We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very personable energetic young man named Phill at Rum Bar at the Marriott Frenchman's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort to your Saves list
Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free GoPro Rental
Hooksett, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A very personable energetic young man named Phill at Rum Bar at the Marriott Frenchman's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It is not too often that someone make an impression, but this young personable man ( Phill) at the Rum Bar at the Marriott Frenchman's Reef did just that. He was friendly, helpful and I am sure he would be capable of succeeding in any future endeavors.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    928
    852
    420
    190
    112
See reviews for
637
1,109
47
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,051)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Loved our room overlooking the ocean. The beach was perfect with service right from my chair. The little beach cafe has a great breakfast, superb egg white omelet. Nice sitting areas all around the property.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Marriott Frenchman's Resort was a beautiful place with an amazing view of St. Thomas and the gorgeous blue ocean. The resort has a small beach and 3 pools, all with fantastic views. We ate every breakfast there. You can get about anything at Coco Joes and everything at their buffet. We also ate at Sand Bar which is called their "sports bar." Not what I would consider a sports bar! We only saw 2 TVs! The food was mediocre. The reason I give it only a rating of 4 is that it is extremely expensive. Not only the rooms, which ours was just a plain hotel room, but the food as well. The staff was absolutely delightful.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We too were concerned after reading some of the negative comments.
Thank goodness they didn't influence our decision. Interestingly enough we had the opportunity to observe one of the "Negative Nellies" while there. On arrival he snapped at a Bell Man because he missed one of the transportation vehicles, the other at the pool because he put a towel on one of the pool chairs and left it vacant for three hours and became irate upon return and it was occupied. His poor wife was mortified at his behavior.
Our point is some people will NEVER be happy even in paradise! Don't let these people deter you from a trip of a life time.

Still as beautiful as years ago. The Compound and Staff couldn't have been more accommodating and kind! It's all how you treat people. Enjoy the Blessing.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I spent a week at the Frenchman's Reef and had a fabulous time. The location is gorgeous, with spectacular views of the water, and the property is very large with something for everyone. Restaurants, bars, spa, pools, beach, with access to water sports (equipment was included in our package, which was a nice plus) and plenty of space to wander, explore and spread out. Seriously, you never need to leave the property if you don't want to, but if you do want to explore, the resort is located a short taxi ride from Havensight Mall, Yacht Haven Grande Mall, the Skyride and other attractions. We went to Magen's Bay Beach and while it was on the other side of the island, it still took only about 15-20 minutes to get there. There were plenty of things to do, but we were enjoying the pool and beach so much (the weather was perfect all week), we didn't get to half the places we thought we would (more to do next time!). The staff at the hotel was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The property itself is around 40 years old, and while there are always maintenance items that need to be addressed in a hotel this large, especially in a tropical environment, I thought they did a reasonably good job of keeping the hotel in shape. There was work going on while we were there, and it appears that they are continually repairing and updating different areas of the hotel (nothing that impacted us during our trip, however). While the atmosphere of every restaurant was excellent, we did find the food at the Sand Bar to be less than appealing, and avoided the very expensive Havana Blue based on some feedback we received from other travelers. We had lunch at the Sunset Grill and the food there was good. Coco Joe's (on Morningstar Beach) was good, depending on what was ordered. We found the French toast to be less than stellar, but other breakfast options were good. I highly recommend the breakfast buffet at Aqua Terra, especially if breakfast is included in your package. The infinity pool, with swim-up bar and hot tub, was a big hit with adults, but seating is limited, so there was always a battle for the chairs, with people saving chairs by 7 a.m. They could also use more umbrellas, since most everyone looks for some respite from the sun during the day. While the infinity pool was picturesque, the other main pool (which catered more to families--no bar) was more crowded with kids, and again, shade was hard to come by. We found the Morningstar pool and beach to be quieter and offer more shade. Again, it was more family-oriented, but located right on the beach, it was never really crowded. You can walk to any of the Marriott's three properties (Frenchman's Reef, Frenchman's Cove and Morningstar) but there are A LOT of stairs everywhere you go; the hotel offers shuttle service between the three locations. Taxis are also plentiful and we rarely waited more than a couple of minutes for a ride. My only complaints were that the WiFi service out by the main pools was pretty poor and it would be nice if they offered some kind of a nightclub somewhere on the property with music/dancing. By 9:00, only the bars were open and if you're not much of a drinker, there wasn't much else to do (and they closed at midnight). Otherwise, it was a great experience and I would definitely go back to this property.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the water--trust me, you want to wake up to that picture-postcard view eac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Let me start with saying I'm a timeshare owner and that we have throughly enjoyed our stay but something magical happened today the wife and I decided to venture next door to the Marriott Frenchman's Reef to soak up a more upbeat atmosphere, few Rays and some new food choices.. WOW what an amazing experience the pool bar bartenders Chris A.k.a "dallasboy" and Tiffany rejuvenated our stay with incredible cocktails, shots, and a awesome conversation!!! "I've never had a shot of 151 thru a straw" Now I must say with a 10 year age difference Chris and his DJ skills kept our hips moving along with everyone else in the pool. The wife may have picked up a few dance moves along the way as well, and forgotten to eat her fish tacos I hate when that happens... However it was a shame we had to leave early due to some sort of a conference event but we will be back in a few weeks overall an awesome experience!!!!

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP_Nel-GM, General Manager at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Sherwoodfam4,

Thank you for stopping by the Frenchman’s Reef infinity pools for some fun! We’ll let Chris and Tiffany know they kept you and your wife entertained with great music and drinks.

We’ll see you again in a few weeks. Be sure to try the Rum Bar at Sunset too!

Best,
JP, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Kitts and Nevis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

If the breath taking Caribbean views aren't enough to win you over, then the staff at this Marriott definitely will. The hotel itself is beautiful, well kept, and lives up to the Marriott standard of luxury. The bartenders at the swim-up pool bar were friendly and attended to me quickly, despite having plenty of other thirsty guests. Chris is so charming and makes a mean bushwhacker. Definitely ask for a bushwhacker in one of the buckets. The other bartender, Tiffany, was also very friendly and made sure that I was being helped. Even the iguanas think these two are cool. I sat across from one at the bar for at least half an hour. Five stars!!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP_Nel-GM, General Manager at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Dard_eyed_jane,

Thank you for highlighting the excellent parts of your stay including the incredible views, hotel ambiance and of course, our excellent infinity pool bartenders Tiffany and Chris. We appreciate your generous compliments and will be sure to pass them along. We have a lot of fun here!
Thanks again for the five stars and we hope your travels blow you to our beautiful island again soon.

Best,
JP, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort

Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, the Frenchman's Reef Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. The hotel features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50"TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.