconies.
Note that towels are no changed if you stay only for a few days, and that the hotel is basically Time Share, meaning there is always many owners, e.g around the pool.
Restaurants and bars are private enterprises, which means nothing cann be charged to the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear travellor022,

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your experience here at Bluebeard's Castle.

We agree with you, our guestrooms are "spacious rooms with great balconies".

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Thank you
Steve Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I traveled here over the new year with my family (husband and two teenagers). It was a little different that what I had expected. We were torn between this and the other Bluebeard (beach resort). In the end we chose Bluebeards castle for the shopping and down town experience. First off.... bad first impression. We got there at 4, and the room was not ready. We confirmed that check in time was 4, and the clerk agreed that yes, check in time was 4, and we were allowed to check in, but our room was not ready until well after 5. Perhaps this is an island/culture thing, but to me check in and room availablilty are generally the same thing. The second bad surprise was a per/person energy surcharge that we didn't know about. It was $7/person per day- so an extra $200 that was required at check in. We were not notified of that. The conceriege was helpful at directing us to down town and church times, etc. Other than that, we did not use this service. We were in a one bedroom condo- pretty nice size- that overlooked the cruise ship docks. It was a nice view. We loved to look at the cruise ships, and we got a good sunset too. We ate our meals out on the deck and it was very nice. The unit was nice, but minimally supplied with things are normally expected in a RCI time share. eg: one roll of toilet paper, two beach towels. We were able to get more toilet paper- one roll at a time- upon request. Also did supply us with additional towels. It was a little annoying that we had to pay energy for 4 people energy, but that we were told the units were supplied for 2 and we had to make calls for more this and more that to supply our party of 4. The grounds were OK- lots of stairs- not really any landscaped gardens or anything like that. There were two tennis courts side by side. One was totally in ruins, and the other was adequate and we enjoyed an afternoon of tennis. We brought our own rackets and balls- not sure if they have or not. The pool was small but pleasant and had a good view of the bay. Ihave to emphasize the stairs thing. There are some elevators from the parking lot to check in, and from check in floor to restaurants, but thye are of the single person wheelchair variety and I'm sure appreciated by wheelchair bound clients. Short of that, you need to climb a substantial amount of stairs to get into and out of most of the condos, to the pool, to the restaurants. I loved getting up early and jogging down by the boat dock (before the cruise ship passengers got off). You'll have to check your route carefully as it took me a couple of days to find a route that was safe. Some of the roads have no shoulder at all, and with some blind curves I felt quite vulnerable. We did have to do day trips to get to the beachers. There was some reciprical agreement with the other Blue Beards beach resort in regard to the SCUBA classes. We did our SCUBA at the other site (lessons in the pool) and stayed a bit afterward to enjoy the beach at that resort. Might consider staying at the Blue beard beach resort next time, but that it pretty remote and there are no shops or restaurants to walk to, but right on a fairly private uncrowded beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasoned_travler56, General Manager at Bluebeard's Castle Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear roadtripper10,

Thank you for your review.

The historic nature of our property can never be reproduced, we value it highly. Our gorgeous lobby mansion was once home to the former Governor of the Island and is alive with history.

While we are not directly on the beach we do have our gorgeous outdoor pool overlooking the cruise ships and and activities taking place.

As I have mentioned in previous tripadvisor reply's but I never tire of saying; the location of the Castle gives the most outstanding harbor and town views from any resort on the Island.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Bluebeard's Castle.

Thank you
Steve Buckley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bluebeard's Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebeard's Castle Resort

Address: Bluebeard's Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluebeard's Castle Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluebeard's Castle is an historic property dating back to the 1600's. The resort occupies an entire hilltop with spectacular views overlooking the harbor and town of Charlotte Amalie. Its signature red rooftops are among the first sights for arriving cruise passengers.The resort includes a centuries-old fortress bearing the name "Bluebeard," after the infamous pirate, and check-in takes place in the former residence of the Danish governor of the island. This tropical paradise is the perfect place for a private getaway as it is set on a secluded hilltop and overlooks the harbor of St. Thomas. Bluebeard's Castle is centrally located in the most desirable part of the island with world class shopping minutes away. With only a short drive from some of the most popular beaches in the Caribbean where you can enjoy boating, scuba diving, snorkeling and windsurfing. The island itself offers a wonderful assortment of duty-free shopping, world-class restaurants (including the top-rated ROOM WITH A VIEW on location!), hot night spots, and a variety of local flavor to satisfy every taste. This resort features history, breathtaking views, and easy access to town. Beaches are literally minutes away so you can visit them all including easy ferry rides to St. John and the British Virgin Islands (Tortola and Virgin Gorda). You will see why owners at the resort are passionate about their units. It is this passion that will once again be the reason that Bluebeard's Castle will become a sought after destination resort. Many lucky RCI members will take advantage of this now! The resort is in the midst of a historic multi-million dollar remodel that will change all that you have heard. The proof is found in our regular maintenance reports as well as our news and picture sections. Also, schedules of on-resort dining are now posted in these reports. Owners are excited about what the future holds and you should be as well. Spread the word. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bluebeard's Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebeards Castle Charlotte Amalie
Hotel Bluebeards Castle
Bluebeards Castle St Thomas
Bluebeard's Castle Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluebeard's Castle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.