We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night kayaking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort to your Saves list
Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Pure Magic Offer
Newburgh, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Night kayaking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Probably the best highlight of our trip. Amazing to look at the ocean floor through the glass bottom kayaks. The tour guide Chris and his crew did a wonderful job.

The hotel itself was good, checking in took way too long as they don't have many people working the front desk even though the check in line keeps getting bigger. The rest of the staff was wonderful to deal with. Food on hotel premises is way overpriced for what they offer but usually the case at resort hotels. downtown dining is key as you get more variety and prices are a bit better.

Room Tip: Any room 5th floor or higher with ocean view is a must, gorgeous views all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for pointing out the fun you had while on the Night Kayaking Tour. We’re happy to hear that, despite the hiccup at check-in, you had a great time with us and felt the service was top notch. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    737
    356
    165
    88
See reviews for
525
944
44
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (897)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is really awesome, very beatiful location, nice views of the island, an excellent service from all the staff that works in the hotel, lia, sharon, beverly and roniqua are example of the great costumer service, overall the best place to stay in St. Thomas

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
We will let Lia, Sharon, Beverly and Roniqua know that you had a five star experience at Frenchman’s Reef! Thank you for posting your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I can't say enough about my experience at the Marriott at Frenchman's Reef and Morningstar hotel. I recently traveled there with 25 of my closest family and friends for my wedding. The planning process was relatively easy, and my planner ensured that everything we wanted was a possibility. When we arrived to St. Thomas there were a variety of issues that happened with our family members such as lost luggage and missed flights. Though EVERYONE at the Marriott was more than helpful in making sure that every one of our guest got their issues resolved, was comfortable during the process and was overall supported. By the end of the week we felt like we knew most of the staff and they were all GREAT! Our wedding was beautiful and everything we ever dreamed it would be. All of the staff made sure that everything went seamlessly. The food was great, and the views were not to be missed. My family stated it was the best wedding they had ever been to, which is saying a lot because they are caterers and do weddings as their profession. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel for anyone and everyone. We had young children, grandparents and everyone in between with us. Every single person in our family stated they will be going back. This was the best family vacation ever and truly a wedding in paradise!!

Room Tip: Morningstar provides a great beach view with easy access to the beach. Though wifi doesn't reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Fantastic! I am so pleased to hear this. What a wonderful way to start your new life together and we thank you for letting us be a part of that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed at Marriott Frenchman's reef during our honeymoon, overall we had a good time mostly because we planned nice activities like the night kayaking, st john and st Thomas tours.
The activity desk was also very helpful. Now here something's we did not like: although there a few restaurants at the hotel, the food quality was very poor despite the ridiculously high prices. We were recommended Bronzino (fish) at one of the restaurants at the fishermans reef but could not eat as it was stuffed with way too much salt in addition to spinach- so we paid USD 55 per person but were still hungry as we could not eat much of the extremely salty fish. At an other restaurant at the Morning star we had sea bass and snapper- they were delicious however the waiter was extremely arrogant which made this nice restaurant by the water less pleasant then we expected.
The hotel has a nice set of swimming pools and a beach we very much enjoyed. The staff at the Presto market were very nice and helpful. So we would recommend the hotel but advise alternative options for food outside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Congratulations! Thank you for choosing Frenchman’s Reef for this very special occasion. We’re glad you enjoyed your room, our famous views, infinity pools, beach and the Adventure Center’s Night Kayaking Tour. That being said, I am sorry you had a less than satisfying meal at the restaurant. Your comments and suggestions (about the meal and service) will be helpful and are being reviewed with our executive chef. Your compliments of the team at Presto Market will also be passed along with recognition. Thank you again for staying with us. We hope another occasion will bring you back again to St. Thomas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

When we first checked in, our room had a gorgeous view and everyone was very nice and polite... However, our room wasn't anything like what is depicted on the Marriott website. It had two full size beds which were very comfortable and the sheets were clean, but the tiles on the floor were cracked and looked like they had been replaced with 4 different types of tile... The sliding glass door leading out to the balcony was broken and didn't lock properly as well as the closet and bathroom doors. It was so bad, we wound up upgrading to a suite which had little to complain about except for maybe the fact that there are no fans in the bathrooms so when you take a shower, it gets really hot.

Food-wise, everything on the resort is really overpriced but that's a recurring theme here on STT. The breakfast buffet was decent, however, it didn't even compare to the JW Marriott in Cancun or the La Defense Courtyard Marriott in France.

Given that this is one of the main resorts to choose from on STT, this one is probably one of the best, but don't expect the same level of quality as other Marriotts.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your recent stay. Although your initial experience was not up to your satisfaction, I am relieved to hear our team was able to successfully move you into a suite and that your service at front desk was warm and friendly. I also appreciate your mentioning areas that need improvement. Guest satisfaction in our top priority and we deeply regret our inability to exceed your expectations compared to other Marriott properties. Please feel free to reach out to our leadership team at sttfrexperienceteam@marriotthotels.com if there is anything further you would like to share or discuss regarding your experience. We hope to welcome you back to St. Thomas again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed in the Reef with a view of Charlotte Amalie. Each night we could enjoy the sunset. I was so glad to be on that side of the resort. The room was comfortable, clean and the staff was very attentive. Yvonne at the pool desk always made sure we had dry beach towels! She was so sweet. So was our maid, but I can't recall her name. Shame one me because she took such good care of us! The gift shop had great snacks and my kids loved getting ice cream treats at night. Perfect place to buy a salad or sandwich that doesn't cost the price of your first born. Since the rooms had refrigerators, we went shopping for some supplies for breakfast and lunch. That worked out great. If you have a car, drive toward Red Hook and go the the big grocery store there. Much cleaner and nicer.

Make sure to take advantage of all the Marriott pools. We loved the pool down toward the Morning Star Beach rooms. It is right next to Coco Joes. We also took the shuttle to the time shares at the Cove. The pool there is nice and the beach is calmer than at Morning Star. I loved time in the hammock.

Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
You are a great photographer! We never tire of seeing the resort through the lens of our guests. Thank you very much for leaving this detailed review, highlighting the cleanliness and comfort you experienced. We’re thrilled to hear your nine days with us were full of rest and relaxation and will let Yvonne know that her efficiency was acknowledged. Keep an eye here on our TripAdvisor page to find specials and added values for a future visit. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

beautiful view of the bay, we only stayed one night. before going to St. Johns.. the Pool was very nice.. Resort restaurants and bars are overpriced for American food.. there are not many other foods options near the resort.. we stayed in a Harbor Suite, 1 Bedroom Suite, with the Harbor view, its a Big place with lots of vacationers..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a post about your stay with us and complimenting the infinity pools and view. Regarding dining, we hope you found plenty of choices here at our four restaurants on property. Although our need to import most food to the Virgin Islands does raise costs, our prices are in-line with comparable properties. Before your next journey to St. Thomas, please feel free to reach out to our pre-arrival team to explore all your dining options. We can also assist with activities, spa and reservation choices. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort

Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, the Frenchman's Reef Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. The hotel features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50"TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.