We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort to your Saves list
Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Pure Magic Offer
West Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Frenchman Reef hotel was very nice. The views were spectacular. The pools were good but the water was pretty cold. The pool by the beach was our favorite. It had some shade and padded lounge chairs that were very comfortable. Next to that pool was a restaurant and shop. The beach was also very nice. The rooms however were fine but basically a basic "hotel" room. St Thomas was interesting but shops were only open when cruise ships were in town and never in the evening. We would recommend taking the ferry over to St Johns, we really enjoyed the area and it felt tropical and safe unlike parts of St Thomas. Anyway it was a good trip

Room Tip: Pay the extra fee and get a ocean view or bay view room it is worth it for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We’re glad you had a good trip! Thank you for the compliments of our views, pools and beach! Also, shopping! Anyone planning travel to St. Thomas, please feel free to contact our pre-arrival team to explore the island’s shopping options. We can also assist you with day trips to St. John. Thank you again for your generous comments and we hope you will choose us again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    706
    337
    156
    79
See reviews for
506
889
42
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (864)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Just finishing up our week so thought I would put this up while it is fresh. Great week in all and will probably be back. Upgraded our room to Sea Cliff tower but the mold and mildew smell is very strong. The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful, the views are spectacular so you can overlook quite a bit. We just planned on being outside more than inside. Also, the hotel food is all alike no matter which restuarant you visit. There is not much variety and it is very expensive (breakfast is $80-100) I would recommend going offsite - we went to Iggys on a Wednesday night and had a great beach dinner and entertainment. They are definitely on Island time here so please do not be in a hurry for a meal- ever. The pools are amazing and just incredible views, you will want to be there every day. Our day trip to St John was incredible and would highly recommend one of the full day boating/snorkeling excursions. The hotel has a great team inside that can book many differnt forms of entertainment. One other area to be aware, the service can be hit and miss, the locals are not always very friendly and one of the ladies at the front desk check in was very rude. We learned throughout the week not to take it personal but Marriott needs to keep an eye on this overall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for giving us your fresh feedback! We appreciate all comments, both positive and negative, in our improvement efforts. That being said, I am sorry you experienced inconsistent service from our staff. I am working with our leadership team to amend this. Thankfully, these issues did not dampen your overall stay. If there is anything you would like to discuss further, feel free to reach out to me at sttfrexperienceteam@marriotthotels.com and reference this review. We appreciate you choosing us for your accommodation needs and look forward to improving for each and every time you stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed for 6 nights just this month (March '13) with my family of 5. The resort has a lot going for it but also some question marks - so lets start with some high points:

Its a wonderful property - there are two great pools (nothing spectacular for kids) but a nice pool at the hotel and then another one down by the beach. The hotel has 4 (or 5?) restaurants that sever good to great food. Each also has a kids menu. The hotel is situated on top of a cliff with amazing views of the ocean and Charlotte Amalie. The property was also very clean given the number of guests and size of the place.

The beach is very nice - it was crowded when we went so finding chairs and an umbrella could be tough if you didn't get there early, but we always found some. The water was great - snorkeling was doable but the ocean is a bit rough here and the reef a good swim out, so definitely not for kids.

The staff is great - everyone was very helpful. Of course, the pace of things is different on the Islands, but the staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable.

The room we had was top notch. Everything was new. We stayed in the main building. We heard from others that rooms in the other section of the hotel were not as new/nice - so request the main hotel. its tough to figure out how someone could have a bad view given the hotel's location at the top of the cliff.

We always felt safe - staying out of downtown Charlotte Amalie was our only caution. Otherwise the hotel and the island was very tourist friendly.

Some of the questions marks - - - the guest make up was a mix of families and couples. Note - we traveled during kids spring break so families were likely doing the same. I'm not sure the hotel is "perfect" for families but was "very good" for families. We'd definitely go back - but against something like Atlantis - its not even close. If you are looking for a quiet couples get-away, this may not be the place.

You need to take cabs everywhere - you can't walk to anything. I must have spent $500 on cabs going back and fort to Red Hook, restaurants, downtown, etc... A lot of people rented cars but the roads are pretty crazy - very hilly and windy.

Food and drinks were on the expensive side. $25 for two frozen drinks at the pool is a bit much. For the Ritz, ok. For the Marriott, it felt a bit off. I was dishing out $150-$200 per meal for my family of 5. Breakfast was usually around $80-$100. So the food added up quickly.

Overall - I'd say it was nice place and I would return. A big plus was St Johns is very close. We went to the island 2x and its a magnificent day trip.

Room Tip: get in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your family’s experience! I am so glad you felt safe and cared for during your visit. It sounds like you had a lot of fun with our amenities and around the islands. Reviews like this are very rewarding for our team as we strive to create an environment that caters to all age groups. Please call ahead of your next trip so we can welcome you back properly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I had our first island vacation in 10 years> We stayed at the Morningstar in a beachfront room.We were very happy with our room it was very clean and we loved the ocean view. The beach is very nice.It is good to get out early if you want a shade umbrella.It is a very family friendly resort. However if you have small children the ocean had fairly large waves when we were there but the pool at the hotel had a sprinkler type pool area for toddlers. Our reservations included breakfast which we found a positive thing. We would go for the brunch late in the morning and skip lunch then go out for dinner so we were only payng for one meal a day. We were not so crazy about the CoCo joe restaurant - choice, quality didn't thrill us. We enjoyed the Sand Bar happy hour , the entertainment at the poolside at night was great. It was not an inexpensive vacation but it was worth it..we felt very safe and welcomed, The staff are very helpful also,

Room Tip: choose a beachfront morningstar room more money but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
St. Thomas is a great choice for an island vacation! We sincerely thank you for choosing our property for this special getaway and sharing your experience! For all the amenities and activities we offer, we also feel that a stay at Morning Star Resort is a great value. We hope you will visit again, and please call ahead so we can welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just got back from a week stay at Frenchman's. Used Marriott points and upgraded to balcony water view and had an excellent view from 8th floor overlooking both ocean and Charlotte Amalie harbor. Don't know if just because I am an Elite member, or not, but staff seems to be very friendly and helpful to everyone. Wed manager's bon voyage reception is great w/ free rum punch and mojitos with great fresh fruit, cheese & cracker appetizers as you watch the cruise ships leave. Entertainment nightly outside of Sunset Grille was great for just sitting out on your balcony. Neither pool nor beach was ever overcrowded. Could even score a cool padded cabana later in the day. Even did the Marriott Vacation Club tour next door, which was surprisingly interesting as well as low key / low pressure. Aqua Terra restaurant was OK, but pricey as was the Sand Bar over at Morningstar, but as expected for hotel restaurants. We had a car, so found some fun beach bar & grills over towards Red Hook that were more our style. Free parking with easy access. If you're lucky, you can get one of about 15 spots right in front of main entrance. Adventure Center very helpful for planning excursions.

Room Tip: Higher floors in main tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for pointing out the many activities we offer through the resort including the manager’s reception, nightly entertainment, our Marriott Vacation Club tour and the Adventure Center’s excursions. I am delighted your vacation at Frenchman’s Reef exceeded your expectations! Lastly, thank you for sharing your wonderful photo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We first stayed here 9 years ago on our honeymoon and had a great time. We've been wanting to get back and had a chance October 2012. It was everything we remembered and more. We rented a car this time around and were glad we did. The resort is on the southern part of the island around mid island. If you like to explore other islands, I would suggest somewhere closer to Red Hook where the water ferries dock. October is the slow season so there is opportunity to have your own quiet time or spend time with other guests. My wife loved the endless pool. The prices for food/drink are on the higher side but that is expected at a resort. They have an all inclusive package but we always decline because we like to explore and try new things. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for the opportunity to welcome you back! We sincerely enjoyed having you as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just spent a week here, the resort is very nice, recently updated. The staff was very friendly, no issues with the hotel or restaurants. Just a couple of things to note if you go here; there is a $30 per day resort fee, not atypical for a resort, a $14.95 per day charge for "maid bellman tips" so don't leave anything in your room, they charge a minimum of $3.50 for 5 minutes to use the business center (in this day this charge is just ludicrous when you're paying $300 for a hotel room) and make sure you check your bills because in many cases the gratuity is already added. There is not shuttle into town but they do provide a shuttle around the property. Get to the pool and beach early, many guests stake their "chair" claims early in the morning.

Room Tip: Most rooms have ocean views. The Seaside Cliffs are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are happy you enjoyed our property, staff and restaurants. Regarding the fees you mentioned, I’d like to apologize if you were not informed in advance. Our policy is to always be one hundred percent transparent with any and all costs related to a reservation. I appreciate the opportunity to clarify your points. The Maid and Bellman service charge is a contracted charge associated with negotiated groups rates only. The business center charge is for the use of equipment and is managed (including fees) and maintained by a partner vendor. However, printing boarding passes is always free. Our resort fee covers many extras including the daily use of the Reef Fitness Center and tennis courts as well as classes like Zumba and Yoga. All chairs and umbrellas at Morning Star Beach are for guest use. You also enjoy unlimited use of all non-motorized water sports equipment, snorkels, flippers, masks and floaters and much more. This fee is designed to save you from the inconvenience of having to purchase all these services individually and/or bringing them to the island with you. If anyone in the TripAdvisor community has any questions regarding this or any of the resort fees or amenities, please feel free to contact our pre-arrival team. Thank you again. I am glad to hear you were able to enjoy the property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort

Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Frenchman's Reef Resort has just completed a $48 Million Dollar Renovation, and is now open and all new and refreshed. Now featuring clean crisp new guest rooms, with flat screen TVs. All new resort experience featuring a new resort infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool and bar; and private spa pool. Our all new Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private pool spa with cabanas. Aqua Terra is our new restuarant at Frenchman's Reef which features spectaular views of the harbor. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort; and discover the most luxurious stay in the US Vigin Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Jetsetter, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.