We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing final night in the USVI” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort to your Saves list
Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free GoPro Rental
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing final night in the USVI”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We chose to spend our final night at this hotel after a week in the BVIs, and regretted our decision as soon as we arrived. The hotel is a quite isolated location, and it is a serious taxi ride to get back into town, so you are trapped there without a car. Our room was small, with a very low ceiling, and was absolutely the farthest room on the site. The walkways and grounds were poorly maintained, and litter was evident in many places. The pool terrace and bar were lovely, and a nice place to spend the afternoon, but when we tried dinner later that evening it was a nightmare. Wait staff at the bar area were distracted and largely indifferent to our situation. It took almost an hour to be served a salad and a flatbread pizza. The wine pour was ridiculously tiny as well, which just encapsulated the whole experience for us.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel, or else try to get a room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
I am sorry to hear your night at Frenchman’s Reef was not all you hoped it would be. Please let me know if I can be of further assistance. I can be reached at sttfrexperienceteam@marriotthotels.com if there are any more details that you think may help us improve based on your experience. We hope you will stay again on your next visit to the USVI with your reservation personally managed by our leadership team. Thank you for sharing your experience and giving us the opportunity to respond and make the corrections needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    855
    421
    191
    112
See reviews for
639
1,114
47
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,053)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

In the Caribbean, for some reason, expectations should be lowered for hotels. Unfortunately, the price of hotel stays is not reflective of the outdated rooms and conditions of the hotels. The Marriott Morning Star resort is no exception. It is great that it is on the beach, however the rooms are very dated.

Room Tip: Most rooms do not face the ocean and many face the service road that employees drive, so make sure y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments. For a more modern stay, choose Frenchman’s Reef on your next trip to St. Thomas. We recently updated many rooms, built an infinity pool and spa and remodeled our restaurants and lobby. We would love to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations of value in the Virgin Islands. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the Morning Star Beach Resort and it was fabulous! We had a room just steps away from the beach. The room was OK..a little dated. There was a small refrigerator in our room, so we could stock up on water, wine, snacks. I highly recommend staying here. The big hotel (part of the resort) was nice, but you have to walk a bit to get to the beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for the lovely photo of the sun peeking through the clouds beyond Coco Joe’s! We get some amazing sunsets here! I also would like to thank you for the compliments of our staff and the in-room amenities at Morning Star Beach Resort. We would like to add that the rooms also feature an ice machine for your convenience, in addition to the refrigerator. Our staff is always ready to help and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The title says it all. Yes, the hotel is "water front", and yes, they have 2 infinity pools, however the service does not match the price tag, not even close.
The fact that this is supposed to be one of the top hotels on the island scares me. We stayed on the Morning Star Beach, and had an ocean view/beach front room. The room was pretty nice, relatively spacious and fairly clean. The walls are thin, so expect to hear your neighbors; both above you, and next-door. We had problems getting into our room on the 1st attempt, as the keys they provided were not coded properly. I called the front desk to have new keys brought to our room, and no one ever showed up. I went back, got new keys, and they acted as if it were my fault that the keys did not work. This happened again during our trip, with the same outcome. Apparently the keys cannot get wet. Seems odd considering that the room is beach front, and there are pools, right? Don't get in the water w/a key in your pocket.
With the exception of Havana Blue (an exceptional, privately owned restaurant on the Morning Star Beach property), the hotel food is poor, to say the least. The prices are exorbitant, and the service is appalling. My Wife & I had breakfast in Coco Joe's one morning, and our server literally threw our food & drink down at us, and blatantly ignored simple requests pertaining to our breakfast order. You would think that the hotel staff is held there against their will by the way they act, and their attitude. No one greets you, says hello, or is remotely pleasant.
We stayed at this hotel as guests attending a wedding; literally every guest (including the groom) said that they felt the service was poor, and incredibly disappointing for what is supposed to be one of the premiere resorts on the entire tiny island.
Fortunately, we relocated to St. John after 3 nights at Marriott Frenchmen's Reef. I highly recommend you skip this, and do the same.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, spend the extra $ and get a room on Morning Star Beach. It has direct beach acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am sorry to hear of the problems you had with your key cards and especially the lack of empathy by our team. Please accept my apology and know that your feedback is taken with seriousness. If there are any further details you would be willing to share, I can be reached at sttfrexperienceteam@marriotthotels.com. We read these reviews as guidelines to understand how we can improve and in which areas we are excelling. Thank you again for staying with us and including the compliments of your room at Morning Star. We appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the hotel and loved it! There are beautiful views everywhere you go on the premises and the facilities are top notch. The pools are wonderful and relaxing. There are plenty of chairs available at the pools and the morningstar beach is worth checking out. The staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. Our package included the breakfast buffet which was well worth it. I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments and excellent ratings! Look for more great specials here on TripAdvisor this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely week at the Marriott Morning Star Beach Resort. The location was the best. We had ocean view rooms and literally felt like we were on the ocean. The actual rooms were okay, but the location made up for that. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Our air conditioner did not work for a few days which was disappointing, but Marriott made it right! Marigold at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Kimberly at the Sandbar/Havana Blue was also very friendly and extremely happy to make special orders, i.e. tropical drinks with less sugar. Vincia at Coco Joe's waited on us several times. Her service was great and she was very friendly, always recognizing us and our children. Our two housekeepers Philomena and Mariana were also very friendly, and did a great jobs keeping our rooms clean. Havana Blue, right on the property, was delicious!! We ate there twice it was so good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
We are delighted to hear your family had a lovely first stay at Morning Star Beach Resort and are planning to return! We also want to thank you for the personal mentions of the staff members that made your trip a success; they will be recognized!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstable, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great Hotel with a great staff. The beach was great, but there was big waves so most of the kayaking was closed. Great people there I made lots of friends. The staff is very friendly with their island charm. I would defiantly go back. Great vacation!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for the wholehearted recommendation! We sincerely enjoyed having you as our guest. When you return, call ahead so we can welcome you back for an equally spectacular vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort

Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, the Frenchman's Reef Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. The hotel features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50"TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.