We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location- tired property.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort to your Saves list
Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free GoPro Rental
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful location- tired property.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We spent to 2 nights at morning star beach area of the property. Beautiful views and amazing ocean front location . You will not find a nicer pool setup and everywhere you turn from walkways to restaurants you will be stunned by the gorgeous views of st Thomas and the Caribbean ocean. That said, that will be the one and only highlight of this property. The rooms are very tired, bathrooms grungy, no electrical outlets, room keys never worked and overall has a rundown feeling. We put up with it all because we had such a beautiful location. What was bigger turn off then the datedness of the property, was the staff. They were rude as I have seen or experienced in many years. They were indifferent condescending and really felt
Like you were putting them out when you even asked simple questions such as 'what is my room rate?' We would be locked out of our room 4-5 times a day and instead of someone escorting us to the room to see if the new key worked, we would have to keep running back and forth to get
New ones. We finally stationed a family member at the front desk to wait for a text from another family member to text whether or not the key worked. Front desk
Couldn't be less interested... Someone else's in room dining remnants sat outside our room for our entire stay. Bar none was the service at the pool bar and the pool restaurant. We had menus thrown at us, we were given dirty looks and when we finally talked amongst ourselves of requesting a new server, suddenly the waitresses attitude changes. It was so bad we almost walked out, but decided to stay only because of the view. As an aside , Drinks at bar in Dixie cup size full of ice and will set you back $12-$15. We travel extensively, and They need a full overhaul of the property and staff before we will return.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    930
    852
    420
    191
    112
See reviews for
638
1,110
47
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,051)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our stay at Marriott Frenchman's reef was incredible. The staff was beyond helpful, and nice. They were a little bit late checking us in but gave us a spa pass, which I thought was very nice, we ended up spending an entire day at the spa, and the amenities they had were fantastic. When we got there, we booked 2 activities from the adventure center. One being "The Cat" which took us on a half day trip to see Turtle Cove, where we snorkeled with sea turtles, the crew was so much fun and we had a great time. Not to mention at the front desk we were able to rent a GoPro for free for the day which made our experience so much better, and now we have amazing video and photos from the tour. Our next adventure was, night time kayaking. Our tour guide was Nate, and he was awesome and very knowledgable of the area. We also loved all the bars and restaurants they had on property. The Rum Bar was probably our favorite bar, the bartenders were phenomenal! We will certainly return one day! I love this resort!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Olivia in Aqua Terra was awesome....she was very friendly and attentive and took great care of us. Also shirely on the waffle station went above and beyond to give us great service. We will definitely be back!!

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooksett, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It is not too often that someone make an impression, but this young personable man ( Phill) at the Rum Bar at the Marriott Frenchman's Reef did just that. He was friendly, helpful and I am sure he would be capable of succeeding in any future endeavors.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Loved our room overlooking the ocean. The beach was perfect with service right from my chair. The little beach cafe has a great breakfast, superb egg white omelet. Nice sitting areas all around the property.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Marriott Frenchman's Resort was a beautiful place with an amazing view of St. Thomas and the gorgeous blue ocean. The resort has a small beach and 3 pools, all with fantastic views. We ate every breakfast there. You can get about anything at Coco Joes and everything at their buffet. We also ate at Sand Bar which is called their "sports bar." Not what I would consider a sports bar! We only saw 2 TVs! The food was mediocre. The reason I give it only a rating of 4 is that it is extremely expensive. Not only the rooms, which ours was just a plain hotel room, but the food as well. The staff was absolutely delightful.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We too were concerned after reading some of the negative comments.
Thank goodness they didn't influence our decision. Interestingly enough we had the opportunity to observe one of the "Negative Nellies" while there. On arrival he snapped at a Bell Man because he missed one of the transportation vehicles, the other at the pool because he put a towel on one of the pool chairs and left it vacant for three hours and became irate upon return and it was occupied. His poor wife was mortified at his behavior.
Our point is some people will NEVER be happy even in paradise! Don't let these people deter you from a trip of a life time.

Still as beautiful as years ago. The Compound and Staff couldn't have been more accommodating and kind! It's all how you treat people. Enjoy the Blessing.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort

Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, the Frenchman's Reef Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. The hotel features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50"TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.