We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Cru Restaurant and Wine Bar

Grande Cru Restaurant and Wine Bar
Yacht Haven Grande Marina | St.Thomas, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas (Formerly Grand Cru)
340-774-7263
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had lunch here after a snorkeling trip. The food was fresh and well-prepared. The tuna gyro was a great twist on a classic and the salmon BLT was outstanding. Definitely get the house-made potato chips. We sat on the patio and had a nice view of the harbor. Service was competent but a little on the slow side (but we weren't in a hurry).

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    44
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Manager went out of her way...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I am a restauranteur from SC. I am use to excellent food and an incredible wine selection. We were seated at a nice table with wonderful views of the marina and yachts. Service was prompt and friendly. The wine list is definitely large enough to please most wine snobs, but my palate is a little more discriminating. The list was lacking in the higher end selections ($200.00 and up) and I inquired about a Captain's List. The manager came by and quoted a couple of bottles not on the list that did not spark my interest and I informed her that I was looking for something French today. She graciously called to their sister restaurant Oceana and found a wonderful 2005 Chateau Beychevelle for us. The manager hustled to Frenchtown and retrieved the bottle for us while I enjoyed a bottle of 2008 St. Cosme Gigondas Hominis Fides that I brought with us. Our tapas style meal was excellent as we enjoyed a housemade Charcuterie Plate, Braised Karabuto pork belly, Housemade Pappardelle Pasta, and finished with an extremely large selection of 8 artisan cheeses. Having dined the previous nights at The Cellar, North Side Bistro, Thirteen, and Havana Blue this is a spot I would go twice in my 10 day stay. Thanks again for the wine service and see you soon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“My new favorite spot on St. Thomas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

The food and atmosphere is great. What really makes it are the bartenders - Alex and Brandon! Alex is the most beautiful and friendliest bartender ever. Brandon is the best with his creative drinks and shots!
A must stop on St. Thomas!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Walked to yachthaven from bluebeards castle for a delicious lunch.We had an artichoke app. then the cobia w fennel which was delicious. Good wine selection and nice views of million dollar yachts.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“With Friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I loved it. The service the food the scenery was perfect. Jazz night at Yacht Haven makes for a perfect night when coupled with delicious appetizers and unforgettable creme brulee

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grande Cru Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

Frenchtown, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to Grande Cru Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grande Cru Restaurant and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.