We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“25th Anniversary Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Night & $50 Credit
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“25th Anniversary Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We came to St. Thomas 25 years ago for our honeymoon, so we thought it would be fun to go back and see how different things were. Many things were different, and many things were the same. We stayed at a different resort 25 years ago when we didn't have much money, but now that we were able to afford the best, the Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star beach was the perfect option. Our room was on the beach at the Morning Star resort, just feet from the lovely seaside. We opted for the All-Inclusive, and it was so convenient to not have to worry about carrying around a credit card all week. Alcohol was included, and even though we ate outside of the resort on 4 different dinner occasions, we still came out ahead. Manny, the infinity pool- bar bartender was so fun and nice. We loved the iguanas roaming around and i fed them watermelon from the breakfast buffet (sorry, I couldn't help myself). Fantastic view from the cliff-side infinity pool and warm, inviting beachfront room. One last thing - the heat bothered me to the point that on our actual anniversary, we tried to go to the restaurant but I felt awful. The staff was clearly concerned and offered room service so that I didn't have to sit in a room with others when I didn't feel well. They made me feel very cared for, and I really appreciated that. One note for travelers - we went in October, which is still Hurricane season. While we were not hit with anything, much of the island is "closed" unless a cruise ship is in port. It would be worth your while to wait until November or later if you want less humidity, and more activities.

Room Tip: Morningstar is quiet and on the beach. For a view, choose Frenchman's Reef.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for the great description of your stay and helpful points. One of the things we strive for is convenience and ease of use for our guests. It sounds like the all-inclusive at Morning Star was the perfect choice for your anniversary. On that note, I was sorry to read you didn’t feel well on your special day. I appreciate you letting me know we were able to offer you an enjoyable room service experience and felt our staff cared about your well being. We’ll pass along these compliments to our team, especially Manny. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and happy anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,821 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    843
    993
    495
    297
    193
See reviews for
587
1257
47
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (732)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forked River, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

It was my first trip to anywhere in the Carribean and this hotel was one of the highlights of the trip. The staff at the hotel were just terrific, from the Conceirge, restaurant hostesses, food servers, etc. they were friendly and very helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable, the various swimming pools were great. I thoroughly enjoyed myself and would certainly go back in a heartbeat. The views were spectacular too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to appreciate our team, pools and views! We’re delighted your first trip to the Caribbean was a success and your stay at Frenchman’s Reef was a highlight!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was the perfect place to spend our first wedding anniversary and some time together just us. Our luggage did not make it the first day, but the staff were on top of checking where it was and when it would arrive at the hotel.We had our choice of pools where the service was excellent or just a walk along the beach. We had our choice of romantic dinners or just a light supper. Our room was always cleaned by late morning and ready for a afternoon nap after a hot day in the sun. The water taxie (ferry) was perfect to be able to go to the city for a little shopping. Will defenatly go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for spending your anniversary with us and sharing the two lovely photos. You captured the light wonderfully in both! I also enjoyed reading how the staff took care of you by being proactive in getting your luggage to you and daily, by freshening up your room in good time. Be sure to call ahead of your visit so we can welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The rooms are on the smaller side. The sand bar was very good! Great pain killers! Be prepared for a hike if you want to go to the pool! Or take the trolly up the hill to the next resort! My only wish was that there was a hot tub on the property. It would have been nice to sit and relax at night.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your contribution and photo of the view! We’re delighted you enjoyed Morning Star and the Sand Bar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We arrived at this hotel by bus for a day trip at our stop in St Thomas on a 7 day cruise. Things were not going well until Zogisle stepped in. He loaned my wife his personal cell phone to call the contact we were supposed to meet. When she could not reach him, Zogisle smiled and asked what we had planned to do that day. After explaining he said "No problem, we have the same kind of trip leaving from our dock out back in an hour. Go to the bar and have a drink and I will set it all up for you." His great smile, clever wit, and gentle demeanor put our group at ease right away. My wife and I want to go back to this resort as it was incredible. The most beautiful hotel and the most beautiful views on the island. If you have any trouble or concerns, go see Zogisle!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for drawing our attention to the excellent service of Zogisle! He will be acknowledged for his responsiveness and follow through. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip to St. Thomas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Center, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Last year we visited this resort and found it to be less that we expected and had several problems throughout out stay. This was reported and Marriott accommodated us by asking us to return to this resort on them.
We recently stayed at the resort again and found it to be much improved from our first visit. We were pleasantly surprised. They still have work to do on some of the wait staff, bar tenders, etc. However, we want to thoroughly recognize Alicia at the RumBar for doing such a great job and remembering us on our Anniversary.
One suggestion - consider late checkout or perhaps you could turn an area that is not being used currently into a locker room facility for those guests that have late departing flights and early check out times - to allow them to use the facilities, have a shower, and then be on their way if later check out does not work. You could even charge a small fee perhaps $10 per person to use this facility. Just a suggestion...

Room Tip: The harbour view was nice but the best view in our estimation is watching the entrance to the harbou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and suggestion. Last year, we completed a $48 million renovation and this year, we have been working diligently to upgrade our guest experience in all aspects of the stay. As a result, our reviews have dramatically improved and guests like you have brought attention to the ways we are making the grade. We do appreciate all your suggestions and compliments and especially for giving us the opportunity to show you the level of service Marriott is known for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I brought my wife here for her 40th birthday and we had a phenomenal experience. I had mentioned to some of the staff when booking it was her birthday and they went out of their way to make our arrival special. We received two mini bottles of rum from the front desk upon arrival. When we got to our room Happy Birthday was spelled out in rose petals on the bed - way cool! And there was also a bottle of wine, glasses and a Happy Birthday card addressed to my wife. Talk about making a guy look good (Thanks Joyce and Jessica!!!).

We got a couples message from the Lazule Spa which were fabulous. I would highly recommend Liz for the therapeutic massage. you can tell by her technique, she takes pride in what she does. My wife would also recommend Stephanie.

The resort was great with different pool options including a nice swim up bar with great views of the caribbean.

Dining was very good (a little pricey - but everything is higher when having to import everything in). I would say our favorites on the resort were the Sunset Grill by the pool and Coco Joe's down by the beach. They had great laid back atmosphere's. Aqua Terra was good at the bar but thought that the dining room area was a little stuffy.

A must is the Rhum Bar on the lobby level which has great drinks and awesome views of Charlotte Amalie (especially at night with all the lights dotting the hillsides).

Staff was always warm and smiling - especially if you take a moment to learn their name and talk to them for a bit.

Again, they made my wife's 40th birthday a wonderful experience that she will never forget. We will definitely be coming back here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at Frenchman’s Reef! We’re delighted your wife felt special and celebrated for her birthday and we were able to help make your vacation phenomenal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte Amalie
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Charlotte Amalie
#3 Family Hotel in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Frenchman's Reef Resort has just completed a $48 Million Dollar Renovation, and is now open and all new and refreshed. Now featuring clean crisp new guest rooms, with flat screen TVs. All new resort experience featuring a new resort infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool and bar; and private spa pool. Our all new Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private pool spa with cabanas. Aqua Terra is our new restuarant at Frenchman's Reef which features spectaular views of the harbor. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort; and discover the most luxurious stay in the US Vigin Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Amex, Venere, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.