We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel 1829” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackbeard's Castle

Blackbeard's Castle
1001 Blackbeard's Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
340-776-1234
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Once the 17th-century Fort Skytsborg, Blackbeard’s Castle was re-named for the pirate who frequently visited the island.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel 1829”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at the 1829 and then a tour of Black Beards Castel. It was a very memorable experience. Patrick a bartender at 1829 was very helpful and helped us with a private tour. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. Thank you to everyone

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    118
    71
    26
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love the pools!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was my second visit to Blackbeard's. My sister and I love to relax by the pool and enjoy the cocktails. The first visit we did the tour on the property, then headed to one of the three pools for a relaxing afternoon. Then this last visit we just went straight to the pool. The pools are beautiful and relaxing. The whole property is beautiful, clean and relaxing. The service is incredible! The staff made us feel very welcome and they were very friendly. The food is cooked to order on the grill and the drinks are very good, lots of rum! Great value for a beautiful day in St Thomas, both my sister and I prefer Blackbeard's to the beaches or shopping in St. Thomas.

Thank you for such a great day, I can't wait to go back!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayey, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Nice and comfortable Time-share style place to stay. When going on extended stay this is definitely a good option.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

1829 Bar at bottom very quaint, history and homes worth a peek. Amber museum building worth walking through as are the old homes.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I have been here twice, we keep talking about how we should bring our swim swuits to hang out by the pool. Love the rum, it's really good. You must try all flavors.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackbeard's Castle also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
South Coast, St. Thomas
 

Been to Blackbeard's Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackbeard's Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Blackbeard's Castle to your Saves list