We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort to your Saves list
Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free GoPro Rental
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“4 stars resort!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

4 stars property, 6 stars prices!

I've stayed here for a week during my 2 weeks trip to USVI. Rooms are roughly around $350 a night with tropical charm. The property overlook downtown and beautiful St. Thomas coastline. You can see neighboring islands and cruise ships approaching, leaving from their massive patio which was stunning.

Pros: location, pools and swim up bar
Cons : Overpriced food & drink. A ok service. Not too comfy bed!

If you are spending over $300 a night, you should get a good comfy clean and plushy bed. At least that's what I look for. Their bed was a ok here. I know this was in the Caribbean and you will see insects but they had a few too many of them! Not a fan. At least not in my room.

Cafe right next door was great however. I enjoyed my afternoon ice coffee shakes for $6-7 each. They were much needed. Swim up bar was the best feature. Infinity swim up pool. Got sun burnt, fell asleep, had one too many pain killer cocktails, watch sunsets. All of that.

Con~ Iguauans , cleanliness and Food!!
First con would the food. It's a massive property with few very overpriced restaurants. It would be ok if this is your first Caribbean trip but if you know how much everything cost around town, this ain't. But worried not. Taxis are $10 per person to town! You can always get a reliable one getting out of the resort. It's the return that is a little tricky.

This property is ginormous and of course, they have dino-saur size igaunas. And they fight with each other. I'm a petite person. A 3 feet iguana might as well be a dinosaur. They are like half my size and they scare the living day light out of me. I made sure I got the higher floor just to avoid those damn iguanas.

Or if you can brave yourself up from all the damn iguanas!!!! (HOLY IGUANAS) around the property, you can go down to the dock and take the glass bottom boat right to downtown. Eat all the local food and come right back by 7 pm!

Overall , its a gorgeous resort with a lot of room to improve I've felt. But then again, you're in Caribbean. Everything move in an island speed. We moved 2 rooms in one week from insects! Eeek. I got bit like a sugarcane on an ant fest. No buneno! But I do enjoy the other parts of this hotel. Guess I'll come back and give it another chance if they have special sale or some sort. All for that swim up bar of course!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for your fun review! Yes, please do come back. Look for added value and specials here on our TripAdvisor page. And when you are here, please don’t hesitate to reach out to me at the hotel. I would like to ensure your needs and preferences are being fulfilled. We sincerely enjoyed having you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    852
    420
    190
    112
See reviews for
637
1,108
47
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,051)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Several years ago, we came to st. Thomas as a cruise ship stop. While on the ferry to St. John, my husband sees this amazing property on a cliff overlooking the ocean and says, " I want to stay there one day!" Flash forward a few years, and there we were. This place is beautiful and we had a great stay. I was a little worried after reading so me reviews, so I'd like to address some pros and cons...

Pros - we stayed in the main building ( ocean tower) and it was a modern room with a mini fridge, mini coffee pot and a huge balcony with an amazing view of the water and the setting sun!
- most all the staff were very friendly.
- while it was obvious in some places that it could use some updates, most of the property was fresh and clean.
- didn't have a problem finding chairs at the pool or the beach. There were also plenty of towels available.
- while it was busy, we never felt like it was crowded.
- Wednesdays there is a managers cocktail party with complimentary drinks, appetizers and prizes.
- the location/ view/ atmosphere is amazing!!!

Cons - we had an adjoining room and found that we could hear everything from our neighbors.
- food/drinks on property were good but expensive.
-for whatever reason, we usually had to wait for service at the front desk.
- this property is not within walking distance of anything. Not really a con, since we had a car, but FYI

We really had a great stay and would go back. We were here on points as reward members so I can't say as to a value/pricing, but we love this place!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your initial concerns and how we measured up. It looks like there were many more ‘pros’ to your stay than ‘cons’. We sincerely appreciate all feedback though, and are working diligently to make corrections in the places we need to. Please accept our apology for any inconvenience you experienced at the front desk. I am pleased you found the staff in general to be friendly and caring. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This hotel was a 3 star with 5 star pricing. The rooms are average but the price is what you expect of a Ritz. Some rooms were partially renovated, new tile in bath but old tile (cracked) in main room. Elevator in building 3 was not in the best condition, broken wooden panel and scraped up like a service elevator. One couple just shook there head expecting more as we were paying a premium price to stay there. Maybe for St. Thomas this is what you get, but other places this Marriott wouldn't make it for those prices.

Room Tip: building 3 seemed to be fairly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear your impressions of our resort were not up to the standards you expected. Please know that all these reviews are taken as directions for improvement by our leadership team. This year, we are planning on replacing our elevators. Our preventative and maintenance teams are working daily to improve the property and rooms. If there are any other observations you would like to share directly, please feel free to email our team at sttfrexperienceteam@marriotthotels.com and reference this review. We would welcome the opportunity to be in contact with you. We hope you will again visit St. Thomas and stay with us here at Frenchman’s Reef!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had a great trip to the Marriott, stayed in room 1815, which was considered a "Resort View", although it overlooked the main entrance, we still had a very nice view of the water. The hotel staff was very pleasant, thanks to Ms Blackman and Mr Jean-Paul Nell for their assistance during our stay.

The hotel is very large, and there were two conferences there during our stay so there are lots of people at the pool and bars.

Great location in STT, and overall a very nice property.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for the specific compliments to our team members, they will be congratulated. We aim for a warm, responsive service and are grateful for your kind acknowledgement. We hope your enjoyable stay will inspire a return visit next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Trip was 2/9/14 to 2/15/14 and was our second trip to the Frenchman's Reef. It was for a conference and we stayed three extra days for pleasure. While more than adequate, the hotel is not outstanding either. My belief is that the facility is overpriced for what you get. Dinner at CoCo Joes and Blue Havana was excellent though very pricy. Food elswhere was very average. Breakfest food was very good but service is poor at best. The same problem both visits. You should enjoy yourself here providing you are not expecting 5 Star Performance and are willing to overpay for what you get.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel. The rooms away from the hotel are nosy due to night birds singing all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for returning to Frenchman’s Reef for a second time and leaving this review. Your compliments and suggestions for improvement are greatly appreciated. I am happy you had a chance to eat at Coco Joe’s. It is a guest favorite! Please don’t hesitate to reach out to me if I can ever be of assistance. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemus Pt, NY
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed for a week 2/9-2/14/14 and we want to go back! We were so impressed by the location and the variety this resort has to offer. I am already looking into the Frenchman's Cove villas to bring family and friends next trip. The resort consists of Timeshare Villa's with their own pool/beach area, the main "Reef" high rise with all the amenities you could ask for and the Best View of Charlotte Amali, the "Morning Star" beach front rooms with balconies. They are right on the beach, share the amenities and are located right in between two fun beach bars/restaurants. We stayed in the "Reef" section in extra large King room with limited view..but it didn't matter as the view in the common areas are "too die for". Our king room had a pull out sofa, coffee table and HUGE walk-in closet. We took advantage of all the bars and restaurants and we used the "water taxi" from the Marriott to the Port of Charlotte Amali where there is bargain shopping, knock-off purses, all the way to high end at Yacht Haven Grande plaza near the Cruise Port. I am infatuated with St.. Thomas and can't wait to come back and will definitely stay on the Marriott property. We used the concierge "Sule"? (Male) and his dinner recommendation for Valentines Day was "spot on" We went to Mims at Bolongo Bay and it was exquisite!

Room Tip: We feel like we got a much bigger "King" room in the Reef section that didn't really h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
What a fantastic Valentine’s Day you had! Thank you so much for highlighting views and value as great reasons to choose Frenchman’s Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort. Your descriptions also, are so helpful for members planning travel to St. Thomas. Please do join us again soon! You can feel free to reach out me and/or our pre-arrival team if you would like to go over your accommodation options. We are here to assist with planning your dining, shopping and adventures as well. We’re all looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk River, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

The staff at this hotel is simply amazing. The Morningstar beach rooms have amazing views and are convenient to everything. The beach is literally out your front door. A special thank you to Shalia and Chilex who are beach attendants, they are awesome! We played bean bag Olympics on the beach. Whatever you need, snorkels, boogie boards or towels they're up at sunrise and make sure you have whatever you need! I give this resort and staff an A+

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for the A+ grade! Your review of Morning Star is meaningful and I plan on sharing it personally with Shalia and Chilex. We’re happy to hear you felt so taken care of. Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort

Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, the Frenchman's Reef Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. The hotel features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50"TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.