We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Mother-Daughter Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Mother-Daughter Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Recently traveled with my 18 year old daughter to celebrate her high school graduation. Stayed in the Morningstar - Garden View. Everything was great and everyone was so accommodating and nice. Yes, the service is slow so be prepared (hence the reason for only 3 stars for service). Every employee we encountered made sure to say hello and ask us if there was anything we needed. Ally and Cassie at the Adventure Center were fantastic. Also, Sonje (German lady in finance) was awesome too! Need to also give a shout out to Joyce our housekeeper who wrote a beautiful note to us. We enjoyed being down at the beach - there are a few restaurants down there as well as the tennis courts. It's not that long of a walk to the main hotel area. You will see several iguanas on property. There is a ferry that takes you into town ($6 each way) but it is cheaper than a taxi and a nice ride over on the tiny boat but the last boat I believe comes back at 6 (shops close at 5). Be sure to go into town on the day the least amount of cruise ships are in dock. You will receive much better service at the shops. Tip - If you take the Safari once in town it is the local bus service and it's only $1 but they look like regular taxis. If locals are on board it's the Safari - if driver talks to you then it's a taxi and will be much more money. I would definitely recommend a trip over to St. John's (stay away from Trunk Bay - too commercial). My daughter and I felt safe traveling and never encountered any problems. Can't wait to go back with the family.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Morningstar in a garden view. It was great. Could still see the water from our pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your helpful and positive review. What a wonderful way to celebrate such an accomplishment! I am very happy to read you and your daughter felt safe on your island adventure and taken care of while on property. Ally, Cassie, Sonje and Joyce will be personally recognized for their warm service. We sincerely appreciate you specifically pointing them out to us. We hope to provide many more fun and successful visits for your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    681
    323
    149
    74
See reviews for
497
855
39
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (834)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Recently spent several days at this fine hotel in St. Thomas. Perched high on a
pennsiula the views are pretty much without equal. Just about every day you can
see a cruise ship coming or going and yachts too many to mention. The internet
connections are as fast as any I have seen in the carribean and come free with
the $ 35 per day "resort fee". There is a nice little ferry that leaves every half
hour that takes you into downtown Charlotte Amalie for $ 14 round trip. Conviently
located to the St. Thomas airport -- about a $ 75, 30 minutes cab ride. Rooms run
around $ 300 per night plus a 10% tax but make sure you get a room with a view.
Personnel on the property could have been a little more friendlier. Both evenings we
were on property the electricity went out -- not long but somewhat annoying. Apparently
this is fairly common. Weather was near perfect in April with highs in the low to mid
80's and lows in the mid 70's with occasional light rain showers.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing these helpful tips! We appreciate your descriptions of our location and views. Also, your feedback is always welcome. We look forward to having you again as our guest and going the extra mile with our service. Don’t hesitate to contact me through the hotel if I can be of service. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We just had our first visit since the renovations. The hotel and staff have stepped it up. The added pool space and layout is fantastic. We received a room upgrade (without asking) to the Governor's Suite. SWEET!! The suite was so nice, we did not want to leave the room. In addition to the physical renovations, there must have been staff retraining. The staff were extra helpful with plenty of smiles and extra friendly. The only drawback from previous visits is that you must now pay for the water taxi into town.

Room Tip: It is well worth it to upgrade to a suite with a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for the outstanding review! It’s very rewarding to receive compliments of our renovations and team spirit. We sincerely enjoyed the opportunity to get to know you and facilitate a great visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I just spent 5 days here and had a very nice time. I was beachfront and the view was amazing! the service in the restaurants are some what slow but since you're on vacation it didn't really bother me to much. The overall experience was good. I would return.

Room Tip: Bring mosquito repellent .:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing to spend your vacation with us! We appreciate you compliment on our views from Morning Star Beach Resort. We look forward to that return trip! Call ahead so we can welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here because we are Marriott reward members. We stayed in a villa down on the beach area so we were away from the main area. The lobby is huge and nicely decorated. The rooms have been updated since I last visited, which was much needed. All the restaurants are pretty good. I do recommend taking a day trip to St. John's.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We’re glad you had a chance to visit again to experience our renovations. Your positive impressions are appreciated. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Teton National Park, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel is not the Ritz Carlton, so if you are expecting that level of hotel then you are booking the wrong hotel. That being said, This is a great hotel for the money. We just spent 10 days here from March 28th - April 6 with my wife and two daughters (16 & 13 Yrs. Old.) We stayed beachfront at the Morningstar portion of the resort. Yes the restaurants are pricey and drink prices can also be expensive but you are at a resort. Coco Joe's was a family favorite and we spent a ton of time here while on the beach. The staff is fantastic and is extremely helpful and go out of their way to make sure you are taken care of. The restaurants serve a wonderful selection of entrees and we did not have a bad meal while we were there. The pools are great and we never had a problem getting a chair or a cabana even with the hotel at full capacity. Zoogisle is one of the concierge's and he was instrumental in recommending some wonderful restaurants to visit while on St. Thomas. I recommend XO bistro in Red Hook. This is a very small place so make sure to make reservations. Another wonderful place was Mim's and we had one of the best meals while on the island here. There is tons to do on the island and we never felt uneasy with the locals. These are probably the most friendly people on the planet. Treat them with respect and you will get respect in return. I look forward to returning to St. Thomas in the future.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and stay Beach front at the Morningstar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for bringing your family to Morning Star Resort. We are thrilled to hear you had a great stay and enjoyed the island culture. I’ll be sure to pass along your compliments to Zogisle and the rest of our staff. We hope you return in the near future! Look for specials here on TripAdvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I don't have any complaints. Had a very lovely time which I'm sure had more to do with the location than the hotel itself, but it was a lot of fun. Everyone was very nice. I felt very relaxed the whole time I was there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
When a guest feels very relaxed while staying with us, we consider it a success! Thank you for the compliment of choosing our resort for your St. Thomas vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort

Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Frenchman's Reef Resort has just completed a $48 Million Dollar Renovation, and is now open and all new and refreshed. Now featuring clean crisp new guest rooms, with flat screen TVs. All new resort experience featuring a new resort infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool and bar; and private spa pool. Our all new Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private pool spa with cabanas. Aqua Terra is our new restuarant at Frenchman's Reef which features spectaular views of the harbor. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort; and discover the most luxurious stay in the US Vigin Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Jetsetter, Tingo, Booking.com, Odigeo, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;