We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Easter!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frederick Lutheran Church

Frederick Lutheran Church
Norre Gade, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
340/776-1315
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A Georgian-style church with a sweeping stairway and antique chandelier.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Happy Easter!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband and I worshiped at Frederick Lutheran on Easter Sunday. The congregation was warm and welcoming, which was not surprising. The service was moving, inspiring, upbeat, and celebratory. We loved singing many familiar hymns and were especially moved while passing the peace to "Oh Happy Day!".

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    24
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Friendly Congregation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Celebrated Easter At Frederick Lutheran. Glad I did. It was an authentic St Thomas experience;.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield Center, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful Historical Church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Lovely place even just to climb up those steps and peek in at! Honestly, that's all I did, but it's just so gorgeous.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overlooked, but worth a walk inside.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Classic church from the Danish days, a walk around the inside reveals touching memorial plaques.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Level Contributor
161 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Peaceful place to escape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

This church was built in 1793. The pews, each with its own doors, were rented to familes of the congregation. Mass is still held today. What beautiful mahogany alter. It was a nice retreat to escape the heat (not that I was complaining) for a short time. This is one of the many places to explore in Charlotte Amalie if you're like me and don't like to shop.

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frederick Lutheran Church also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to Frederick Lutheran Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frederick Lutheran Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.